We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, modern boutique hotel - we'll be back”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico, USA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Quiet, modern boutique hotel - we'll be back”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I drove to Telluride on a lark for our anniversary, and - based partially on the great reviews here on TripAdvisor - booked at Hotel Columbia. I can't think of anything the folks here could do to make us happier - this is a great hotel.

First of all, Telluride (as you probably know) is parking challenged. You're going to have to expect to pay for parking, and the parking's going to be funky. Hotel Columbia does have on-site valet parking (you don't need to use a valet - one of the great things about a cosy boutique hotel is that the small staff is totally accommodating and you don't feel the need to tip the newest rank of an army of bellmen and valets every five minutes - a couple of tips a day to housekeeping and the front desk is probably more than expected), but it costs: $20/day. Figure it in to the cost of the hotel - this is Telluride, and that's how it's done. And . . . they might cut you slack and only charge you $10/day anyhow. ;-) Honestly, a car's not needed here - so much to do easily accessible on foot, by free shuttle bus or by gondola from the hotel: we parked the car and haven't touched it. Which is pretty liberating: I can have a beer or glass of wine any time I want. :-)

All right, the hotel is relatively small, but modern, and is in a charming building (not one of the ugly condo buildings that ring T'ride) that is a pleasure to spot on the gondola descent. WiFi is free and has a strong signal - I'm using it to write this review, in fact. Quiet inside (rooms on both sides of us are occupied and I believe we've only heard one bump from one couple in the last two days), the place has a tranquil feeling. A recent remodel gives the Hotel Columbia a sort of western art deco feel - it's nice here, and peaceful. There's a great secured ski and mountain bike room for your gear. The carpet in the rooms is nice, but done in dusky tones that won't make you uncomfortable entering the room in your hiking boots. Our room has a little (one seat) balcony with spectacular views, and pretty much any room in this hotel is likely to have amazing views due to the location of the Hotel Columbia. Our room is quite large - much larger than we expected from the site; perhaps we lucked out - and has great natural light and pleasant modern furnishings with plenty of places to sit and and read, plenty of lighting options, and plenty of storage room for clothes. The metal balcony rail is weathered, which looks charming to me but might make some folks think a fresh coat of Rust-O-Leum is needed - this was the only maintenance I could even vaguely argue needed to be done on site. The room has tons of towels, a heated towel rack, a soaking tub, a separate steam shower, HBO - all the amenities and conveniences one would expect. Good cloth blinds in the room require clods like me a moment to figure out, but did a great job of keeping out the light and noise. :-)

Hotel Columbia has a remarkably convenient location: downhill, a couple quieting blocks from the main drag and loud bars, near the river (you can hear the river burbling at night if you leave your windows open - how's THAT for tranquility-producing white noise?), and directly across from the gondola lift. I understand that some folks don't care for the (again, white noise) quiet low drone of the gondola lift, but Hotel Columbia has air conditioners installed so there's no reason to open the windows if it troubles you.

A serve-yourself breakfast buffet is included, and it's on the top end of this sort of breakfast. Situated in the dining area of the on-site restaurant, you can select from a buffet of fresh banana bread, bagels, homemade savory breads, smoked salmon, cream cheese, amazing cold slices of filet mignon, hard-boiled eggs, eggs you steam yourself to your desired consistency, cheeses, fruit, cereals, quiche lorraine, jams, jellies, teas, fresh-squeezed juice and frankly amazing coffee. Wow. I actually found myself eating less the night before in anticipation of the next morning's breakfast. (We did our anniversary dinner at the on-site restaurant, Cosmopolitan, and really enjoyed it. Prices seemed low for the delicious and creative quality dishes delivered, though their service was on the amateur - if warm and friendly - side. Actually, the bussers were totally on the ball - perhaps they should have been running the front end.)

The youthful front desk and housekeeping staff at the Hotel Columbia could not have been more helpful, kind or friendly (no 'tude at all). We asked several vaguely dumb questions and were treated like welcome family members - folks would go out of their way to follow-up on things after handling them with grace in the first place. Again, the place was spotlessly clean for us. Oh, and we were genuinely surprised to find a nice bottle of bubbly had been delivered to our room for our anniversary, along with a nice card from the staff.

Anyhow, all the little things here at Hotel Columbia add up to an experience that is a heck of a lot nicer than what I would have expected for the tariff. This town is absolutely full of places to stay, but this stay has been so nice that I can't even imagine looking anywhere else - we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erich505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    36
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
150
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed here for a 5 nights in January. This hotel was great it was my wife, 5yr old son and I. The staff is great the room we very excellent and the bed was the best I have stayed in while on vacation! We are planing another trip this Feb and will defiantly be staying here. The hotel is right across the street from the Gondola with snow on the street its ski in ski out. We have stayed at many hotels from the Viceroy in Snowmass to the Hotel Terra in Jackson Hole, and we love Telluride and this hotel the best.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin6378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Our family arrived in Telluride late evening and didn't have a reservation. Came by Hotel Columbia by chance. We got a warm welcome and a great offer on a spacious room. It was equipped with a bath tub and separate shower. A little kitchenette and fridge. Very fancy and contemporary style. We had this top notch feeling. We spent 3 days in Telluride and did river rafting as well as sightseeing/shopping. The city is beautiful and authentic. However, the mix of people is a 70 % billionaires and 10 % ski bums. The other 20 % are the wonderful people working there, giving you a great experience. For us, three days in summertime, is enough. With a little better weather and children older than ours (10 yrs) you can probably spend a few more days hiking the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel Columbia. It is a boutique hotel and makes you feel like you are at a bed and breakfast. The bed is the best I have ever slept in. While the room is small it is very nice. The breakfast is probably the best "included" breakfast I have experienced with smoked salmon, cold fllet mignon, quische, fresh fruit and home made breads. The location is "downtown" Telluride and walking distance or a gondola ride to all the best restaurants. It is across the street from the gondola which is a great asset. It isn't cheap. We got a deal which made it affordable but still not cheap. I suggest a fourth floor room in the front which has a moutain view. Parking can be an issue but they will take care of it for $20. I would recommend it if you can afford it. The internet conection needs some work. There is also a small sink, stove refrigerator and gas fireplace. The shower would fit a family of four and a heated towel rack a plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Columbia for two nights, and only wish I could have had two more. We brought along our two dogs (the hotel allows dogs in certain rooms) and the King Superior room we reserved was spacious enough for two adults and two large dogs. The hotel location was particularly convenient for the dogs, as we were steps from an entrance to a commuter trail alongside the river. Also nice, was the proximity to the gondola for trips to Mountain Village to watch the downhill racers or pedal up some trails ourselves.

The hotel, particularly the lobby, didn't look like much from the outside, but the room was absolutely beautiful with modern decor and a pleasing layout. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and the balcony, while small, was nice to step out on to watch the gondola in the mornings. The room also included a stocked kitchen, mini-bar, and a fireplace which was turned off for the summer months. The bathroom was very spacious with a good showerhead and water pressure, even on the top floor. Everything was immaculately clean.

The free continental breakfast was fantastic, with an assortment of fruit, cold meats, bread, pastries, and quiche, a very nice change of pace from the scrambled egg/bacon/toast combo that typically appears. Everything was fresh and constantly restocked. The coffee was strong, and made it far too easy to stuff myself while drinking cup after cup.

The staff at the front desk was always very helpful and friendly. Laundry machines are not available for guests, but the staff will provide laundry service for a fee. There is also private parking for a fee.

Overall, I had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Columbia and hope to return someday during winter months. I would easily recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhseuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.5 km away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
640 reviews
0.1 km away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.2 km away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 11 in Telluride
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
340 reviews
3.3 km away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
861 reviews
2.9 km away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: 301 West San Juan Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price range (per night): RM1,012 - RM1,016
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Columbia is the perfect home base for your winter Telluride ski vacation, family retreat or summer in paradise.We are contemporary, yet timeless. Situated on the San Miguel River at the base of the world famous Telluride Ski Resort, we are within walking distance to all the restaurants, shops, and adventure that Telluride has to offer. The Hotel Columbia is proud to host Telluride's premiere restaurant, the Cosmopolitan.Our hotel delivers a new benchmark of personalized service with attention to every detail before, during, and after your stay. You will enjoy Telluride lodging at its finest in our hotel rooms and suites. We look forward to meeting you and showing you our spirit of hospitality in the Rocky Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing