We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$167
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$159
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Motel(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
302
146
53
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
146
53
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslone spur cafetrain stationpalace wingteddy bearsthe main hotelcd playercontinental breakfastpresidential suiteinterior roomcookiesvictorian decormain streetcharming hotelnoise from the streetstained glasstiny elevatorkeurig coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Everything was great. The staff was wonderful. They even let us park or car at the hotel all day after we checked out early in the morning too take the train. The location could not have been want betteR. I would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your great review of the hotel! We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back to visit Durango again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We made reservations several months earlier through Expedia. I thought we were getting a great deal. Rooms in Durango are usually pricy. I had emails regarding the rate as well as emails from the GP confirming the rate. Save all your emails and receipts. Upon checkout they did not charge us the agreed upon rate. They claimed they needed payment at that time for full amount. I called Expedia. No help. I emailed the hotel manager. No response. I felt I needed to dispute the charge through American Express. Two months later, I just received confirmation from Amex that they were refunding us the difference. Having all the emails from Expedia and the GP really helped.


Now about our room. We had a room on the third floor facing Main Avenue. It was surprisingly quiet! We had a room with two (very comfy) queen beds. And an updated bathroom. (Surprise!) there was a Kuerig ( that did not work) no refrigerator. ( I understand you can request one?) the elevator was barely large enough for two people. There was coffee all day on the lobby and cereal and fruit for breakfast. Go to the Lone Spur Cafe, few doors down, for a better breakfast -included! One of the best locations in Durango. Especially if the train is part of your itinerary.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank travelBelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are sorry to hear about the discrepancies with the rate. If you need any other help in clearing that issue up please call our front desk and we would be happy to help! We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will visit Durango again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had nearly the entire hotel for our guests for our wedding back in June. Although there were a few management changes during our planning, the owner and staff of the hotel did everything that they could do to make sure our weekend was perfect. Everybody was so nice and accommodating! The rooms are cute and clean. We keep having friends comment on how neat and historic he hotel was. It is in the perfect location in downtown Durango, right next to the train station. This hotel has tons of character and is one of a kind. We appreciate everything that they did for a bunch of us crazy Texans and for making our wedding weekend unforgettable! Look forward to getting back to Durango soon!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kclayne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your great review of the hotel! We are so glad that the experience was unforgettable and thank you for choosing the hotel for your special weekend. We appreciate your feedback and comments and we look forward to seeing you back in Durango again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The hotel is on the corner literally next door to the train station. The motif is very historical and western, which means old fashioned. Everything is up to code, but still 1800s. The rooms are just as they were built years ago, except with the necessary modern updates. Not every room has a window. To get one, make your reservation a couple of months in advance at least. We were able to get one in the annex building that overlooked the station. Unfortunately that building has no elevator. There is bell service available, although I chose to carry my own luggage up the stairs which was quite an experience for someone 69 years old at 6700 feet altitude. But taking one step at a time you will eventually get there. We were able to watch the passengers around the station and see some of the train action. (Three trains northbound and three southbound each day.) Of course, this also includes the smell of coal and diesel and several toots of the whistles on the steam engines. As a train fan I thought this was priceless. The room includes a free breakfast. The desk will give you a paper voucher each morning to take to the Lone Star restaurant just across the street where you can get a free 'design-your-own' breakfast from a list of items. (Don't forget to tip the server.) In bad weather, or if you just prefer, the hotel offers a smaller buffet in the main building.

Other than the train station which is the main attraction in town, there are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. (Free parking in the hotel lot for guests only.) Prices are similar to those in places elsewhere in the country. However, there are no cheap hotel prices anywhere in Durango, especially in the downtown area. So just consider the experience as a whole and plan to come back again sometime.

Also I noticed that many of those on the sidewalk brought along their dogs on leashes. They were all very well behaved and some restaurants and stores even invite them along.

We will definitely return sometime in the future. This is certainly a treat for those old enough to appreciate the older, simpler times and who have the means to do special things for themselves at this time in their lives.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and ask about elevator, stairs, train watching, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Durango and we thank you for staying with us. Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated and we hope you will stay with us during your next trip to Durango!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Our family of eight visited Durango and stayed in two family suites at the General Palmer Hotel. This hotel is within walking distance to the train station and historic district restaurants. The hotel itself is furnished in period pieces that are both historic and comfortable. The bathrooms were small but not a problem. The only thing not working was the light in the queen bedroom in room 258. It was quite dark to say the least. We reported it but were told it couldn't be fixed untill after we left. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel! We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the issue you encountered with the lights in your room. We will get this fixed as soon as possible and we are very sorry for any inconvenience that this caused you during your stay. We thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon during your next trip to Durango!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews