We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ultra thin crust pizza”

BAR - Pizza, Beer and Nightclub
Ranked #14 of 618 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Bar is among the best pizza in a town known to be home to the best pizza in the world. It also does a terrific salad. The brew pub beer is local, fresh and tasty, but not world class.

Date of visit: February 2015
Thank ScovilleSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2015

Very good New Haven style pizza - the mashed potato and bacon comes highly recommended, although I enjoyed a more traditional pie. Good microbrews. Very "live" acoustics - definitely not a place for a quiet romantic evening.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank therese l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

I went here with my friends, and it is really a great place to hang out. I ordered pizza with green pepper and mushroom and it tasted great. The beer also surprisingly tasted great... I wouldnt recommend this place for a date though, coz it's a little bit crowded and you'll have to speak a lil bit louder than the usual...

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Batosai777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

I disagree that this is the best pizza in New Haven, but we all have our favorite - and BAR is indeed very good. The mashed potato pizza is indeed unique, but whatever you get is likely to be good, and it's always impressive when they bring out those huge mouthwatering trays with your pizza there waiting to be devoured. Make sure that you get the BAR salad as well - not to be missed!

This is a great place to go with a large group - there are two sides of the restaurant, one with smaller tables and one with longer tables. We went with a group of 10 friends and had no issue. For an extremely large group (20+), there is a large room with two long tables that can be reserved. We saw a birthday party when we were there.

One note: BAR does turn into a nightclub on some evenings so be aware of that if you are going for a late dinner. The crowd and atmosphere can change pretty quickly and the side nearest the club area can get very loud.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skm71109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I went here on a recommendation from a Yale alum, and was told you have to get the mashed potato pizza. Seriously! The bartender suggested it with bacon and it was very unusual and very good as well.

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank Moosenearchicago0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BAR - Pizza, Beer and Nightclub also viewed

 

Been to BAR - Pizza, Beer and Nightclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing