We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
157
51
7
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
157
51
7
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house carriage house breakfast was delicious new england minute drive wonderful weekend common areas beds were very comfortable yogurt connecticut berkshire winery canaan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2021

A little while after arriving at the Blackberry River Inn you realize that you may have fallen through a rabbit hole back to kinder, gentler times. Prepare yourself to be un-rushed, un-hassled, and un-disturbed. Lucas, the gentleman inn-keeper is a sophisticated European with the humble bearing of one who puts himself at the service of his guests. The lobby is graciously decorated; coffee, tea and treats are set out for the guests while sunlight and quiet jazz drift through the rooms. The bedrooms are a bit small, but spotlessly clean, and each building seems to have its own living room to relax in. We enjoyed the picnic table and a refreshing dip in the outdoor pool. Breakfast is served at your convenience (8 - 10 AM) in a sun-drenched parlor with white tablecloths, cutlery and a wonderful menu with Lucas hovering nearby to be sure that you have everything you desire. Menu consists of a choice of omelettes and breads, fruit salad and yogurt, also breakfast meats. Trust me there are no plastic-wrapped pastries, pour your own waffles or stale hard-boiled eggs buffet in sight. The only problem is leaving and getting kicked back into the rushed and hurried real world. Everyone should have a little Lucas in their life.

Room tip: Rte 44 can be busy with trucks rushing by, but it does not seem to be a problem.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

It’s like a throw back in time.Very clean and comfortable, welcoming and friendly.If you are looking for a special place, it is the one.Very delicious made-to-order breakfast.Highly recommended for staying!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kravchenko444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

This is not a modern Inn, it is an Inn built in 1763! If your looking for a cookie cutter modern Marriot or Holiday Inn, then this is not for you.

This is for us though!! Beautiful grounds with a wonderful refreshing swimming pool. We stayed in the carriage house. The room was small but not too small. The bed was comfortable and the room a little rustic but very, very clean!

The grounds are maintained by Lucas and he does a great job. We met Lucas on our visit and enjoyed his conversation. The second day while enjoying an amazing breakfast I asked him who was the chef, and he said it was himself. WOW, what a great employee because the food was as wonderful as the grounds were beautiful.

If I were to advise the inn of anything, it would be to retire the bed spreads and top the beds instead with a clean white flat top sheet as all the best Inns and hotels do now. Because this too, is a five star gem. And we have been to many~~Mary Ann

PS: We will be back in the fall and will choose the main in with a fireplace room.

Room tip: Get a room with a deck and mountain view if available
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winterlassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

We had the pleasure of spending two nights at the Blackberry River Inn, and it was absolutely delightful. Lucas upgraded us from the Carriage House to the Main House, as there was a vacancy. Our room & bathroom were spotless; service was excellent, and breakfast was superb. The Inn is set back from the road, and there is little to no traffic at night. All was calm and peaceful, and the mattress was very comfortable, thus we had a very restful stay. We look forward to returning!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marrixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

What a throw back in time. Very clean. Just realize how much history is in the rooms and grounds, older than the US of A. Pet friendly also. Full breakfast, delicious. Great Value! Large pool to cool off and unwind.

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank Voyage704473
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews