We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
73
32
13
4
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
73
32
13
4
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect beach breakfast room bethany keys proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2020

I can see why the reviews are mixed for this motel.

Pros:
Good location
Friendly staff
Breakfast included
Beautiful gardens
Dog friendly
Easy parking

Cons:
Does not allow cats, but website just says pet friendly for a fee
Dogs cant sleep on the beds (we had a dog and didn't know that restriction until we arrived)
Our room had visible water damage and wallpaper had moisture issues in the bathroom
Most times, there was no hot water
Old keys for doors that you had to remember if your room had been locked
Accidentally walked into someone room thinking it was was the breakfast room entrance and there door was unlocked
Poor lighting a night
Bathroom was tiny and very basic
Small dehumidifier that was loud and filled up after just a few hours

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank traveljunkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Hello,
Thank you for your detailed review. We would like to first apologize for the misunderstanding about the specifications of being pet-friendly and guidelines, we will make the appropriate adjustments on being more clear on this matter in the future. Also, apologies for any inconvenience on the room, we are not aware of any issues of water damage or severe moisture, we hoped that we could have better complimented your stay had we known about the issues. We take all feedback seriously and always in consideration for our future guests. We appreciate your pros list as we continue to work hard to best care for our guests during their stay. We are grateful for your positive feedback on our gardens, staff, location and breakfast! We truly hope you come back and try us again in the future as we are always putting forth to making Meris Gardens better and better each year as we execute each suggestion & comment from our guests. Thank you for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to explore Bethany Beach and also play tennis seven at sea colony tennis center. We found this B&B located across the street from sea colony. So close that we could walk to our tennis clinic. I'm so close to the downtown sowe could stroll and enjoy the stores and restaurants. Sue the manager and Mike, her support person were informative and friendly. When I told Sue that my brother and his wife were going to visit us to see the B&B before we went out to dinner, she offered us glasses and plates to use for our pre-dinner drinks. Breakfast was satisfying and plentiful. Our room was immaculately clean. The only reason for a four star review instead of five was that the air conditioner, dehumidifier and bathroom fan were very loud.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rosemaryf215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2019

Hello Rosemary,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are grateful that you had a great experience recently at our B&B. We appreciate your wonderful compliments to our staff as we try to exceed all of our guests' expectations! We are very glad that our location was convenient for you and your husband. We apologize about the noise in the room, next time we'll try to place you in a more quieter space, and we will consider that in the future as part of our winter renovations. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2019

We did book late as we were to meet friends there so I am hoping this was the last room available in this 1950's motel tucked away in a residential community. Maybe (and I do mean maybe) it was updated in the 60's but only certain parts. Our room was tiny, hard as a rock mattress and sheets were NOT changed and laundered daily and the guess is if you didn't put the towels in the hamper they would not be changed. Smelled musty and OLD window air in bathroom so it was freezing and room was very warm. Old falling apart furniture but it did have a tiny microwave and fridge albeit on its last legs. OMG the tub. I showered (literally) at the beach shower as even bath fitter could not fix that tub. In dire need of renovation for the cost. The light breakfast is just that LIGHT. Small bowls of fruit and one day 2 bananas and the next day we got there at 8 on the tick and there were 3. We think the same hard boiled eggs were sitting there for the duration. The coffee cake the first day was very good but the pancakes - well there is a knack to making them so thin I guess. The owners are quite personable and that made the stay bearable.. All in all if we ever go back to Bethany Beach (doubtful) we will stay at an Air B&B or one of the boardwalk hotels.

Room tip: One that was remodeled fully in at least the 70's..
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank easytoplease67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2019

Thank you for your response, and we apologize that you were not pleased with your stay. I believe you are referring to Room 3, and we do apologize about the tub. It seems as though the contractors and our schedules were not matching to take care of this matter, however it is first on our list for winter renovations. Other than our acknowledgment about the tub, We have never gotten prior complaints about Room 3 before, and normally we receive compliments about the room, and the photos on our website of the room is how it looks. We do not claim to be modern or luxurious as stated in our history page on our website, the structure of our B&B is historical as it was built in the late 60's, however we continue to update it it every winter as it is a working progress to better modernize and suit our guest's needs. We apologize for the cleanliness and breakfast, we usually receive daily compliments about both, so we are sorry that they could not meet your expectations at this time. The bananas are usually bought in a bunch of 5, some may have turned by the time we were ready to serve, so we did not place those on the table for our guests to eat. We guarantee that our eggs are boiled fresh everyday, we never serve the same eggs daily. We appreciate your compliments about our customer service, and we hoped that we could have better complimented your stay had we known about the issues. We take all feedback seriously and always in consideration for our future guests. Thank you for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2019

I had a reservation for this hotel and had to cancel 6 days in advance because my daughter was in an accident. I called the hotel after having been charged $293.00 (for a 2 day reservation) for cancelling. They were unwilling to make the exception and were rude in doing so. They are within their legal right to do so, but morally I wish that they had done the right thing. If their customer service is in line with this philosophy, I would look elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jferre5855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Hello Ms. Ferreira,

We are sorry to hear from you that your daughter's car was totaled. Unfortunately, as explained earlier over the phone, the $293.76 was the deposit for your reservation, and we have a 30 day cancellation policy and your reservation is within the 30 day cancellation guideline as you were supposed to check in on July 6, which is 4 days from your cancellation date. However, we have refunded $146.88 (half of the amount of the deposit) to best accommodate you at this time. We are truly sorry about this unfortunate time and we truly hope that all goes well for your daughter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2019 via mobile

My husband and I and our yellow lab Hank stayed at Meris this past weekend. It is a great place to stay. The owners are very welcoming and gave great tips on places to take Hank swimming. We will be back!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank dmm1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSev, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Thank you for your excellent review! We are grateful that you had a great experience at our recently upgraded B&B. We appreciate your compliments to our staff, and we are so glad that you were able to find local places to welcome Hank as well! Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you three, again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews