We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How is it this affordable?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets
Ranked #2 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Just got back from a Colorado trip that included a rafting trip in nearby Buena Vista. When I found this place, I decided to stay overnight here instead of driving back to Denver afterwards. I was little nervous that it looked that nice from all the pictures and all the reviews, but was so cheap. Clearly had nothing to be nervous about, though - apparently Salida is just a really cheap place to stay. We absolutely loved it here and would absolutely recommend it to anyone who has a reason to be in the area.

For people who are trying to figure out exactly what kind of place it is: it really does feel exactly like a house you're just renting a room in, which is sort of weird but sort of cool. You walk into the living room, which you can hang out in if you like - the proprietors have their own space downstairs, but you're sharing the common space with the other guests, and with the proprietors if they're about. They're super chill, though - I chatted with them a bit, they're great people. Now I understand so much better the name "airbnb" - because this sort of personal feel is what a proper bnb *should* be like. :)

Also for that reason, because it's so small, if you want something, the hosts (it really feels more like they're hosts than just the owners of the place) will totally go out of their way to get it for you. My wife likes sleeping with a ton of pillows, and when she mentioned that, they *immediately* went and grabbed her a bunch.

We stayed in the Blue Room, which does have a private bathroom (a little small, and just a shower, no bathtub, but it is a proper private bathroom). The room is also a little small - it oddly doesn't have a proper desk, just a bed with two side tables, one of which I turned into a desk. It does, however, have a fridge, which was nice. Sadly, our room faced towards the smaller, not-covered-in-snow hills, but it was still a very pretty picture. Bed was extremely comfortable, though I wish the curtains had been a little bit stronger (right now, in that room, the sun *will* shine right in your face and wake you up at 5 in the morning.)

Breakfast is served at either 8 or 9 AM (your choice), and it is fantastic. Clearly all home-made and cooked fresh right for you, it consists of a piece of very good sweet bread, assorted fruit, and whatever main dish they feel like cooking that day. One day it was an omelette, the other day it was a very fancy-looking ham, egg and cheese baked *onto* a biscuit. You would totally pay 10 bucks for this breakfast at a restaurant and consider it worth it.

The whole area is gorgeous and just so relaxing. We took a walk around the grounds the morning we were checking out, and we saw a couple rabbits, and just sooo many different birds. Only a couple minute drive into Salida (good if you want dinner), but it really does feel like you're hours from anything.

Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2015

Convenient to Salida and a nice quite getaway. The decor is a bit stuck in the 80's however but everything was generally well maintained. Jon was attentive and pricing was excellent!

we were a bit taken back passing the trailer park on the way in and up the hill but overall the stay was quite adequate. Not great views from the rooms but hey, that's not why you are in Salida... you are far better served by getting out and enjoying the great outdoors!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GrooveCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

My wife and I found the Tudor Rose via an online search, made a reservation, and ultimately had a terrific time in Salida/Buena Vista while staying at the Tudor Rose for two nights. Clean room, great views, quiet evenings and mornings, fantastic breakfast, and all around superb experience. If we (or someone we know) makes it back to Salida or Buena Vista, we'll definitely recommend the Tudor Rose!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SoonerWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Sometimes you find out what folks are made of when things don't go as planned. In our case, it was a last minute scheduling disaster that prevented us from making our planned trip to Salida. The hosts were very understanding and helped us out. Very much appreciated and we'll see you next time we do make it to Salida!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

We came to Salida for a nice overnight stay and hot spring soak the next day. The house is beautiful and so is the property. Jon and Terre were great hosts and answered all of my silly and not so silly questions happily. Breakfast was superb and the house was quiet. They even had great suggestions on where to eat dinner! Breakfast included homemade bread. We hope to get a chance to come back soon and try out a chalet with our kids and pups.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
2.4 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
96 reviews
9.6 km away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
333 reviews
38.2 km away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets

Address: 6720 County Road 104, Salida, CO 81201-9743
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range: RM559 - RM804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the top of the hill, at the end of the road, on 37 private and secluded acres, it's a different world. We offer 6 rooms at the Bed and Breakfast, and we also have 5 Chalets that sleep six each on the property. We are surrounded by mountain views and are only 1 1/2 miles to downtown Salida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing