We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get more than you pay for.”
Review of The Iron Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Iron Horse Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Simsbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We recently stayed in this hotel because we were on a quick trip and it was significantly cheaper than surrounding accommodations. This is often a red flag, but after reading other reviews we decided to try it. I'm glad we did. The room was 1 king bed with a balcony, a/c unit, microwave, and fridge. The room was very large and allowed plenty of room for my toddler to play. As other reviews have stated, it is an old building and could use some updating. The room was clean and functional. I would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Cavaliere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2017

So, this is an older hotel with some modest modern up-grades. The bed, TV, Wifi were all modern and first rate. The room was very clean and large. The best hotel coffee in a long time (that is, of course, a very low bar). No breakfast and the hall smelled kind of odd.

I like it there, and am likely to return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank irhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

We were visiting family and wanted a place to sleep nearby. Our room was clean and roomy. The bed was firm enough for us and we appreciated having good reading lamps at the head of the bed and a tiny kitchenette for our own breakfasts and snacks. The balcony was on a noisy road but we do like the ability to open up for fresh air. This was a basic room for a basic price. We'll most likely return. We do like Simsbury!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Convenient location in Simsbury. Not the most modern hotel so don't expect a Marriott experience but for the price relative to other nearby hotels, it was worth it. Could use some upgrades and modernization though. Really nice people running the hotel.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank t2thebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Just the place for a nights sleep. The room was large and very clean. I unplugged the slightly noisy refrigerator which I did not need. I was please that I did not have to move furniture to get a plug for my computer as I did in the last budget hotel I used. TV channels were limited but I did not care. A list of he channels would have been helpful. The coffee in the AM was good. Stairs at the entrance might be a problem for people with movement limitations.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BittenNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simsbury
9.0 km away
Avon Old Farms Hotel
3.8 km away
The Simsbury Inn
The Simsbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Simsbury
198 reviews
8.4 km away
Residence Inn Hartford Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
11.1 km away
HYATT house Hartford North/Windsor
11.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford/Windsor Locks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Iron Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Iron Horse Inn

Address: 969 Hopmeadow St, Rt. 10, Simsbury, CT 06070-1824
Region: United States > Connecticut > Simsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Simsbury
Price Range: RM342 - RM410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Iron Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
27 Units, With Outdoor Pool Free Wireless Internet Available In All Rooms, 2 Bedroom Apartment Available For Weekly Rent, Special Rates For Long Term Stay, Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Iron Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Iron Horse Hotel Simsbury
Iron Horse Inn Simsbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing