We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Elegant Colorado Mountain Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

If you are looking for a Colorado Mountain Wedding venue, save yourself a lot of time and just contact Devil's Thumb Ranch. No really, I don't work for the ranch, but I just got married there. I think DTR is one of Colorado's best kept five-star resort secrets. The venue itself is perfectly poised - no detail is overlooked, yet it is not stuffy in the least. In my opinion, one of the most impressive aspects of DTR is the staff. They are attentive, professional, yet almost feel like family when you are there. The food is incredible, and presented beautifully. I had the priviledge to work with one of DTR's long-time staff members, Lindsay Alesio. Lindsay helped to coordinate logistics for our wedding, which involved a few special requests, and was an absolute delight. Now that we are through the wedding and planning, I can honestly say I am really going to miss working with her as she made everything easy and most importantly, fun.

Room Tip: The lodge suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t-lynn-otto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 573 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

Our family stayed 4 nights and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We had a room with a pull out couch that worked well for our son. The mountain view was perfect though our location next to their event space was rather loud the first night thanks to a wedding party-we could do without Cyndi Lauper at 11p at a party we weren't enjoying. We had no housekeeping issues other than the curain in the (very large) bathroom didn't actually cover the window, so we used a pillow to not show off to the afore mentioned wedding guests. All the staff we dealt with were very helpful and polite, particularly the stable crew. We did several activities there that were all great. The food at Heck's and the Ranch House was very good, some misses, mostly excellent. We really enjoyed sitting on the patio every eve overlooking the horses in the meadows with the mountains in the background and making smores over the fire. The pool is heated but with breezes and no direct sun, it wasn't quite warm enough for us most of our visit. The hot tub is great though. Winter Park is easily accessible. Definitely sign up for the email list as we got one night free from that. The room frige is tiny, but does hold a couple beers and a quart of milk. The mile or two road to the ranch off the highway does include dirt road which was well maintained but I would think a consideration in the winter.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This was my second visit to the ranch in two years and each year it seems to get better! After a day of back country skiing, the hot tub and sauna was exactly what we needed. After that we sat by the fire pit and enjoyed cocktails and appetizers with friends and soaked in the surroundings of what makes Colorado great. Devil's Thumb Ranch is one of my favorite places to vacation and I would highly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherhoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

A gem in the wilderness. You can't believe you are not inn Vail, Jackson Hole or Beaver Creek. The furnishings are perfect for the West. The food is spectacular. The service is accomodating. My wife said , "Everyone who works here seems to really enjoy their job". We ate at both the Ranch House (5-star) and Hecks.
It's very expensive, but worth every penny for the experience.
It is a Colorado treasure.

Room Tip: As for mounttain view--parking lot view stinks--
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZLOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Greeted by friendly faces who were ready to help any way they could. Room was spacious and clean w/beautiful rustic furnishings and complete with recycling bins. Bed was fabulous, one of the most comfortable I've slept on away from home ~ Linens were soft and warm ~ I could hardly get out in the morning! Bathroom was clean and spacious with beautiful rustic decor, large, deep tub and big separate shower stall. Food was tasty and staff was great. Free book and movie rentals as well as a convenient "snack" shop in the lobby. Really a beautiful property, and run well! They really have their act together. Excellent value, and highly recommended ~ Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohmyalikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabernash
9.3 km away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 14 in Winter Park
517 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
32.0 km away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
198 reviews
9.8 km away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
5.0 km away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 14 in Winter Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tabernash
Price Range: RM1,265 - RM1,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing