We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We all agreed it was a great house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JanPP
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“We all agreed it was a great house”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We've just had a long weekend at Bankfield House with a group of friends, and all had a great time. The house itself is very impressive and traditionally decorated. Large spacious rooms, fantastic conservatory for dining, great outdoor space for the kids to run about in, bedrooms with fabulous views, well stocked kitchen with all the appliances and equipment required and more besides, useful additions like washing machine and BBQ. We just turned up with our friends and a pile of food and everything was ready for us to start the weekend.
The most commonly heard phrase heard during and since the weekend was "This is a great house". It did not disappoint.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 May 2018
Hi Janine,
Thank you so much for such a great review and taking the time to post it.
So glad you enjoyed your time at Bankfield House,which of course we think is pretty special too ! You all seemed to be having a great time and of course the weather was kind to you.....the fire pit was a great idea !
Hope to welcome you all back again.
Best regards
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgina...
2 reviews
“Bankfield house weekend break.”
Reviewed 2 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was our third visit and as always we had a lovely time. The size of the house and gardens are great and the views fantastic.
The house seems a bit tired in places and could do with a bit of an upgrade, in the kitchen, the lounges and a couple of the mattresses. Even so hope to stay again next spring.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
13 May 2018
Hi Georgina,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We are in the process of replacing all the mattresses.....4 to go !!!!
Hope to see you all again
regards
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliegX36...
Cromer, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Fantastic stay at this beautiful house, everything you could possibly need is there; the perfect place for our family celebration. There was plenty of space for our 8 adults, 6 children and 2 dogs; including both private and communal space. Amazing views and great outdoor space, can't praise it highly enough.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Hi Julie,
Thank you for taking time out to post a review and so glad you all had a great time......you are more than welcome to come back any time !!!!

Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucyreid
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant house! ”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is our second time staying, and the house and as perfect for three families. Lots of toys for kids and beautiful setting.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Hi Lucy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
We always like to get feedback from our guests......hope to see you all again Best regards,Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigs1993
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Comfortable spacious accommodation”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The house is big and its too hard to find, there is a sign outside the gate. The postcode doesn't take you to the right place, the house is a little bit further down the road. The house has beautiful views and fairly big garden to enjoy. There is a fair amount of space for parking cars. The conservatory was a great room for dinning and can fit a large amount of people. The lounge is comfortable though I felt the tv was too small for the size of the room. The reading room/game room wasn't really much of a game room, there weren't very many games and lots of mixed up and with missing pieces. The music room doesn't really feel with a music room at all, there no speakers in there to play music, its just another room with a TV. The kitchen is the right size for the house, its was great. Fitness room, I have no idea where this room is, there was no room in the house with a cross trainer, rowing machine and any of that. Wifi is provided and works fairly well.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Hi Sarah,
We are guessing you were part of Terasa's group ?
There are very detailed directions on the Holiday Letting website that will bring you direct to our door as satnav is not always 100% reliable.
Your comments regarding games have been noted ....sadly the games get decimated over time by people not putting everything back in the boxes.....we will take all the games out and replace.
We do not describe the Snug as a music room and we do not have a fitness room ....are you looking at some old website ? All up to date information is on the Holiday Lettings website.Thank you for your comments and glad you had a good time

Regards,

Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.