We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #18 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I can't possibly say enough good things about this hotel. The location is great and within easy walking distance of good food and bars. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Who needs some fancy concierge service when any one of the people working around the hotel, from the front desk to the parking valets, would be more than willing to take 5 minutes out from whatever they're doing to point you toward their favorite activity, restaurant, or nightspot?
And there's a reason the restaurant on site is one of the favorites among locals come "happy hour" which is actually something ridiculous like 2:30 to 6:30. A fabulous local mushroom crepe for $4 and a pint of Left Hand Milk Stout for $3? Yes please!
Like other Kimptons you can count on the little things like the free wine hour in the evening and coffee and tea in the AM. But the Monaco takes this hospitality even a step further, with local beer or a hot cocoa bar with all the fixins - chocolate shavings, whipped cream, mini-marshmallows...
Rooms are not huge, and the bathrooms in the standard rooms are definitely on the small side, but both are well appointed and comfortable. And to me a few square feet of living space is a small thing to give up in exchange for all the things the Monaco does so much better than anyone else. I travel a lot, and the one thing that always makes me happy is feeling like someone - an airline, hotel, etc - appreciates my being there. And no one makes me feel more welcome than the Monaco.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solarchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

From all of us here at the Hotel Monaco Denver and Panzano, we thank you for the awesome review!

It sounds like you were able to take advantage of all of the amenities we have to offer. We are thrilled to hear about all your experiences with us and truly appreciate the great feedback. We hope your time with us will have you returning to the Mile High City very soon!

Looking forward to having you back in Denver!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    338
    100
    35
    28
See reviews for
199
448
94
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Hotel Monaco is just a few blocks from the 16th Street Mall. The decor of the rooms and lobby is very charming and the staff was very responsive. My only complaint would be the lack of a view and the lack of a fan in the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toomuch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback! We're glad to hear you were able to enjoy our newly renovated lobby area and appreciated the decor of our newly renovated rooms also.

Give us a call before you stay next time and we can have a fan in the room for you and will do our best to accomodate a room with a view also.

Have a great day, hope to see you soon!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Nice intimate setting in the heart of a big city. The customer service was outstanding. They really took the time to make us feel welcomed, even our 7mos beagle was treated special.
The rooms are clean & the beds comfortable. If you like to avoid big crowds I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, it was only $7.00 & worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollyb426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your response! I hope your Beagle enjoyed the stay as much as you did. We pride ourselves on our customer service so it is always great to receive feedback in those regards.

Make sure your bring your dog with you the next time you return to Denver!

Thanks again!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Decided to treat ourselves and stay in Downtown Denver after a fundraising event two weeks ago, instead of driving home.

Staying at the Hotel Monaco was just like a min-vacation for us. We arrived and checked in mid-afternoon and enjoyed the oversized jetted tub in the room (one of the spa rooms) before dressing for the evening. The room was very large, more so than the pictures indicated. Everything was laid out and in order for us. Despite being right on 17th Street (the main business avenue in Denver), there was virtually no noise.

We were also surprised to find out about the daily wine tasting and social hour just off of the main lobby. Enjoying a nice glass of good wine (not some jug wine), tasty snacks, and a warm fireplace, was a perfect way to start off the evening.

The staff is really to be complimented. Every person greeted with a smile and was always attentive. We only stayed one night, but it was really was a special way to enjoy our night in Denver.

As you might expect with a downtown hotel, valet parking is the way to go. At $21 for 2 hours (unlimited in and out), this was a real bargain. The room rate was a real bargain as well. We stayed on a Thursday evening and got a very reasonable rate for a spa room. Take the time to call directly to get a rate quote, as the rate quoted to me at the reservation desk was about 15% cheaper than anything I found on the internet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Centennialtraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Services_Mngr, Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback!

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hotel Monaco Denver we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Have a great day and thanks again!


Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed at the Monaco a couple of times and really like the hotel. The staff is great. Everything about the hotel I really like but it's just too loud. We could hear talking doors slamming from above and below.
I'm done staying here. Sleep is too important to me the deal with this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bayboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#33 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price range (per night): RM819 - RM1,648
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing