We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
250
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef bob cattle drive white water rafting family vacation horseback riding riding ability fantastic week trading post other guests skeet shooting skill level cowboy boots overnight camp ping pong fly fishing every guest line dancing
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Great vacation and awesome location for a family reunion!! We had a large group with ages 9-56 and there was something for everyone. This is the 4th ranch we have visited and was the best. Nice cabins, excellent food, superb horses and wranglers and some of the most beautiful rides in the west! The staff went out of their way to accommodate our large group. If you want a vacation that REALLY gets you away and that the entire family will remember, this is the place....Best memories... shooting guns, herding cattle, hanging out in the saloon (yes, the kids too), spectacular scenery, sleeping under the stars (on the one night pack trip) and meeting wonderful people (staff and guests).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is truly the best vacation you could ever want even for those who have never riden a horse. The staff makes sure that the horse and activities fit each and every person. They treat you like family the entire week and make sure you do what you want to do when you want to do it. Ride up into the mountains or on a slow trail, take a fast ride in the flats, practice riding in the arena. The wranglers are very skilled and work with every rider to make sure they are comfortable on their horse. Learn or practice your target shooting at the range. Take a great whitewater raft trip, throw a line in the lake and sit back and relax. Then really be prepared to have the best meals ever. From Breakfast to Dinner you will never be disappointed with the amazing food cooked and served by a first class staff. The cabins are very clean and kept up daily by another great set of house keepers. You are treated like family from the minute you arrive and when you leave. Leaving is the hardest part because you just made friends for life with the entire staff and othe guest. We plan to return for another vacation. This is truly the one vacation spot you will never forget.

Room Tip: Ask questions all the questions you want - there are no surprises here
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Paradise in the mountains. The kids didn't want to leave. Uber-comfortable rooms, terrific food, fantastic staff, clean air, spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our week at Black Mountain Ranch was by far the best family vacation that we have ever had. Our kids (13 & 15) would have stayed for the whole summer. The May family is warm, generous, knowledgeable and tons of fun. There is something for everyone: awesome horses, fabulous wranglers, superb riding, fishing, shooting, live music, rafting, calf roping, barrel racing and excellent food. We had tears when we left and are already planning our return next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Page B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We've had some great vacations in the past, but our stay at Black Mountain Ranch definitely ranks at the top of all of them. The ten of us (kids ranging from 4 to 19 and four adults) all had a great time there. The horse riding was exciting and fun, accommodations wonderful, food delicious, and there was never a dull moment. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews