We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good easter”

Columbia Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Celebration
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Front St. & Sycamore St.
Description: Family-owned and operated for more than 112 years, Columbia has earned acclaim for its old-world charm and award-winning Spanish/Cuban cuisine and wine list. Join us for century-old family recipes like Paella "a la Valenciana," Filet Mignon "Columbia," and fresh seafood specialties. Don't miss Columbia's Original "1905" Salad(R), prepared tableside with our delicious, freshly-made dressing, a 100-year-old family recipe of fresh garlic, oregano, wine vinegar and Spanish extra virgin olive oil. Be sure to sample a fine Spanish wine like Montecillo or Campillo. Relax outdoors in our cafe or courtyard, or inside our Tapas Bar or Mediterranean-style dining rooms filled with hand-painted tiles and family heirlooms. Casual attire is fine, but we don't allow sleeveless shirts on men. We are a sister to the Columbia in Tampa's Ybor City, founded in 1905. Children's menu available. Open 365-days a year, including all holidays.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Ordered the special lamb dinner for easter dinner. Lamb was tough and fatty. The vegtables were cold and under cooked. The rice was cold. I have been to this restaurant many times and have had a great meal. This time it was awful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We never want to hear that we let our guests down, and we are sorry that you were served a meal that was not properly prepared. If there is ever a time that your meal is not enjoyable, please ask to speak to a manager. We can then take care of whatever is wrong before you leave the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Celebration is a great little place. We sat outside and had excellent service. Had pitcher of mojito and it was an excellent drink. Had appetizer and and dinner ordered off menu and it was great. Little bit of wait for food but didn’t mind it was crowded. I would go back

Thank Chasman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Good food. Good service. Great atmosphere inside and out. Their bread is perfection.
The filet was so tender and chicken very moist.
Would definitely return.

Thank ATravelingSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The food was really very good. We shared tapas and a main dish between the two of us.
Everything was well prepared and delicious.
The setting is quite beautiful, really reminiscent of Latin America.
Hats off to our waiter Hussein who made the experience even more enjoyable.
The bill won't give you a seizure.
My only complaint: either the seats in the booth are very low or the table is very high, but I did feel a bit like a child at the grown-ups table...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imforestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Our group of 8 people ate here last week. We asked in advance if we could request separate checks. They said they could separate them at the end when we were through. The food was good and the restaurant attractive. Our waiter, Marlon, was not very attentive. One person requested a soft drink 3 times with quite a long wait before he actually got it. Several people had drinks from the bar and some of these drinks were not as requested. Any time we needed him we had to wait and at times asking a waiter serving near out table if he would ask our waiter to come to our table. The restaurant was busy but I have been in many other restaurants busier than this and received great service. After some ordered dessert and had finished we all requested the check. He came back with one check and when again said we wanted to pay for our individual or couple meals he said he could take multiple credit cards but would only divide the bill by the number of cards. He would not use each card for the requested charges. We offered to write down on paper the amounts from his bill we wanted to apply to each card. Again he refused. He would have used the same number of cards and the check would have been payed in full but would not do so. This was a business trip and each party wanted a a receipt for business reasons. Because I did not have a drink or a dessert my portion was over $25.00 more than I ordered. If this practice is customary for the restaurant they should advise customers at the beginning of the experience rather than give you an unpleasant surprise at the end. As small business owners each of us were unfavorably impressed with the lack of customer service from this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestservices1905, Public Relations Manager at Columbia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for dining with us. These many service issues are not acceptable to us and, obviously, to you. Our server was wrong in not separating your checks the way you requested. We can easily accommodate this request, and are sorry that you were inconvenienced by him. We are grateful you took a moment to let us know about these unfortunate experiences, and have shared them with our manager for additional training with our employees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing