We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good meal”

Astley Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery
Price range: US$4 - US$7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: At Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery we’re a friendly bunch and pride ourselves on giving the warmest of welcomes. So when you pop over to our place, whether it’s to catch up with friends over a refreshing drink or because you just can’t be bothered to cook, we hope you’ll find it like a home from home – without the washing up! We’ve something for all the family - from freshly carved, slow cooked roasts, stonebaked pizzas made from 100% fresh dough, tasty pub classics like hand battered fish, plus a range of burgers and vegetarian dishes.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for Easter Sunday dinner with wife & 2 children aged 9 &12. Very impressed.
Lovely fish goujons to start. We had the carvery which was very nice & plenty of it.
Staff were pleasant & polite.
Well priced too, much cheaper than Highlands where we live.
We were disappointed that the sauces for the starters were served in single use plastic pots. How can this possibly be necessary with all the current concerns about plastic waste??
Other than that, was excellent

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderfull feedback i shall feed this back about the plastic pots, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for Sunday Carvery last Sunday. We have been here once before shortly after they had changed to the Stonehouse and it was absolutely lovely, at last their beef was very tasty and melted in your mouth, so deciding to try the Carvery again to see if they still were serving their beautiful delicious beef off we went. Nope, no such luck, whilest the veg was ok as was the other meats, the beef was as tough as old boots,I did tell the young lady that cleared our table when she asked if everything ok, she said sorry but that was it, she did say she would let the catering manager know. The staff are very friendly and service very good, but the chefs cannot cook or know how to cook beef. It shall be a long time before we visit again, if ever.

Thank Sarah M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to hear your vist with us was not as you have had in the past. I will pass this onto our chefs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for Sunday Lunch and were pleased that we had booked well in advance as the pub was extremely busy. Although not the most salubrious surroundings the food was excellent. We all (5 adults & 2 children) had the Carvery which had four roast meats, mashed and roast potato together with an excellent variety of vegetables. One of the best Carvery meals available in the local area. Thoroughly recommended. (The 3 star rating is actually 3½.)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OldGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely comments I will pass these onto our chefs. We hope you visit us again and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Came here for the mother in laws birthday meal but there was only five of us (3 adults and 2 teenage kids). Asked for three cokes with no ice.... all three came with ice, cheers for that - nice start. Looked at the menu and unless you want a carvery or one of the 5,000 pizzas the menu is limited to a handful of options. Decided the Steak and Ale pie had my name all over it so the mrs went to order the meals, came back and said the pie is ready but you’ve gotta go put your own chips, peas etc on your plate! When you order a set meal you don’t expect to have to serve it yourself!!! Fair enough if it wEasy way around employing enough staff to serve the food to your table I suppose - get the paying customer to do it. Once that’s sorted I cut through the pastry only to find that the base was tougher than Gandhi’s flip flops.....Thou shalt not pass the base. Using my knife on it it looked like I was edging my name into a concrete block but without success. Contents were adequate but far from tasty. I’ve had steak and ale pie in the hungry horse pubs in cramlington and heaton, also in the generous George in Ashington and the walls end pub..... all were of great standard and quality but this was fit for the bin only along with the over cooked chewy tasteless chips (been left on the hot plate all day I reckon). All in all not an experience I’d like to repeat so certainly won’t be returning. The willow farm and seven oaks in cramlington are superior to this place, so if you wanna bring the family out for a nice meal.... this ain’t the place to come.

Thank bobbyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Astley Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback and your opinion We are part of a chain and have always been a help yourself carvery. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

Firstly. Any naughty people speeding through this village will get a nasty shock.We have dined here loads of times staff are love fly and friendly.Hope Sharon had a good time in new York.food is always great and piping hot.by why no chickens? Must be a big boss man thing.money grabbing stone house group.

1  Thank coolertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Astley Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery also viewed

Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
 
Seaton Sluice, Northumberland
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
Seaton Delaval, Northumberland
 

Been to Astley Arms Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing