We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is two buildings for this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
General Palmer Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

First off. I also booked with Expedia. I am always worried about Expedia since you pay up front and don't pay the hotel. When I arrived they didn't even ask me for a credit card and said I was paid in full. It was not an issue.

My wife loves older hotels and the history. It happened that this hotel had a three bed suite that we needed on this trip with 3 kids. I will say the room was outstanding and very spacious. Yes Durango is pricey and the same size room at other cities was $50 less but the beds were nice and the hotel had a nice sitting area with real coffee and cookies in the evening.

One thing we did not realize since they don't have a good web site is some of the rooms (including ours) are not in the main hotel. The are in a separate building across the parking lot. It is historic also but still not part of the main hotel. Some of the rooms there open to the outside which is right next to the tracks. I think I would have rather had a room in the main hotel. It's why I knocked it down one star.

If you have a rate with breakfast it is currently for vouchers at the Lone Spur Cafe. See that for reviews but it would have cost us $50 for the food there. You get 3 or 4 items al cart and a drink. It was a great value and great food.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is in the main hotel and the train is at the back so be aware.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kccode1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have two buildings that make up the hotel. The Palace Wing used to be the Palace Hotel, and is actually the older building of the two. If you reserve through our website there is a more in depth description of the rooms and which building they are located in! Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed your trip to Durango. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for General Palmer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Everything was great. The staff was wonderful. They even let us park or car at the hotel all day after we checked out early in the morning too take the train. The location could not have been want betteR. I would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your great review of the hotel! We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back to visit Durango again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We made reservations several months earlier through Expedia. I thought we were getting a great deal. Rooms in Durango are usually pricy. I had emails regarding the rate as well as emails from the GP confirming the rate. Save all your emails and receipts. Upon checkout they did not charge us the agreed upon rate. They claimed they needed payment at that time for full amount. I called Expedia. No help. I emailed the hotel manager. No response. I felt I needed to dispute the charge through American Express. Two months later, I just received confirmation from Amex that they were refunding us the difference. Having all the emails from Expedia and the GP really helped.


Now about our room. We had a room on the third floor facing Main Avenue. It was surprisingly quiet! We had a room with two (very comfy) queen beds. And an updated bathroom. (Surprise!) there was a Kuerig ( that did not work) no refrigerator. ( I understand you can request one?) the elevator was barely large enough for two people. There was coffee all day on the lobby and cereal and fruit for breakfast. Go to the Lone Spur Cafe, few doors down, for a better breakfast -included! One of the best locations in Durango. Especially if the train is part of your itinerary.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank travelBelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are sorry to hear about the discrepancies with the rate. If you need any other help in clearing that issue up please call our front desk and we would be happy to help! We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will visit Durango again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

We had nearly the entire hotel for our guests for our wedding back in June. Although there were a few management changes during our planning, the owner and staff of the hotel did everything that they could do to make sure our weekend was perfect. Everybody was so nice and accommodating! The rooms are cute and clean. We keep having friends comment on how neat and historic he hotel was. It is in the perfect location in downtown Durango, right next to the train station. This hotel has tons of character and is one of a kind. We appreciate everything that they did for a bunch of us crazy Texans and for making our wedding weekend unforgettable! Look forward to getting back to Durango soon!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kclayne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your great review of the hotel! We are so glad that the experience was unforgettable and thank you for choosing the hotel for your special weekend. We appreciate your feedback and comments and we look forward to seeing you back in Durango again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

The hotel is on the corner literally next door to the train station. The motif is very historical and western, which means old fashioned. Everything is up to code, but still 1800s. The rooms are just as they were built years ago, except with the necessary modern updates. Not every room has a window. To get one, make your reservation a couple of months in advance at least. We were able to get one in the annex building that overlooked the station. Unfortunately that building has no elevator. There is bell service available, although I chose to carry my own luggage up the stairs which was quite an experience for someone 69 years old at 6700 feet altitude. But taking one step at a time you will eventually get there. We were able to watch the passengers around the station and see some of the train action. (Three trains northbound and three southbound each day.) Of course, this also includes the smell of coal and diesel and several toots of the whistles on the steam engines. As a train fan I thought this was priceless. The room includes a free breakfast. The desk will give you a paper voucher each morning to take to the Lone Star restaurant just across the street where you can get a free 'design-your-own' breakfast from a list of items. (Don't forget to tip the server.) In bad weather, or if you just prefer, the hotel offers a smaller buffet in the main building.

Other than the train station which is the main attraction in town, there are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance. (Free parking in the hotel lot for guests only.) Prices are similar to those in places elsewhere in the country. However, there are no cheap hotel prices anywhere in Durango, especially in the downtown area. So just consider the experience as a whole and plan to come back again sometime.

Also I noticed that many of those on the sidewalk brought along their dogs on leashes. They were all very well behaved and some restaurants and stores even invite them along.

We will definitely return sometime in the future. This is certainly a treat for those old enough to appreciate the older, simpler times and who have the means to do special things for themselves at this time in their lives.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and ask about elevator, stairs, train watching, etc.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Durango and we thank you for staying with us. Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated and we hope you will stay with us during your next trip to Durango!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 km away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,073 reviews
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 km away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
259 reviews
3.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Palmer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Palmer Hotel

Address: 567 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5422
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range: RM553 - RM1,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — General Palmer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich with Victorian elegance, the General Palmer Hotel has all the modern comforts that you would expect of a Four Diamond establishment. Named after General William Jackson Palmer who established the hotel in 1898, the General Palmer is the only historical Four Diamond Hotel in Southwestern Colorado. Each room has been hand decorated in the Victorian era with luxurious amenities. It’s the little touches that make the General Palmer unique; freshly baked muffins each morning and Teddy Bears on every bed. Enjoy our southwestern hospitality with concierge service from a gracious and caring staff available day and night, year around. We are located in downtown Durango right next door to the Narrow Gauge Railroad and we are within easy walking distance of many fine dining restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your General Palmer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
General Palmer Durango
Hotel General Palmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing