We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
General Palmer Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Strater Hotel(Durango)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durango Lodge(Durango)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Durango(Durango)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
291
139
50
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
139
50
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslone spur cafetrain stationteddy bearsoriginal elevatorthe main hotelcd playercontinental breakfastpresidential suiteinterior roomvictorian decorhalf blockmain streetcookiescharming hotelnoise from the streetstained glasshistoric property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We absolutely enjoyed our relaxing stay at the luxurious GENERAL PALMER HOTEL in Durango, CO. The award-winning historic hotel was built in 1898, and is full of charm, nostalgia, reminiscence, and is conveniently located right in the middle of Durango’s major downtown restaurants, shops, as well as adjacent to the spectacular Durango-Silverton Railroad Station & Museum. Our room was beautifully decorated – like all the other luxury rooms - and hotel service was friendly, immediate and outstanding. Only downside was the hot complimentary morning breakfast: the small selection of fruits and cereal were good, but the eggs and sausages were extremely dry; next time we’ll get breakfast at one of the numerous great restaurants just walking distances away. All in all, we had a wonderful calming experience at his Hotel and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel! We really appreciate your comments and feedback and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be back to visit Durango and stay with us again soon. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we really appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

This is the most charming hotel with modern updated bathrooms and amenities. The most friendly and helpful staff too. A block from the train station with many walkable very good restaurants nearby. I wish all cities had this hotel. Included is a nice breakfast.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank traveler7056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will be back to stay with us and visit Durango again soon! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

We had a very large beautiful (#301) king room. Huge mahogany bed with windows overlooking Main Street. The bath is modern & attractive, and there’s a spacious closet and roll-top antique (?) dresser. All shopping & good restaurants are in easy walking distance in the historic district, including the famous Durango to Silverton train which is right next door.
Parking is easy and free. Full breakfast is included. Ride the tiny elevator - it’s a classic!

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hrssho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We appreciate your comments and feedback and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and in Durango. We hope you will be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

The hotel, the lobby, the elevator and the room make you feel like you've stepped into the last century. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Our only problem was that the room heat was not working properly and we needed to spend the morning under the covers and in a hot shower to warm up. Desk acknowledged our complaint and apologized.
Probably a glitch in their heating system and I'm still feeling very positive about the Gen. Palmer. Price, ambience and warm people (even if the room wasn't} made the stay great. Vouchers for breakfast at Lone Spur Cafe were another plus.
See other review.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank J0e1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And we apologize for the issue you had with the heating in your room. We will look into that immediately. We appreciate your feedback and comments and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you will be back to visit Durango again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

The single most perfect location for parking (perfect end of town near the train depot), lovely rooms, comfy beds, truly quaint historic and the staff exceeds on friendliness. French bakery close. Best parking. The General Palmer is priced right and everything you want from a historic property. Perfectly clean.

Look no further, book here, we loved it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JustMeOnlyMeForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalena_U, Manager at General Palmer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for your review of the hotel! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope you will be back to visit Durango again soon. And thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews