We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A getaway”
Review of Cabbage Key Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bokeelia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabbage Key Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bokeelia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A getaway”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We traveled to Cabbage Key by our own boat from Tampa. A slice of old Florida and a wonderful way to spend a weekend. The hospitality that Mr Wells and his staff show their guests is as good as their little island. They make you feel right at home. We stayed in the Tarpon Lodge that was comfortable, we ate in the Inn one night and cooked at the lodge.

A great weekend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajsaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We are happy that you had a great weekend! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    76
    33
    21
    21
See reviews for
91
126
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My wife and I and some friends stayed 2 nights at the Cabbage Key Historic Inn (rooms in the same building as the restaurant) in March 2012. We tried to reserve a cottage, but they were booked-up, so we settled for a couple of rooms in the lodge.

We had several meals in the restaurant (which I give 4 stars). Their specialty is definitely seafood. To set expectations: If you arrive during the lunch hour in peak season, expect to share the restaurant with mobs of fellow tourists who've disembarked from a couple of large ferries that run daily out to the island. The water is not free: It's available only in bottles for $2.50 each. One bad experience: My wife bought a cup of coffee, which was served in a cup with bright pink lipstick stains on the rim. The replacement cup had dried food on the rim. So she finally just asked for a styrofoam cup.

Regarding the rooms (which I give 3 stars): They were clean, spacious, and tastefully decorated. Unfortunately in rooms 5 and 6 we had no control over the temperature (no thermostat in the room). During the day the room temp was just fine for us, but we like to sleep cooler at night. Also, our room (#6) faced onto the restaurant's outdoor patio on 2 sides, which was loud during lunch and problematic the second night when a large family group staying at one of the cottages, decided to party on the patio right outside our windows. Our friends in room 5 had a private screened porch which was very nice; but they mentioned they could clearly hear the kitchen noise. Both rooms could hear the conversations/laughter/music from the bar/restaurant until 10pm. So if you want a quiet(er) room, be sure to mention that when making your reservations.

If you go, make a point to spend some time sitting on the dock, watching DockMaster Jeff work his magic with directing boats of all sizes into and out of the marina. Also, be aware that Jeff has available for rent a couple of tandem kayaks and a couple of motorized skiffs, for reasonable rates. Jeff can tell you how you can use them to go over to Cayo Costa and enjoy the Gulf-side beach.

(I previously posted this review to a different review website, and then discovered that TripAdvisor is where most of the Cabbage Key reviews are located.)

Room Tip: If you want quiet, avoid room 6, which faces on 2 sides onto the restaurant's busy patio. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_L55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of of your stay here at Cabbage Key. We are glad that you and your friends chose Cabbage Key for a getaway! March is a very busy time of year for us....and we do have many visitors for lunch everyday. Because it is season, sometimes we have a "Full House" at night...literally!! We hope that when you come visit us again we can book you and your friends in one of our cottages. They are very spacious and private. They can accommodate anywhere from 2 people Dollhouse Cottage (1 bedroom/1 bath) upto 8 people in our Harborview Cottage (3 bedroom/3 bath). All of the cottages have screened porches, some have kitchens and docks as well! Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Having been to Cabbage Key more that a dozen times to stay, fish, and
hang at the cozy bar, I caution first timers to understand that this is NOT a
resort. I have had the privilege of getting to know the owners and the
staff and it makes it easy for me to fit into the laid back atmosphere. Food is
not gourmet, but the breakfasts and dinners are more than adequate, with
fresh fish and and salads and and functional wine list. The treat is in the people
watching and telling fishing stories at the pub, lined 10 deep in wall singles.
It is certainly wise to avoid the lunch crowds from the tour boats and the
expected slower service. Great fun to "rough" it in the 1950's rooms. I will go back.

Room Tip: The porch room # 4 at the end of the hall is quiet and close to the bar. Harbor View Cabin a very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzkneemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, Guest Relations Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
On behalf of the staff and management at Cabbage Key, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Cabbage Key. There is always an extremely diverse crowd at Cabbage Key - which makes for great conversation and people watching! We do serve a traditional hot breakfast in the morning and fresh fish is available daily! Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We rented a center console boat in Ft Myers Beach and traveled to Dollar Bills on Cabbage Key. It was a wonderful experience for my family! As we pulled in the boat to the docks, there was a very pleasant helpful man there to assist us. As we walked up to Dollar Bills, it looked like we were living in the 1930's. The grounds looked like we went back in time and I loved it!
The food was great, and the wait staff was wonderful. I'd love to stay on Cabbage Key for a few days since it seems like a very relaxing place to unwind! Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db2kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, General Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
We are happy that you and your family had a great day on the water and at Cabbage Key! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you're looking for golf, spa treatments and spa cuisine, this not for you. If you are looking for old Florida, good food, attentive, friendly service and a beautiful setting this is it. I spent four days here, stayed at the Inn and ate in the restaurant. Great people watching between 11 am and 1 pm when tour boats tie up and passengers disembark for lunch. Watch the sun set from atop the water tower or sit on a dock and watch the local wildlife fly by. Decompress in a place that makes you feel like you have been coming here for years.

I'm returning with my family for the Christmas holidays and renting a cottage. I hear they hold a doozie of a New Year's Eve party.

Room Tip: At the Inn most rooms are quiet in the morning and night. Many have screened porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapleAveCrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabbage_key, General Manager at Cabbage Key Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to taking the time to write about your recent stay. Your review is exactly what we strive for our guests - and perspective guests - to enjoy about our island. We cannot wait for you and your family to come back for the Holiday's - you are going to have a great New Year's Eve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokeelia
16.6 km away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
30.2 km away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
25.8 km away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.5 km away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
12.1 km away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
28.1 km away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabbage Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabbage Key Inn

Property: Cabbage Key Inn
Address: Intercoastal Channel Marker 60, Bokeelia, FL 33945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Bokeelia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bokeelia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabbage Key is a 100 acre island located five miles off of Pine Island, FL in the Pine Island Sound. The Inn, built in the 1940's by the family of Mary Roberts Rinehart, now houses our famous Restaurant & Dollar Bill Bar and six guest rooms. The rooms in the Inn are all different with old Florida charm - they do not have TVs, phones, or refrigerators. We have seven cottages on the island, ranging from a 1 bedroom/1 bath cottage to 3 bedroom/3 bath waterfront units. All cottages have refrigerators, televisions (no cable) and coffee makers, some units have full kitchens. Our restaurant is open seven days a week and serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. If you want to relax on a beach...we do not have one here. But, Cayo Costa is a close kayak or boat ride away. This is a great retreat to discover "Old Florida", relax with a book, fish from our docks & watch the boats go by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabbage Key Inn And Restaurant Hotel Bokeelia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing