We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Angela M
Northumberland

Fab food and service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Nov 2023
We stopped here for lunch, after a 4 hour drive from North East England.

We were the only customers in at the time but the Inn deserves to be much busier - the food is fabulous! The pasta was creamy and delicious, the Thai curry was a hit. The request for extra chilli sauce was accommodated and we even got a jar of the special paste to take home. We’ll definitely be back (maybe book rooms next time. The rooms look amazing!)
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Krystal Rascon, Owner at The St Michaels Inn, responded to this review
Responded 6 May 2024
Thank you so much for your nice feedback. We hope that you come back soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
RM 598
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    RM 599
  • Agoda.com
    RM 599
  • ZenHotels.com
0.0 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Looking at the hotel from golf Course
RM 697
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    RM 699
  • Expedia.com
    RM 698
  • Priceline
    RM 697
2.3 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free parking
Restaurant
RM 1,190
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,327
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,157
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,325
7.8 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 2,964
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 2,964
  • Agoda.com
    RM 2,675
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,967
8.0 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Don't miss the university museum around the corner
RM 598
  • Agoda.com
    RM 599
  • eDreams
    RM 598
  • Vio.com
    RM 599
8.2 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Apartment Exterior
RM 599
Easy and fast booking
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
8.3 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 3,742
RM 2,488
  • Official Site
    RM 2,768
  • Priceline
    RM 2,638
  • Expedia.com
    RM 2,486
8.5 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 1,713
RM 1,542
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,559
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,529
  • Priceline
    RM 1,713
8.6 km from The St Michaels Inn
RM 1,790
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,789
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 1,789
  • StayForLong
8.6 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 1,547
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,200
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,199
  • Vio.com
    RM 1,551
8.6 km from The St Michaels Inn
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Leuchars
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
37
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
37
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners tapas main course can't wait to go back friendly atmosphere looking forward train station warm welcome
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2023 via mobile

Just home from a lovely meal at St Michaels inn. Lovely cosy atmosphere and great choice of food including a variety of cuisines (Spanish tapas, Mexican and traditional British). We both went for tapas which we loved, I would highly recommend the croquettes!! We also decided to have dessert and both went for the chocolate fondant, it was amazing! You just don’t get great freshly homemade desserts anymore but here you do and they don’t disappoint. It’s obviously a newly flourishing business and perhaps the waiter could have been more attentive but he was very friendly. We’ll definitely be back.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bethany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Krystal Rascon, Owner at The St Michaels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Hello Bethany! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2023 via mobile

First visit to St Michael’s whilst visiting family in Dundee.
Very welcoming staff with first class food.
Wide range of menu choices from traditional Fish and Chips to Fajitas Lobster and Pasta’s, so something for everyone
Will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank KK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Krystal Rascon, Owner at The St Michaels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Sorry for the reply until now but we could not access..Anyway Thank you so much for your nice feedback and We hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2023

Good on this couple from South America taking on this old building and breathing new life into it.
Easy to pass by on the way to Dundee or St. Andrews. But I highly recommend a stop for lunch or dinner. Excellent dishes, beautifully presented and with a smiling and very attentive service.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scotgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Krystal Rascon, Owner at The St Michaels Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2024

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you soon around :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

What a superb meal on Sunsay lunchtime. The lamb shank was wonderful, and along with friendly and efficient service, we were very happy.
A nice surprise was chef coming out to discuss his dish with us. Great chat about his style of cooking.

We will be back

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Rhona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

We spent four nights at St Michael's Inn which was ideally situated for visiting relatives in Crieff and for sightseeing in Dundee. We could not have chosen a better base. From the moment we checked in, we experienced nothing but the most attentive, friendly and informal service from our hosts Manuel and Krystal and the team. Our room was comfortable, airy, spotlessly clean and equipped with USB sockets. The kitchen, presided over by Manuel, turned out consistently excellent food from a varied menu which pays homage to Manuel's Spanish and Krystal's Mexican heritages in addition to traditional British favourites. Service in the restaurant was exceptional. All the servers were relaxed, friendly, good-humoured and above all, faultlessly attentive. When they had the opportunity, Manuel and Krystal would spend a little of their precious time chatting to us, mostly about food and cooking which happens to be a passion of mine. I simply cannot praise this establishment enough. Manuel and Krystal have recently taken on St Michael's Inn following an extended closure but as a result of their hard work and commitment to customer satisfaction, they are clearly making a great success of it and this is evident from their loyal local supporters, some of whom we had the pleasure of chatting with in the evenings. Thank you Manuel and Krystal. It was not just a pleasure but also a privilege to be your guests. We wish you every well-deserved success for your efforts.

Oh, by the way, St. Michael's Inn is on the no. 99 bus route which runs between St. Andrews and Dundee about every ten minutes. The stop if Dundee-bound is just outside the inn; a two-minute walk away to the stop for St. Andrews. We took full advantage for a day trip to Dundee to visit RRS Discovery and the adjacent, spectacular V&A waterfront building.

Room tip: If staying at St Michael's Inn, don't even think about eating out. The food and service is superb.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fgrace034
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews