We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Scotgreek
Germany

Don´t pass by this place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Nov 2023
Good on this couple from South America taking on this old building and breathing new life into it.
Easy to pass by on the way to Dundee or St. Andrews. But I highly recommend a stop for lunch or dinner. Excellent dishes, beautifully presented and with a smiling and very attentive service.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Krystal Rascon, Owner at St. Michaels Inn, responded to this review
Responded 12 May 2024
Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you soon around :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Vio.com
2.3 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 2
  • ZenHotels.com
1.9 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free parking
  • Vio.com
  • Official Site
    RM 728
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Looking at the hotel from golf Course
RM 556
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 556
2.3 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,182
  • Rufflets Country
    RM 1,013
7.8 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 3,608
RM 3,005
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.0 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 3,178
RM 2,859
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    RM 3,178
  • Booking.com
8.5 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    RM 1,112
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,222
8.6 km from St. Michaels Inn
Restaurant
RM 1,813
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,813
  • StayForLong
8.6 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 1,214
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
8.6 km from St. Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Leuchars
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
39
2
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
2
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners tapas main course can't wait to go back friendly atmosphere looking forward train station warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

What a superb meal on Sunsay lunchtime. The lamb shank was wonderful, and along with friendly and efficient service, we were very happy.
A nice surprise was chef coming out to discuss his dish with us. Great chat about his style of cooking.

We will be back

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rhona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

We spent four nights at St Michael's Inn which was ideally situated for visiting relatives in Crieff and for sightseeing in Dundee. We could not have chosen a better base. From the moment we checked in, we experienced nothing but the most attentive, friendly and informal service from our hosts Manuel and Krystal and the team. Our room was comfortable, airy, spotlessly clean and equipped with USB sockets. The kitchen, presided over by Manuel, turned out consistently excellent food from a varied menu which pays homage to Manuel's Spanish and Krystal's Mexican heritages in addition to traditional British favourites. Service in the restaurant was exceptional. All the servers were relaxed, friendly, good-humoured and above all, faultlessly attentive. When they had the opportunity, Manuel and Krystal would spend a little of their precious time chatting to us, mostly about food and cooking which happens to be a passion of mine. I simply cannot praise this establishment enough. Manuel and Krystal have recently taken on St Michael's Inn following an extended closure but as a result of their hard work and commitment to customer satisfaction, they are clearly making a great success of it and this is evident from their loyal local supporters, some of whom we had the pleasure of chatting with in the evenings. Thank you Manuel and Krystal. It was not just a pleasure but also a privilege to be your guests. We wish you every well-deserved success for your efforts.

Oh, by the way, St. Michael's Inn is on the no. 99 bus route which runs between St. Andrews and Dundee about every ten minutes. The stop if Dundee-bound is just outside the inn; a two-minute walk away to the stop for St. Andrews. We took full advantage for a day trip to Dundee to visit RRS Discovery and the adjacent, spectacular V&A waterfront building.

Room tip: If staying at St Michael's Inn, don't even think about eating out. The food and service is superb.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fgrace034
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023

We visited on a very rainy Saturday and turned up a bit early for lunch but nevertheless were welcomed in (sorry about walking on your newly washed floor!). Staff were friendly and accomodating.

It's quite an "olde worlde" feel inside the restaurant which is situated on the road from St Andrews/Guardbridge to Dundee and has been reopened this year by Manuel Rascon and his family.

We had a lovely lunch (Tapas, Burritos, Fondant Chocolate cake and Crème Brûlée with soft drinks and coffees to finish). The menu is a Scottish/Mexican/Spanish blend which will appeal to many.

Kryztal, Manuel's wife, came over personally at the end of the meal to ensure all was well, which was a lovely touch.

All in all, well worth a visit for breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MurrayElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023

We had an excellent meal at St. Michaels Inn with outstanding food and first class service. We will definately eat there again and have no problem giving our recommendation to family and friends. Well done and good luck for the future!!
Sara and David Cathro

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sara190552
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2023 via mobile

Very nice food .we had soup for my mother in law which she loved and she is fussy .We had tapas 3 small dishes home made crocetas patatas braves and prawns. And the curry of the week green Thai Mexican rice and a flatbread .very good curry sort of fusion but great. Desserts creme Brulee and chocolate fondant with ice cream both vv good

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mick1960andwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews