We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
34
4
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house two blocks stay there again room was large bed was very comfortable driveway sauna connecticut
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Bishopsgate Inn for our family reunion! The innkeepers are attentive & professional with delicious breakfasts and impeccable attention to detail. The local area is beautiful and full of history. Definitely a superior recommendation and would come back again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank thelenmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctkagel, Owner at Bishopsgate Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your review! We enjoyed having you all here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Clean, nice people and very good breakfast. Room small and cluttered Too much stuff. Need to update shower.When we spend this kind of money we expect a shower that if not larger, at least I do not want to have to play with the control to get proper water temp. and volume.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pfscms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We were in traffic on the dreaded Rt. 95 en route to East Haddam to see the FANTASTIC musical, "Chasing Rainbows," at the Goodspeed Opera House (full disclosure, our niece Ruby is the star!), when we finally decided to stay in East Haddam rather than return home after the show. An enjoyable phone call to Bishopsgate left me looking forward to getting off of Rt. 95 and meeting Jane. Jane and her family were most welcoming, fun and informative hosts but not at all intrusive (as mentioned in another review). It felt like we were visiting relatives - ones that we like! We stayed in a sweet little room on a very comfy bed and slept like logs. Breakfast was simple and delicious! Jane kindly asked us to invite our niece to join us for breakfast which we found to be a lovely gesture. This is a great place to stay when seeing a show at Goodspeed as it is an easy walk to the theater and there are restaurants in walking distance too. We really enjoyed our impromptu stay at Bishopsgate and definitely recommend it for a bit if civil country living in a historic dwelling house that is the epitome of an New England country inn!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We spent one night in East Haddam at the perfectly lovely Bishopsgate Inn. The hosts are personable without being at all intrusive, and were accommodating in a number of small but meaningful ways. And, though I'm not a big breakfast person, this was one of the best B'nB breakfasts I've ever had.

Room Tip: We only saw the Sunny Room, and would recommend it.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 4ASojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This is very much a New England Inn! Wonderful hospitality, lovely Rooms, clean and fresh, and this is a true retreat! The breakfast everyday is yummy and you do feel like you are in a home. When we were at the Inn in September, one of the other guests had fallen and immediately Jane and Lisa got her to the hospital and changed her room to the main floor where she would not have stairs. Above and beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank louisehb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews