We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“if you stay in cedar key...this is the place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Low-Key Hideaway

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Key
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Low-Key Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cedar Key
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
351 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“if you stay in cedar key...this is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

firstly....clean! secondly, great hosts that are friendly and accommodating and (lastly) it's a quiet, tranquil place with great views on either side. looks kind of funky "old florida" which gives this roadside small motel a lot of its charm. pat and cindy bonish are doing their best to fix the place upa nd the rooms are neat, clean excellent little kitchen, comfortable, a tv that works and a dock out back for fishing or sunset watching. also, hook-ups available for rv's & campers. best of all....the price is right!

Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank r1manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    28
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
226
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NH
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, out of the way place on the Gulf Coast. We found that in Cedar Key, and a great little place to stay. At the Low key Hideaway we had a good sized room with a king size bed, super clean, and very comfortable. Pat and Cindy were great hosts, very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cij53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

This funky place features plenty of room, neat as a pin, and hosts second to none! Sure, its a little long of tooth and old fashioned, but the new owners are working hard every day to make it something special. Be sure to spend a little time in their Tiki Bar and have Pat (or Cindy) tell you a story or two about their travels!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-KRIM-FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

We enjoyed our time at Low-Key Hideaway. Pat and Cindy are great hosts...very friendly and engaging. We stayed one week and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Sunsets are gorgeous! We saw them right from our camper since we were parked right on the waterfront. We were able to bird, ride bikes, tour a state museum, and walk the small town to soak up all the charm. If you are in the area, stop and enjoy a great place.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank judyh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

First I have to be honest, we had an inside scoop on this great place before we arrived on our way to Key West over the Christmas/New Year's holiday. The owners, Pat and Cindy Bonish made a stop at our house almost a year ago along their adventures traveling around the country with their 25' Sunline Travel Trailer. The trip to this place was 150 miles out of our way to Key West but knowing what great people Pat and Cindy are we had to stop in and check the place out.

We arrived in our Travel Trailer the day after Christmas late in the morning and Pat and Cindy met us outside and helped park our trailer in one of the 5 spots they have available for RV's (water, sewer and electric available). They took time out of the remainder of their day to show us what incredible hosts they are as we sat outside having a few drinks and then onto the deck to use the grill for some great food and more stories well into the night. Unfortunetly we only had time for one night at this spot and had to depart early the next morning.

Though we did not stay in one of the 5 rooms, I can tell you we did get a first hand look and I would highly recommend this place for a clean, cozy place to stay whether in a room or camping in your own rig. Oh yeah, can't forget the tiki bar in the back, which wasn't open during our stay but looks to be a great place to sit and have a drink while watching a great sunset.

I can tell you we will be back to make a longer stay here and will have more to report when we get the full tour of town and what's available to see and do in Cedar Key.

A great big thanks to Pat and Cindy

Happy Travels

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEVAmarcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Key
2.0 km away
Beach Front Motel
Beach Front Motel
#4 of 6 in Cedar Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 km away
Natures Landing Condominium
1.7 km away
Cedar Cove Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Island Place
Island Place
#7 of 12 in Cedar Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
37.7 km away
No photo provided
Withlacoochee Motel
#2 of 2 in Inglis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low-Key Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low-Key Hideaway

Property: Low-Key Hideaway
Address: 12050 State Road 24, Cedar Key, FL 32625
Region: United States > Florida > Cedar Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cedar Key
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious king suites with patios overlooking the water. Tiki bar, relaxing hammocks and ample lounge areas along the water. A community weber grill is available to all guests. Watch the sunrise and set from your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low-Key Hideaway Hotel Cedar Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing