We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go-To Place in Mystic”
Review of Hyatt Place Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Mystic
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This was not our first visit and certainly not our last.
Our grandson visited us and had a great time in the pool and at the snack display. Breakfast was the usual Hyatt breakfast. Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, various toasts and fruit and coffee. Not the greatest but good enough to sustain you for the morning.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. All comments and requests were met with a smile.
The room was as expected. All Hyatt Places everywhere are the same, so you get a bit of familarity staying here. No surprisses and thankful for that.
Definately will return.

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting a good room. They are all alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TtravelerJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in August with our family of four (myself, my husband, our 4 and 1 year olds). It was located very close to Mystic Village, Seaport and Aquarium. Can easily walk to old mystic village, Dunkin' Donuts and a few other places. There was ample parking. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean upon arriving. That being said, we frequent Hyatt Places and it just didn't seem as up to par as many others. Seating for breakfast was extremely limited. One night I ordered nachos for an appetizer and waited an hour and a half before canceling the order. Not sure if they forgot or what. The pool area also did not have the option to have drink/food service like most Hyatt Places do. Also very disappointed that breakfast has changed and the egg sandwiches are no longer available, but that might be a company wide policy. The staff and location make this hotel. We would return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jill52787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hello Jill!

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I am glad to see that your guest room was clean and inviting upon arrival, and that you were treated so well by our amazing staff!

In regards to your Food & Beverage experience, I am so sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. As of April 2017 Hyatt Place has rolled out its new premium complimentary breakfast menu throughout all hotels in North America. I hope that while the breakfast sandwiches are no longer a part of the complimentary AM menu, you found plenty of other items to choose from our daily hot item selections and Greek Yogurt Bar. I must admit that I am a little confused in regards to poolside food and drink service as Hyatt Place hotels do not offer this amenity as part of our core brand standards. However we are always looking for ways to improve upon our service and I will forward your comments to the Hyatt Place Brand Team for consideration.

Thanks for staying with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit!

Michael A
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We had a nice weekend stay in Mystic. The hotel is conveniently located just off the highway and is a nice 25/30-min walk to "downtown." They offer a decent breakfast and there is ample seating to accommodate many guests during the morning rush. The room is a semi-suite and has a kitchenette and living area. The pool is heated and there are plenty of towels for guests. The front desk personnel were friendly and very helpful upon our arrival and departure.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank kMdLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to review Hyatt Place Mystic! We appreciate the kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay!

Best,

Michael A
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
6
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Nice people but not too much room, especially for traveling family's and we stayed in the biggest room! The wort part was the TV wouldn't work unless it was at a certain angle and everything was dusty, even the tv had marks all over the screen.

The nice people at the front desk gave a warm welcome, but soon I was disappointed, the room was quite small and the fridge was even smaller! The bathroom was hardly walkable and there was no elbow room, the AC smelled funny and we had to call down to bring more towels up because they only left 3 for the 3 days we were here, not to mention there were 3 of us! Not even washcloths were their to begin with. The couch was stained and all the phones and lamps were dusty, the wood trim was ripped up and not replaced. We left for hours and we returned to a uncleaned room, then we had to rush out again so the lady could come in.

We returned not long after and stuff still wasn't dusted and the lady seemed impatient, at least she added more coffee and tea but they looked like they were just tossed there as the bottom of them were crumpled.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Greetings!

First, thank you for taking the time for sharing your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It is through feedback such as yours that we continue to improve our services here in Mystic. I am sorry to hear that you stay was anything less than exceptional,and I truly wish that we had been able to resolve any issues for you while you were still at the property. I am quite disappointed to hear about the condition of your guest room. Cleanliness and maintenance are amongst our top priorities and a point of pride for us at our property. Please know that I have shared your comments in this regard with our housekeeping team who have assured me that they will take the necessary corrective action immediately to eliminate such issues from reoccurring. Additionally, I am saddened to hear that you found our oversized guest rooms to be on the small side. At 400-500 sq ft, our rooms tend to be amongst the largest and most spacious in the industry, each equipped with a full size L-shaped sofa/seating area, wet bar, and mini fridge.

I do apologize again for any inconvenience we may have caused during your visit, and I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you on a future trip to the area.

Best Wishes,

Michael A
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The staff is amazing: From Stefanie who checked us in, to Andrea and Daric who were so friendly and gracious, made sure I had my starbucks every day, to Glenda who made sure I had ginger ale when I was ill, to Anthony who cooked amazing breakfasts each morning, better than at an expensive restaurant, (and it is included in the room rate) and did it with a smile, to Carey who is a personable maintenance worker. He handed me a brand new remote when all I asked for were batteries for the old one. The general manager Mike drove us in the shuttle and was very pleasant. I am sure there are others I am not mentioning who I didn't see on a daily basis. Since I was up very early every morning, I could see how they related to one another when no one was around and they seemed to all be friends, which is important in good customer service.

The room was very clean (which is saying a lot because I am a critic of cleanliness)and spacious and housekeeping did a wonderful job cleaning around our crazy schedule. My only recommendations as far as the layout of the hotel is that ice be more accessible on each floor. However I did notice that Anthony at the bar was quick to give out a big bag of ice to someone so she didn't have to go to the second floor. The bathroom is extremely small. I could hardly close the door when I was in there. The sink is on the outside so that is good but they really need to work on more space in the bathroom, especially for families who need to help their children and can't fit.

My kids loved the pool and it is very clean. Also, the staff was quick to give recommendations on where to eat or where to go with the kids.

Overall, I think good customer service is hard to come by in this day and age and I have never been one to review a hotel on TripAdvisor because they would have been terrible .... until now. I highly recommend the Hyatt Mystic for your next stay. You won't be disappointed.

Forgot to mention free coffee around the clock and free fruit and popcorn in the bar/coffee area.

Room Tip: Room 133 is right next to the pool entrance so if your kids swim it is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
911 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
753 reviews
0.3 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
2.3 km away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mystic

Address: 224 Greenmanville Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1945 (Formerly AmeriSuites Mystic)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#2 Family Hotel in Mystic
#2 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: RM470 - RM1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mystic 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart hotel on the Connecticut coast with complimentary breakfast A stroll around Mystic You can walk to historic Mystic Seaport and Mystic Aquarium in 10 minutes from this contemporary hotel on the Connecticut shoreline. It's just off the I-95 highway and is a 5-minute taxi ride from Mystic's Amtrak train station, making it ideal for quick break. Beaches and casinos Sun-lovers can drive 20 minutes to the beaches of Misquamicut, which are packed with families and swimmers in summer. Afterwards, you may wish to try your luck at either Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos, both a 25-minute drive inland. Complimentary Breakfast You can fuel up with a free breakfast featuring popular hot breakfast sandwiches and fresh fruit, order a meal from the 24-hour Gallery Menu, or grab a Starbucks coffee and cupcake to go. An outdoor heated pool offers a refreshing summertime dip, and there's a 24-hour fitness center, too. Free WiFi, sofabeds Hyatt Place Mystic has 79 smart, spacious rooms with comfy sofabeds where you can relax and browse the Web with free WiFi. 24-Hour business center with remote printing capabilites also. Mini-fridges and coffeemakers are handy perks, and premium beds along with signature bath needs add a touch of luxury. Shuttle Services Complimentary shuttle services available within 5 miles of the hotel, making getting around a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hyatt Place
Hyatt Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing