We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service AND discrimination!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mambo's Arugambay Hotel
Ranked #20 of 105 Arugam Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We were at the bay for a swim and found some nice beach chairs/lie-lows in the shade. When we realised it was the hotel's property, we decided to order food and drinks from them so that we can use the chairs. When this was communicated to the staff, they told us that the restaurant wasn't operating today because they had a large party last night and were out of all supplies. When we asked them if we could just use the chairs, they unwillingly agreed and asked us not to litter the place. We told them we would just leave our clothes on the chairs till we had a quick dip and they said it would be ok.

A while later, we saw the staff serving some foreigners who came to the restaurant just after us. We were quite offended about the fact that they lied to us locals about the fact that they weren't serving.

To make things worse, soon after one of our friends used the shower that was outside the restaurant, they just rudely shut off the water without even giving us a warning.

We were willing to PAY for the services of this hotel/restaurant but they just rudely refused to serve us. Was extremely disappointing that we were discriminated in our own country!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Nishadi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Serves only foreigners. Horrible to locals so if you don't have white skin avoid the place like the plague

Didn't serve us drinks (Juice) came up with a cock and bull story about how they had a party the night before and that it was the day prior to Vesak so didn't have the chance to stock up. About an hour latter we see two foreigners being served the same pineapple juice that we ordered.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Ashan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Good spot to have drinks and watch the sunset.
would perch myself here with a good book while waiting for my husband to finish up his surf session. Great views of Arugam Bay

Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

It is probably because it is not the season but the toilets were really really disgusting and the food not good at all.
Otherwise the service was ok and price good.
The location is also very central. On the main strip.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank julien-charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

My husband and I went there for a couple of days.
It was beginning of March (so no waves, no surf shop open and almost no tourists around).
Mambo's staff were friendly and they helped us carrying our luggage (as the only access to the hotel is directly from the beach and probably you have to get wet to get inside).
We were the only tourists in there, and they were repairing the hall and the restaurant was in works, so we couldn't have any food from them, neither wifi.
The location is nice because you are out of all the main hotels and tourists shops, but coming back at night in the dark didn't seem very sure (you have to walk in the dark among dogs, rats, crabs, waves and rubbish at the beach).

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arugam Bay hotels
1.0 km away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#3 of 12 in Arugam Bay
132 reviews
0.1 km away
Upali Beach Surf Resort
Upali Beach Surf Resort
#4 of 12 in Arugam Bay
87 reviews
0.6 km away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 12 in Arugam Bay
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Blue Wave Hotel
The Blue Wave Hotel
#7 of 12 in Arugam Bay
101 reviews
0.6 km away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#8 of 12 in Arugam Bay
125 reviews
1.2 km away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#5 of 12 in Arugam Bay
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mambo's Arugambay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mambo's Arugambay Hotel

Address: Main Point Road, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Arugam Bay
Price Range: RM79 - RM159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mambo's is a brand uniting under its name two hotels on Southwest and East coast of the island, in Hikkaduwa and Arugam Bay. Outstanding feature of Mambo's hotels is best location of the hotels on a beach and unique friendly atmosphere in a combination with high level of service and comfort. Mambo's is perfectly suitable for all categories of tourists, from youth and to families with children, and also its ideal vacation spot for surfers because both hotels are located in the front of surf points. There are bar and restaurant, chill out zone, surf shop and surf school A Frame with all surf equipment and beach wear, where you can also rent surfboards and take surf lessons. There are billiard, table tennis, telescope and collection of board games in hotel as well. Other facilities include: the organization of tours to Sri Lanka, transfers. And every Saturday Mambo's organize famous beach parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mambo's Arugambay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing