We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ChrisSatriani
Bamberg, Germany

Awesome nature experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 May 2022via mobile
Great tour! Hymeir is an absolute expert and explains you anything you want to know about the rainforest or the fauna living in it. The motto of the Earth Lodge is to reduce the effect of people visiting to a minimum.
The trip is a little of an adventure, so expect nothing fancy. The huts are pretty basic, but perfectly fine for a nice stay.
We really loved it out there in the wilderness. Food is also great. Overall 10/10!
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 168
  • Booking.com
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 165
  • Booking.com
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Grand Mandarin Betong
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room in November 2011
Contact accommodation for availability.
Free Wifi
Spa
View more hotels in Sik
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
29
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews earth lodge the river would highly recommend a visit an adventure an amazing experience his team guide forest trees nature host calls butterflies opportunity trek muda world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2020 via mobile

We came to Ulu Muda knowing that it was going to be a camp/chalet-like experience. That was met, because the facilities though basic was very much livable and true to what a field research centre should be. with some insects at the corner of the bathroom, mozzies flying and limited electricity, it is all compensated when you wake up to the sound of the gibbons, hornbills and wildlife of the rainforest early in the morning. The one-hour boat ride from the Kuala Muda jetty will take you right into the only place you could live in this forest reserve. Get some sunscreen on and a cap for this midday boat ride. The evening cruise is the most enjoyable activity for all of us because we got to take our time to listen to the sounds, identify the animals, watch out for them in the trees and if lucky, spot the elephants. The jungle trekking was tiring, because of the many stops and we were busy ticking leeches off our bodies but it was an enriching experience. Wear leech socks and long sleeve shirts! Don’t be put off by the leeches because more leeches means there is a large amount of wildlife present. As our guide says, consider it forest tax!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ChristinePhing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2020

Our Trip in Ulu Muda was Perfect. The Location is Amazing, you have nothing around you, only the Jungle. We saw a lot of animals, and our favorite Animal too, Elefants!!
Hymeir know a lot about the Jungle and the Animals. Its a Great Experience, we want to Come back!
The Resort is nice and very clean, and they have Good Food :)!
Greetings from Germany
Nicolai & Melissa

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MelissaG3694
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

The 4 day trip was amazing. We saw so many animals (elephants, birds, insects etc) and could also enjoy the landscape and plants. Hymeir is such a great guide. He knows nearly all animals and can give very interesting explanations. The tours are very well organized. Food and accommodation is basic/good, exactly what to expect from a jungle lodge. I can highly recommend the trip.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 651steffene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2019

Wan as our boatman & guide
1.5 hours of Serenity boat trip & 1.5 hours of trekking to reach our majestic compact cave with a buddha alike statue
The itinerary offers one of its kind in jungle exploration
Do book for urself this earth lodge trip
Once in a lifetime experience
The best of the best

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank edwardganteckwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2019

Last june we stayed for the 4d3n package at this amazing lodge. The fun already started when we arrived at the jetty and were picked up by Hymeir to take the boatride to the lodge. As the water was not very high our captain had to get out several times to keep the boat moving, but after a little more than an hour we arrived at this little paradise. We were very lucky as we were the only guests, so we had a private guide and a private cook/captain. The accomodation is indeed a bit basic, but everything you need is there. During our stay we did several boattrips and hikes and we also went tubing (this was much more relaxing than i expected). Hymeir can tell a lot about Ula Muda and all the wildlife surrounding the lodge and also about all the effort he is putting in conservation of Ula Muda. We were even part of his research team by counting the plain pouched hornbills flying by. As a bird watcher it was very nice to see so many of these very rare hornbills

Next to this he is also very friendly and we had a lot of nice conversations during the dinners.
For us staying in the lodge was the highlight of our trip and if you interested in relaxing stay with a lot of nature around you (yes leeches are included..), this is the place to be!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcellinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hymeir K, Owner at Earth Lodge Ulu Muda, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2019

hi marcel,

glad you and marijne enjoyed your stay at Earth Lodge and thanks for the good reviews. hope to see you both back here soon! ciao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews