We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Italia in Old Greenwich”

Lugano Wine Bar & Salumeria
Restaurant details
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Lugano is a very pleasant lunch/dinner choice in the Greenwich area. The salumi are excellent as are the other dishes we tried - salads and desserts. The menu is exhaustive so you are sure to find something that whets your appetite. Plus the staff is professional and welcoming.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tom17cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2018

Visited on a Saturday evening. The Preakness was on TV in the bar and it did get a bit noisy at times. Service was very good . Our two tapas dinners were excellent. I had a smallish but good Manhattan. Would definitely go there again.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Scrmnjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Generally, a wine bar has many options for wine. Lugano's had limited options in each varietal offered.

Looking at the menu, it felt like this was a restaurant that didn't know what it wanted to be. There are selections of cured meats and cheeses, a raw bar, 13 salads. Next on the menu were tapas, followed by pastas, and then secondi. The tapas had a bit of a Mediterranean feel but ranged from bruschetta to sliders to lobster tails to mac 'n cheese.

We tried 2 of the pastas. The taste was OK but again it felt like they were trying to combine a lot of flavors that didn't mesh together well. At the waiter's suggestion we had the short rib ravioli. The short rib filling had no texture to it and the marsala sauce overwhelmed the flavor of the pasta. We also had the cavatelli with sausage and broccoli rabe. The broccoli rabe was so bitter we scraped it off the dish and enjoyed the rest of the pasta. We also sampled the spicy meatballs. This was the best dish of the evening though it did not live up to its promise of a hot sauce.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

I was part of a party of 5 last night. Imagine our surprise when our bill arrived with a 20% gratuity added to our bill! We were not warned that there would be a large gratuity added nor was this pointed out to us. Let me be clear....this was not a service charge, this was a non-taxable gratuity amount. We called the manager over and this amount was removed from our bill VERY quickly. Few words of explanation were exchanged. He simply removed the charge. I have found out that this has happened to another friend when she was there with a small party of 4. I will not return to Lugano and should you chose to eat there be certain to review your bill very carefully! A sleazy and underhanded practice at best.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Imagine holding a private party for 13 people to celebrate Christmas in late December. Arrive to our private room & it was quite chilly despite a fireplace. We ask the waitress to adjust and she kindly (about 5 times) adjusts the thermostat. Clearly not working. So finally the manager brings in a space heater. An hour into the meal everyone has coats on and there is actually cold air coming out. How do we leave? They keep telling us it will improve. After an expensive (and not as good as usual) meal we skip dessert and coffee to go home and warm up. Their response after several post dinner complaints? A small gift certificate....too bad that doesn't cut it. They lied to us all night. Done with this restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Margoflah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lugano Wine Bar & Salumeria also viewed

 

Been to Lugano Wine Bar & Salumeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing