We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$260
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mzunguu Safari Lodge(Usa River)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Makaseni lodge(Usa River)
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Gateway Lodge(Usa River)
US$38
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
US$827
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
361
195
38
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
195
38
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskilimanjaro airportpizza ovensmall riverone nightfarm houselong flightopen kitchenrose petalsthomson safarisoutdoor showergreat introductionarusha national parkjet lagthe cottagescolobus monkeysfirst nightpeaceful setting
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Three friends and I stayed in the River House and it was amazing. The beds had mosquito nets and were extremely comfortable. There was also free wine, fruit and a cake for us in the kitchen area. The best part though was the outdoor deck which overlooked the river - the perfect place to kick back with a drink after a day of touring.

There are no doors to the bathroom in each of the rooms, only 3/4 walls so you can't see the other person but you can hear them. This wasn't really an issue, the other person could wait in the lounge area for a little bit or put their iPod on. No biggie. If you can't bear to hear your traveling companion pee then you probably shouldn't be traveling in Africa together.

Room Tip: If you have 4+ people the River House is the way to go.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purethrill6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Our first stop on our honeymoon for 2 nights. The bedrooms are beautiful and ours was strewn with rose petals and vases of flowers. Gorgeous comfy huge wooden beds with mozzie nets (take your Deet for the evenings), our cottage (Fiscal Shrike) was right on the gurgling river which was great.The pool is lovely and the pizzas from the wood fired oven were delicious as was the rest of the food. If we were staying longer I'd like a little more choice on the menu as a non-meat eater though. We had a rest day and chose to do a canoe trip on Lake Duluti with local guide Chris which was a fun way to see the bird life, get some exercise and gently kick off the holiday with someone who knew loads about the wildlie in the area. It's a very peaceful place to gather yourself ready for a safari experience, and we enjoyed seeing blue monkeys in the evenings as we sat by the fire for dinner!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

The Rivertrees provided just what we were looking for, a nice place to rest up from our long flights from the USA. It is about a 45 minute drive from Kilimanjaro Int'l to the lodge. We were greeted with a cold towel and watermelon juice before being escorted to our room. After a good night's sleep we enjoyed an excellent buffet style breakfast outdoors. The breakfast included cereal, granola, yogurt, muffins, breads, fruit, juice and excellent coffee as well as a cooked to order omelette. We arranged for a guide, Andrew, to take us to a nearby village to experience first hand some of the local culture of Tanzania. We enjoyed our walk with Andrew and were invited to visit the farm and meet the family of one of the local villagers. Our tour was very informative. My wife highly recommends the massage available at Rivertrees. We also recommend the stone fire pizza cooked outdoors in the brick oven. The remainder of the day was spent relaxing at the pool, walking the grounds and river area.
Rivertrees proved to be a great place to rest up before beginning our 11 day safari.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We slept here for a night after a long flight into JRO. The rooms are clean with high ceilings. You are basically on the river so don't be surprised if there are some creepy crawlies in your room at night.

The reception and kitchen staff service deserve a special mention as we arrived a little later than expected but they kept the kitchen open for us about an hour past closing in to make sure we had a proper dinner after our long travel from Los Angeles.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MickyDionisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We spent a short night here after a very long flight. We got there after dark and left in the morning before it got light so I can't speak much about the grounds. But, our cottage room was charming. It had a double bed with mosquito netting covering it from ceiling to floor. We had fresh white roses on the stand and so many pillows on the bed we had to put four on the nightstand to make room for us.
The bathroom had a slate or granite tub large enough to hold a party in!
It was good enough for Prince Charles and Camilla on their last trip here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pachita61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews