We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit worn but a great Cocoa/Canaveral option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Mansions Resort
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I owned one of these units when they were almost new so I had a base idea what to expect. We booked through Booking.com because the on-site has a 6 night minimum & we only wanted 4. This can get touchy because management doesn't like the private renters however, Booking.com seemed to be on the good side so after a moments confusion we were treated very well. Stayed in a one bedroom unit with ocean view which was above & diagonally away from my old unit; building in decent shape for its age. Our unit was decorated in tourist trap clearance sale, but as noted in another review that is the taste of the owner. Very tacky. However, we did not come for the room decor; beach & beach access stunning! All appliances worked with the exception of a curious rigging if the dryer vent but we used that once; no big deal. I have been coming to Cocoa on & off since the late 70's, a great place. My reason to buy a unit in the early 90's & rent one this time was the kitchen. Most of the restaurants in the area are terrible & the good places are pricey (Fat Snook is worth every penny) so a full kitchen is a big plus. (Warning: pro cooks should bring tools/knives). Seafood Atlantic is a 5 minute drive as is Publix, so stocking the larder is quick & easy. Much better than spending $100-$200+ a day. All & all a great stay; use a booking company affiliated with the property so you'll get their services & the price difference negligible. We'll be back in the Spring!

Room Tip: Ocean view/front but ask to check the room before accepting to avoid the fixable problems (TV remote...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentDinerEHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thank you "frequesntdinerEHT" for your review of your recent stay at Royal Mansion. I am glad you enjoyed and still come back to visit Cape Canaveral but would just like to clarify one issue. The management does not "dislike private renters" the front desk staff are the on site rental companies employees and have no knowledge of who the other companies may rent to or if they are in fact guest. Amenities provided by the on site rental company are for their guest only, a benefit of renting from on site. Everyone should always be treated with respect and courtesy but guest need to work with whomever they rented from who know the particulars of their stay. The 6 night minimum stay is a City ordinance that applies to all water front property in Cape Canaveral. We look forward to your return visit in the Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Royal Mansions Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

We loved staying at the Royal Mansions in 2013. Their ocean view and access make made our return over the holiday season a no-brainer. We decided to go for one of the six ocean facing two bedroom units, the resort's biggest units and best views. Room 2302 had an amazing view of the ocean from the 3rd and 4th floors as advertised. But what photos don't show were the worn-out, inoperable mechanical functions. A/C blower out (frozen coils and no air movement), had a 5 gallon bucket below it to catch meltwater, we had to empty twice. The kitchen stove was original 1980's equipment, with two inoperable burners and an oven with no thermostat control (broils everything). Worn out TV remote was a minor issue, but obviously been useless for quite some time, a universal remote would be an easy fix. Toilet flapper leaking/running all the time also another "no maintenance" item. Bedding also felt like the original, 28 year old fabrics. We came for the view, and understand they won't be able to move us to one of the other five remaining ocean front views during our one week stay. And pulling an AC blower and replacing a stove can only be done during a planned vacancy. So we chose to suck it up. Telling the management would have only raised stress levels and would have done nothing to remedy the major issues. As one reviewer commented on this same unit three years ago, it's like "room roulette". Some units are amazing, some (at least this one) are not.

Room Tip: East side faces the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

I am sorry "Tom H" had issues with his stay but have to disagree that there was no need to "suck it up". We have an air conditioning company that responds immediately and burners in stoves can be replaced and working right away. We carry extra remotes at the front desk so it would have been an easy fix and maintenance could have fixed the toilet flapper in 5 minutes had we been told of the issues. I apologize as some of these problems should have been found on pre- arrival inspection. Thank you for letting me know we will get it all taken care of and hope you will come back to stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We have been here a couple times and the locations and the views are awesome. Some times you get a great room and other times the room is more like a cheap hotel. Room 2302 has not had any up dates since they open this place. The oven and air conditioner did not work. The kicten was not supplied very well. The curtains were broken. We really like coming here, I wish when I called to make the reservation someone would have let us know about the room differences

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Gerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Thank you for your review Gerri H. I am sorry you had issues, I wish you had told us so we could remedy while you were here. The unit has actually had renovations completed however as the units are individually owned they are decorated in the owners taste. Pictures of the units can be found on the Royal Mansion website before booking. We appreciate your business and hope you will come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

This was our third stay at Royal Mansions. The first two were very enjoyable but this one was quite different. The third floor condo we rented was 85 degrees when we arrived and the musty odor was awful. After adjusting the a/c, the smell dissipated. There was no soap, no toilet paper, no trash bags for the kitchen waste basket. The a/c in the first floor bedroom was so loud we couldn't sleep in there. The sheets on the upstairs bed looked as if they had not been laundered. They were full of blue fuzz and hair. The dishwasher runs but does not dispense the detergent. After running it twice we finally washed the dishes by hand. The couch has stains on it. The deadbolt lock on the front door does not work. I have contacted the owner of the unit twice with no response. The view and proximity to the beach could not be better but the unit itself was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
3  Thank Marlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nlewis86, General Manager at Royal Mansions Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

I am sorry "MarleneN" did not have a good stay at Royal Mansion Resort. It appears from the review the unit was not from the on site rental program where a big advantage is the front desk is always available to handle and resolve any issues they may come up during a stay. I hope you hear from the owner and maybe use us on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

First off, the owners are fantastic!! They are ALWAYS available to answer your questions promptly and offer many suggestions for entertainment, dining, shopping and much more. This condo is amazing, it is extremely clean and very well stocked with everything you could need. The location is awesome, the beach is less crowded and is great for walking, the view from the balcony is the best. You also have a washer and dryer in the unit which is wonderfully convenient. We look forward to returning again soon. Don't hesitate to rent if you are looking for a hassle free experience. Linda B.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindapaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Canaveral
2.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Canaveral
3.1 km away
Best Western Cocoa Beach Hotel & Suites
1.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cape Canaveral - Cocoa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hilton Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
2.0 km away
Residence Inn Cape Canaveral Cocoa Beach
3.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cocoa Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mansions Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansions Resort

Address: 8600 Ridgewood Ave, Cape Canaveral, FL 32920-2025
Region: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Cape Canaveral
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Cape Canaveral
Price Range: RM649 - RM880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Mansions Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Mansions Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mansions Cape Canaveral
Royal Mansions Hotel Cape Canaveral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing