We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reviews!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozrah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Odetah Camping Resort
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This Camp ground is really great. I read some of the bad reviews and just want to say that in all the years my family and I have stayed at Odetah, none of these things have ever happened to us. This past summer a group of nine of us rented two sites. We had a wonderful time, together we had 5 preteen - teenages, we hardly ever even saw them. They had so much fun, it was hard for us to get them back to the site to have family time. We never had any issues with that staff at all....Yes the staff is mostly a bunch of teenagers riding around in golf carts, however what would you expect, it's summer time kids need summer jobs. These kids were 100% polite and respectful everytime we had any interaction with them. You do need to pay extra for some activites, but it is a minimal fee....2 dollars for BINGO, free flash light lollipop hunts, 10 dollars to tye tie shirts. More then resonable. Also, while the campgroud is located close to a highway we never heard any road noise. In short we had such a great trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bursell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

I won't bother repeating all of the aspects already written about by past reviewers, but I will say that this campground is great for families like ours, who have small children and want lots of ways to keep them busy! Unfortunately our stay was cut short due to rain (getting into our tent!), so we weren't able to do the Halloween mini-golf, and other things. But, our boys loved the playgrounds, inflatable slide, fishing, and heated pool (yes even in early October, the pool was very comfortable).

We had a chance to take a peek in one of the Yurts after asking the front desk for the key, and those seem nice. No bathroom is the only drawback. Speaking of bathrooms, they keep them very clean, can't be said for a lot of other campgrounds that's for sure.

Check-in and check-out were very smooth, no issues there. Food was great - and even though we didn't use the service, how cool is it that you can order food and have it delivered to your campsite? That's one drawback - if you're looking for a "true" camping experience out in the wild, this isn't your place. But for a nice leisure way to get outdoors and smell some campfires and have a hundred different things to do in a weekend, look no further!

The only disappointment we had was with the campground's policies regarding dogs. They don't want you to walk your dog unless it's at the "dog park" which is really just a small fenced in area about the size of a basketball court, waaay out by the dumping grounds. So you have to drive your dog there and back. There should be a trail or something that dog owners can use, to get there and back. It also would be nice if there was a spot in the pond where you could let your dogs swim.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Overall an enjoyable stay. There are tent sites and RV sites. Many of the RV sites are permanently occupied. The folks that rent the permanent sites live there, at least during the warmer months. They grow some nice gardens and plants and the ones we met are friendly. The lake is nice to gaze at and to go for a swim. There is a big inflated trampoline just out beyond the roped swimming area. It was a lot of fun. There are some mossy weed plants that grow from the bottom of the lake up towards the surface in many areas. It can be hard to avoid swimming through those. There is also a swimming pool (I heard it is heated) and a jacuzzi.
Multiple playgrounds for the kids to play on. Horseshoe pits and shuffleboard for the adults. The bathrooms were clean. You can hear the nearby highway sometimes, which is a slight drawback. The staff was generally friendly and helpful, and seemed readily available.
The only real dissapointment was when we tried to rent a boat/canoe to go out on the lake at 1:20 PM on a Sunday. They are supposed to be open until 2:00 PM but they were closing up the ice cream shop and the boat rentals as we got there and they wouldn't rent us the boat. Not sure why they'd close at 2 PM on Sundays in September anyway. A sunny Sunday afternoon is prime boating time in my book.
We had a nice time and we'd go back. 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vision337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed for two nights midweek in the summer. We picked a site(167) far away from the highway so we had peace & quiet. Site was clean, trash is picked up daily. Lake with a trampoline in it is nice. Lots of stuff to keep families busy.
Free wi-fi is a plus but it is very unreliable so don't plan on using it much. Verizon signal is poor, AT&T decent.
I wouldn't say it's very resort-like but more like a nice campground. We would return although it's not one of the best values we've seen.

Room Tip: Pick a site away from the highway. The noise can be deafening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have been going to Odetah Camping Resort every year with a large group for the past six years. We love it! It has everything you can ever want from a camping resort. Clean restrooms, great activities for the kids, and friendly staff. We have tried other camping resorts but they never compare to Odetah so we always wind up going back. Just had another fun weekend at Odetah (minus the rain. But weather can't be controlled). Will be going back like always next year. We love Odetah!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JeanieO1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bozrah
3.6 km away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
9.5 km away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,863 reviews
10.3 km away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn Norwich
Hampton Inn Norwich
#1 of 6 in Norwich
79 reviews
4.3 km away
Courtyard Norwich
Courtyard Norwich
#5 of 6 in Norwich
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odetah Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odetah Camping Resort

Address: 38 Bozrah Street Ext, Bozrah, CT 06334-1300
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Bozrah
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bozrah
Price Range: RM275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Odetah enjoys the beauty and serenity of the Connecticut woods, offering you, your family and friends the best in camping and spectacular nearby attractions and excitement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Odetah Camping Hotel Bozrah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing