We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence Maldives
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$600
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Outrigger Konotta Maldives Resort(South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll)
US$629
US$476
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amari Havodda Maldives(South Huvadhoo (Gaafu Dhaalu) Atoll)
US$532
US$428
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AYADA Maldives(Maguhdhuvaa)
US$499
US$468
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Island Guest(Maamendhoo)
US$34
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Pearl Beach View(North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveller rating
768
113
35
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
768
113
35
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach bardining roomwater pool villadomestic flightour honeymoonfishmale airportdive centresunset viewthe fine dining restauranthalf boardwater activitiesspecial thanksbuggy servicespeed boat rideamazing holidayhoney moon
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 929 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We have visited over 10 islands and The Residence is certainly one of the best. Very attentive staff who are keen to provide personal touches to make your visit special for you. The restaurant has different themes everyday which are more towards the Asian tastes than European but the choice is excellent and the chef is happy to prepare anything you may care to ask for. We asked for a Thai curry and it was really wonderful.
Diving was great the team again couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. Michelle hope you enjoyed your trip to the UK over Christmas. We stayed in a beach pool villa with very attentive house boys who couldn't be enough they always seemed to be around! Showed me how to fly a kite!.
The water villa looked lovely but we like to wonder into the sea from the beach and have a dip in the pool when the sun gets a little too much. We woke up to wonderful sunrises and the sea and sand right outside the window. We met some lovely people and would recommend a stay here for couple of all ages. There was a real mix of different ages and cultures which we liked. A very friendly island where service is obviously very important to the whole team

Stayed: December 2015
5  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear debra020,

It is a delight to read that we rank as one of the best resorts you’ve visited in the Maldives. We thank you for bestowing upon us such a high compliment especially with your wide travels to the destination.

We take pride in providing heartfelt services with attention to detail to all our guests in making their holiday a special getaway – from the option of ordering dishes out of the menu to little touches and interactions such as showing how to fly a kite.

We once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Residence Maldives.


Warm Regards,

M. Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Fantastic and memorable honeymoon! Staff were friendly and warm, and looked after us very well, especially Lek and Erwan from The Dining Room, Ashraf and team from the spa, Kay and Sweety from the front desk. House reef was teeming with marine life. We saw sharks, sea turtles, rays and a variety of marine fish. Waters were clear, villas were spacious and the view from the water villa was gorgeous. Only thing to note is that the resort is located quite far from Male, and therefore commuting was quite lengthy. Also, the sun/UV rays are extremely strong in Maldives, compared to other countries! Overall, we felt relaxed and enjoyed ourselves very much and was sad to leave the resort when our stay was up

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank silverdust05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear silverdust05,

Thank you for sharing with us your memorable honeymoon you had here at The Residence Maldives.

With our resort located in the south of the Maldivian archipelago in one of the deepest atolls in the world, the marine life here is very much untouched by mankind. We hope that the underwater adventures you had made up for the distance travelled from Male.

The team, in particular Chef Lek, Chef Erwan, Ashraf, Kay and Sweety, is pleased to hear that their warm services had contributed to making your stay a fantastic and relaxing one.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Residence Maldives in the near future!


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

The Residence Maldives was welcoming from the minute we landed , all our needs were taken care of , as we had a tiring day and 3 flights before we reached ... but you forget all once u reach there . The water villas were amazing , the service and the warm staff are reasons I will surely go again .

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank ninadumasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear ninadumasia,

Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives and thank you for sharing with us about your stay.

We are glad to hear that you felt the Residence hospitality from the moment you arrived and throughout your stay with the warmth, friendliness of the team which is the hallmark of our service.

My team and I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back.


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

It has been another excellent getaway in the paradise far away from the rest of the world. Friendly stuff, stunning views, excellent diving sites and phenomenal quality of facilities (our villa had everything one would wish for). It has been another trip of a life time. I was particularly impressed with how friendly the staff were - they greeted me wherever I went, they shared their stories, they made effort to make a conversation. There are many names I want to thank - satoki & Betty from diving centre who were patient and funny; Adam from room service who was our butler and helped us a lot with queries; sweety and Juliet from front desk; the yoga instructor from the spa; the head shed from restaurant; And everyone from the dining room!! They contributed additionally to my memories for how special this trip is.

There are only few negatives which I think the hotel can improve on - there were times the staff's English was very poor and it made communication quite difficult; there are only one restaurant offering European food; the main dining room food are quite south Asian - I would have liked more choices of food. (However l, as this resort is on a remote island, it might be difficult!)

Overall, I had a phenomenal time and my family and I will come back to Maldives again in 2017!!

Thanks residence for taking care of us. You were amazing!

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank AndyYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear AndyYu,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share with the TripAdvisor community about your stay experience at The Residence Maldives.

We are delighted to hear how much you had enjoyed your stay with your family on our sunny island paradise and that almost every aspect of your stay was a pleasurable experience – from the villa, resort facilities and amenities as well as the dive sites around the resort. I have shared your compliments with Satoki, Betty, Adam, Sweety, Juliet, our yoga instructor and Chef Amour who are thrilled to have enriched your stay with us.

We also appreciate your feedback on the communication effectiveness of our staff. We have identified those who are weak in the English language for regular lessons as part of our training programme.

Thank you once again for writing us a review on TripAdvisor. On behalf of all of us, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to The Residence Maldives or perhaps to our second island that is scheduled to open in 2017.


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

not ideal for families, but good for honeymooners
food was not great and certainly didn't justify the prices. with 2 restaurants that isn't enough
service was good
length of stay cant exceed 7-8 days
all sea sports were too expensive

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dandavidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundaram M, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2016

Dear dandavidu,

Warm greetings from The Residence Maldives and we would like to thank you for the feedback.

Here at the resort, we do our best in catering for guests travelling with family as well as for honeymooners. In terms of dining options, in addition to the main restaurant and speciality restaurant, we do offer beach barbecue, in-villa dining, theme dinners etc.

We thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your stay.


Warm regards,

M Sundaram
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews