We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Road Trip”

Clearwater Marine Aquarium
Ranked #13 of 50 things to do in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, Clearwater Marine Aquarium's mission is to restore and preserve our marine environment. We accomplish our mission through leadership in education, research, and the rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to visit. The staff do presentations about dolphins, turtles, and other fish that are super fun and interesting. All the staff is super nice and helpful. You can really do many activities and make memories with pictures and souvenirs. 88% of everything you spend like tickets, tours and souvenirs are used for the rehab and preservation of the animals they hold in here and they really need support. It is such an act of kindness. Wonderful family visit.

Thank Apzara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We are so pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Clearwater Marine Aquarium! Thank you so much for your kind words, and your support of our work and mission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dolphin tale"
in 990 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 390 reviews
"sea turtles"
in 354 reviews
"non profit"
in 141 reviews
"prosthetic tail"
in 135 reviews
"winter hope"
in 128 reviews
"movie props"
in 128 reviews
"sea world"
in 248 reviews
"movie set"
in 121 reviews
"rehab facility"
in 109 reviews
"animal hospital"
in 99 reviews
"injured animals"
in 110 reviews
"educational experience"
in 65 reviews
"boat ride"
in 428 reviews
"nurse sharks"
in 64 reviews
"gift shop"
in 270 reviews
"dolphin show"
in 135 reviews
Filter

488 - 492 of 6,859 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Don't go and expect your average aquarium experience. Clearwater Marine Aquarium is about rehabilitation and education. Of course, most people come to see Winter and Hope and that is exciting to see "movie stars". I love how the aquarium listed which scenes were filmed throughout the aquarium. The boathouse is there to see from afar. Of course, Rufus is there as well. Funny guy! We found parking on the street outside the entrance so I don't know much about the parking garage offered. All and all, we had a great time.

Thank nlh714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We're so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to Clearwater Marine Aquarium! Thank you so much for supporting our work and mission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

There is not much to see here. This is a small and old facility. The good thing for us was that we arrived at 4:00 PM, when the cost dropped to $9.99 per person instead of $22-something. We had two two-year-olds with us, who loved seeing everything and made the trip worthwhile at the after-4:00 price. But the glass was so dirty, it was hard to see, and the tanks are small and old. We would have been sorely disappointed if we had paid the full price. Spending an hour at this place would be stretching it.

Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

We're sorry to see that Clearwater Marine Aquarium wasn't quite what you expected. Our current facility is a converted wastewater treatment plant that we've occupied since the 1970s, and as such, we recognize that it leaves a bit to be desired in terms of flow and layout. To that end, we're underway right now with an expansion plan that will result in even larger pools for all of our resident animals, better visibility both above and below the surface, and many other guest amenities. We hope you'll come back and see us again in the future when it's completed! In the meantime, we appreciate your visit very much, as without guests like you coming through our doors we wouldn't be able to continue our mission of rescue, rehabilitation, and release of marine life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Wow! What an educational experience.

We choose to do a behind the scene tour. Not many animals they are a rescue aquarium. They treat and release . The staff is amazing and very friendly and informative. It’s a little pricey and not very big.

I suggest you spent the day at the beach and go at 4pm when prices are much cheaper. Definitely do a boat tour or behind scene tour, I would make Reservations for this they seem to sell out fast.

This pic with the turtle floating horizontally was hit by a boat and is paralyzed in the back he/she is a permanent resident. Also if you saw the movie Winter. You will find her her.

Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

We're so happy to see that you enjoyed your day with us at Clearwater Marine Aquarium! Thank you so much for your kind words, and your support of our work and mission!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This aquarium has a lot packed into a small space. Winter and Hope are the stars of aquarium but there are many other intriguing exhibits. We choose to go visit after 4:00 p.m. because rates go down during certain times of the year.

Thank dalt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater M, Guest Relations Manager at Clearwater Marine Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting us at Clearwater Marine Aquarium! We're so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clearwater Marine Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Clearwater Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing