We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Lodge(Usa River)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Makaseni lodge(Usa River)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Mzunguu Safari Lodge(Usa River)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$339
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
346
191
38
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
191
38
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskilimanjaro airportpizza ovensmall riverfarm houseone nightlong flightrose petalsoutdoor showeropen kitchenthomson safarisvervet monkeysgreat introductionfirst nightjet lagarusha national parkpeaceful settingmosquito netting
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012

The Rivertrees provided just what we were looking for, a nice place to rest up from our long flights from the USA. It is about a 45 minute drive from Kilimanjaro Int'l to the lodge. We were greeted with a cold towel and watermelon juice before being escorted to our room. After a good night's sleep we enjoyed an excellent buffet style breakfast outdoors. The breakfast included cereal, granola, yogurt, muffins, breads, fruit, juice and excellent coffee as well as a cooked to order omelette. We arranged for a guide, Andrew, to take us to a nearby village to experience first hand some of the local culture of Tanzania. We enjoyed our walk with Andrew and were invited to visit the farm and meet the family of one of the local villagers. Our tour was very informative. My wife highly recommends the massage available at Rivertrees. We also recommend the stone fire pizza cooked outdoors in the brick oven. The remainder of the day was spent relaxing at the pool, walking the grounds and river area.
Rivertrees proved to be a great place to rest up before beginning our 11 day safari.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We slept here for a night after a long flight into JRO. The rooms are clean with high ceilings. You are basically on the river so don't be surprised if there are some creepy crawlies in your room at night.

The reception and kitchen staff service deserve a special mention as we arrived a little later than expected but they kept the kitchen open for us about an hour past closing in to make sure we had a proper dinner after our long travel from Los Angeles.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MickyDionisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We spent a short night here after a very long flight. We got there after dark and left in the morning before it got light so I can't speak much about the grounds. But, our cottage room was charming. It had a double bed with mosquito netting covering it from ceiling to floor. We had fresh white roses on the stand and so many pillows on the bed we had to put four on the nightstand to make room for us.
The bathroom had a slate or granite tub large enough to hold a party in!
It was good enough for Prince Charles and Camilla on their last trip here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pachita61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This inn was relatively close to the Kilimanjaro Airport and convenient for the first night after our long flight . We had a separate cottage on the attractive grounds with a four-poster bed covered with mosquito netting. The bathroom had a shower stall and insufficient storage for toiletries, but otherwise functional. There was a separate room with a stone bathtub. The buffet breakfast was served outdoors and staff prepared made-to-order omelettes and the coffee was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights at he beinning of our trip in this small hotel. Kind reception and welcome drinks. We had 3 rooms in de main house and 2 rooms in the river lodge. The rooms in the main house varied a little in size but were okay. The bathrooms need a little renovation as the shower area was not that looking that clean. I don't know what is the problem with some of the guests regarding breakfast. Breakfast is great and is cooked to order with a great smile! Okay: the orange juice is not fresh, but that is a problem everywhere. The pizza's were great. Nice pool, beautiful gardens and friendly staff supervised by Hannah, the kind lady from Sweden.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivertreesGM, General Manager at Rivertrees Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for your kind review! We were very happy to host you and look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

We fully agree that the Main House is a great place to stay, but the bathrooms needed some renovation. Therefore, please check out our Facebook page to see what happened yesterday to the rooms you know so well! Each room in the Main House is currently receiving a complete bathroom renovation, all floors retiled, and ceiling boards changed. Stay tuned to our FB page and watch the renovation unfold!

Best regards,
The Rivertrees Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews