We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
32
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2015

My Wife and I stayed with David & Mary for 2 nights while touring the area. Check-in was very easy. David showed us the home, our room, bathroom and how everything worked. There was a refrigerator stocked with beverages and a Keurig Coffee Maker for on-demand coffee. The room was very large with a large private dressing room and bathroom. The shower was nice and warm. The bed was large and very soft. The room also had a flatscreen TV with AT&T Uverse. 1 morning pancakes and sausage were served with their own home made syrup. Absolutely amazing. The 2nd morning Eggs and bacon were served along with fresh fruit. David and Mary are very nice hosts and it's quite apparent they have been running the B&B for years. Our stay at Captain Josiah Cowles Places was very relaxing and gave us the B&B experience we love. Thank you David & Mary... The Brandt's had a wonderful stay with you.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Av8ir2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

What a lovely place! An old historic house yet so well kept. Clean, warm, cozy, it just invites you in to relax and enjoy the beautiful views of fall foliage all around. The room was big, spacious and very clean. The bed and sheets were definitely not what you usually find - so soft and comfortable, we had the best sleep!! Big screen TV with hundreds of cable channels. The bathroom was very clean and pretty. We were touched by Mary and David's warmth, kindness and hospitality. Breakfast was wonderful, with fresh fruit, juices, delicious farm eggs, light fluffy pancakes and homemade syrup! We even brought home a jar, so yummy! The location was exactly what we wanted - a small charming CT town yet very conveniently located. Drugstores, markets and great dining options are within walking distance. We chose to drive to dinner because it was cold at night, only a 5 min drive. All in all it really was a perfect fall weekend in CT, it felt like we were staying with old friends. Wonderful, I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: beautiful views
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gisela612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Excellent Bed & Breakfast! My husband and I enjoyed a lovely overnight stay. Very comfortable, impeccably clean and cozy room. Our hosts were delightful, the pancake breakfast was delicious! Very cool to stay in a 1730 farmhouse! Highly recommended, we would stay there again, no question.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

We come to Connecticut twice a year for family visits. We always stay with Mary & Dave. The b&b is charming, the breakfasts outstanding and our hosts delightful. Dave even makes the maple syrup you have for breakfast from trees on the property.

The restaurants nearby have really stepped up their game too which makes the stay even better.

Very convenient just off I-84 but your never know it. About 35 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Can't say enough about how comfortable our 3-night stay was. Mary and David are warm, knowledgeable hosts - and great cooks! The historic homestead has been lovingly maintained, with the right combination of original flavor and modern amenities. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews