We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Girls getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A dear friend and I needed a girls spa day and decided on this resort. We were not disappointed in any way The staff was friendly and helpful (right down to telling me what rock I would need to stand next to so I could get cell service) Which I must admit it was one of the few times that I was glad not to have service... We did not stay the night at the resort but we plan on a girls overnight trip in the spring. The property is amazing. We had booked spa services and were able to just relax the whole day at the spa using the various amenities they offer. The spa products available to use while there were very luxurious and oh so yummy !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 467 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Having just moved to Colorado, we thought it would be a great getaway to join my husband following his corporate retreat. We spent two nights in the lodge in a room with a "meadow view" (meaning parking lot view). Thankfully, we were only in our room to sleep. We were able to enjoy the fantastic view of the continental divide from the heated pool and from heck's outdoor patio. Not only did we enjoy watching the light from the setting sun on the mountains, the children got to run around or visit with the cattle and horses out in the pasture, while we waited for dinner to be served. Having not made a reservation, we were made to wait half an hour. Others were made to wait an hour or more, yet there were many empty tables. Apparently, we werent the only guests who were a little baffled by their reservation system.
There are two restaurants and a cafe on site. We only dined at heck's, which also provides pool service. The food was delicious. I had the best hamburger ever, made of wagyu beef, but it was probably the most expensive at $19. For breakfast, I would definitely recommend the homemade brioche french toast with bananas and pecans.
As for activities, there are many many options. My husband enjoyed archery, a guided hike and a rope course but his favorite was the zip line. Luckily for him, these were included in his retreat. Since there were not many activities for children (besides daycare/camp), we decided to sign up for a family horse-back ride (45 min), which set us back $200. The two youngest children (4 and 6) were led by wranglers while the eldest (9) got to ride her own horse. Our guide told us about the legend of devils thumb as she led our family along a ridge overlooking the ranch. We got a close-up view of the cabins and decided we would love to come back with overseas guests and stay in one. I can only imagine the winter wonderland this becomes in a few months time. We hope to come back in the winter (if we can find a great deal)! Apparently, downhill skiing is just twenty minutes away in winter park.
Note: the children had a fantastic time in the games room. Even though you will find a bag of tokens in your room, you will need to bring dollar bills for bowling and quarters for air hockey.

Room Tip: Meadowview means a view of the parking lot. I would definitely recommend getting a room with a mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya73Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

As a young couple, we chose to stay at Devil's Thumb as part of a 2 center Colorado holiday.
We had a wonderful overall experience, but there were some slight disappointments.
On the plus side, the lodge is beautiful - the decor, the rooms, (particularly) the bathrooms all have a high-end rustic feel. The highlights were fly fishing w/ Kevin - he was a veteran of the property and had amazing knowledge of the area & fishing. We ate one night at the Ranch House, which was excellent (a real treat!), and Mario was particularly accommodating. At Hecks, food was also very good, but I agree w/ other comments, that there should be more variation in menu between dinner & lunch. We definitely enjoyed the happy hour after our fishing (4-6pm), w/ $1 draft beers!
On the less good side, we expected the service and experience of a retreat like this to be seamless and it really isn't. The staff seem bound to rules, and they don't seem to be able/allowed to think outside of the box to provide a better experience (i.e a particular server is designated per table w/ little flexibility, & having to check in right at the front of the restaurant when you want to sit outside). Sometimes it took ages for us to get served even drinks. Was a bit annoying. Also it is worth noting that (per the contract), the check-in time is not until 4pm. Many hotels have an official check in time, but are able to get you in before. In this case, check in really is 4pm, so if you come up early for activities, you will need to change in the pool locker room & keep things in your car. It was certainly not a seamless experience. Finally, our room (though beautiful inside) had a 'meadow view' - which was looking over the parking lot. Worth being aware of.
We managed to catch a few quiet moments, largely when out on the property, or when we came down early for breakfast, but there were a lot of young children running around, and there seem to be big events at the lodge on the weekend days. I also noticed them building new rooms, which makes me sad that in future DTR may loose some of the reason we chose to stay here - to get away.
One final highlight unassociated w/ the ranch was a days's rafting w/ Adventures in White Water. Ask for Mouse as a guide - he's rafted the Gore and Grand Canyons (& is still alive!). A real character! Make sure to do a full day tour as this includes 2 class 3 rapids vs 1/2 a day which is all class 2.
Would I come back to DTR? Almost certainly yes, but would try to do so during off peak days if you are a couple looking for quiet in the country.

Room Tip: Be aware that 'meadow view' rooms overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

First time to Devil's Thumb!!! We needed a getaway out of Denver and this was perfect. We spent two nights in Settler's Cabin (beautiful). The weather was 70 during the day and a chilly 40 at night! Went horseback riding, sat by the pool/hot-tub and we both had massages. The fire outside of Heck's and the smores was perfect at night. The food was soooo good (recommend eating at Ranch House Restaurant) and the service was amazing. I would highly recommend it and hope to get back there again someday!!!

Room Tip: Settlers Cabin was GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We just spent 4 incredible nights at DTR. This was our first time to the Winter Park area of Colorado, and only our second time visiting Colorado from California. After attending a wedding outside the Vail area, we decided to take some time to experience CO. With so many great choices of areas to visit, we are thrilled with our decision to visit DTR. It offered a true CO experience with the highest level of luxury, activities & entertainment.

We were traveling as a family of 4 (2 girls ages 14 & 12). The girls loved and took advantage of the movie theater, the game room, , the firepit for smores, the complimentary cruiser bike use and the freedom and safety to cruise around on their own. We all enjoyed the ziplining and horseback tours, and our guides were all wonderful! I took advantage of the yoga one day (but be aware they only offer yoga classes Thurs-Sun).

All the staff were so helpful and kind, especially those at Heck's including Brandon, etc. I was nervous about eating all meals at DTR, as my husband is not keen on all-inclusive type vacations. While meals are not included, there are not a lot of options, unless you want to leave the resort, which we did not want to do. One small complaint would be that I think they should offer different menus for lunch and dinner (or at least a few extra sandwichs, salads, or lunch offerings), as it was almost all the same food. Honestly, I don't think I would want to stay much longer than we did, as we had basically eaten everything on the menu. They do have a nice cafe that offers a few lunch sandwichs, but we wanted to sit down and order. We also took advantage of the awesome Happy Hour, with $1 beers and $4 wine + many appetizers at 1/2 price, before we returned for dinner. My husband and I did go to the Ranch House one night (only open 1 night during our 4 nights there - 1 night closed for wedding). When we first got there at our reservation time, we had to wait a bit at the bar. Although the restaurant was not full at all, they didn't want to overwhelm the kitchen and servers. They were kind enough to offer a complimentary cocktail while we waited. Again service was wonderful.

Our suite with living area + bedroom was very spacious with lovely views. My only other small complaint is that the pull-out sofabed that the girls slept on was very uncomfortable (they said) with many springs in the mattress. After the first night of use, we ended up making a bed on the floor for them with an extra down duvet that the front desk sent up and blankets. The king size bed with duvet was very comfortable and the girls would snuggle in at times to enjoy the Olympics with plenty of room for all.

All in all, we Loved DTR and are certain others will too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabernash
9.3 km away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#5 of 14 in Winter Park
517 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
32.0 km away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#1 of 7 in Grand Lake
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Wild Horse Inn
Wild Horse Inn
#2 of 3 in Fraser
198 reviews
9.8 km away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
5.0 km away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 14 in Winter Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tabernash
Price Range: RM1,270 - RM1,798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing