We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still lux, but slipping”
Review of Sandpearl Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpearl Resort
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend getaway, which was our third visit to the Sandpearl. Although still one of the top resorts on Clearwater Beach, this visit was a bit of a letdown. The gulf-facing king room we had was starting to show some wear (towel bar in the bathroom was loose, the in-room fridge was barely cool, some spots on the wall had be retouched, but the paint color was a smidgen off, etc), and the bed could have been a bit more comfortable. There was a wedding being held that weekend, and on Saturday the hotel was essentially overrun by a bunch of drunk thirtysomethings (in the elevator, at the pool, etc.), one of whom we noted had passed out by the pool in his suit. The bar at Carretta's (hotel restaurant) which we remembered served excellent drinks with fine service had poor service (our server one night couldn't answer simple questions about drinks on the menu; on another night when we ordered a cheese & fruit plate to go with wine, it was served without the bread (when were given cheap packaged saltines instead, until we complained and suddenly hot toasted baguettes appeared as it should have from the start). I would note that the drinks were still up to par, so kudos to the bartenders. The daily $25 resort fee starts to become annoying when you are already paying $400/night for a room.

In all, it definitely felt like the hotel was letting things slide a bit. It's one thing when that happens at a mid-range or budget hotel, but the Sandpearl bills itself as luxury, and has in the past lived up to that standard. The next time I visit Clearwater, I will probably look into what the Hyatt Regency up the street has to offer, as I have a bit of a sour taste in my mouth about the Sandpearl from this last visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MediaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I would like to personally apologize for the issues that you encountered during your last stay with us. As the General Manager of the hotel I can tell you that the condition of our property as well as the service we provide is at the focus of our team each and every day. I personally inspect every room every month to guarantee that the rooms are maintained to a very high standard. Additionally, training occurs daily in our departments as well as a commitment to training by our Human Resources department. With that said the items you mentioned are taken very serious and will be addressed immediately.

At your convenience I would appreciate if you could contact me at the hotel directly so that I can get some basic information from you such as your room number, so that I can guarantee the items mentioned are addressed. I would also like to opportunity to personally apologize for the issues you encountered during your last stay.

Thank you,
Eric Waltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,947 - 1,951 of 2,457 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

We got married, stayed in the Grand Suite at the Grand Wailea in Maui, owned a home on Dawn Beach in St. Maarten for 10 yrs, but nothing compares to the Sandpearl Resort We first stayed there early 2009, but liked it so much that we've come back several times a year since. Great rooms, restaurants, pool, and service (even room service). Our goal was to retire, and live there. We now do, and we still get great room service!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Studies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Studies,

WOW! Thank you for such high marks. We certainly appreciate your business and strive to continuously exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences you have had here at the Sandpearl resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Resort has the most beautiful and family friendly pool. The resort is right on the beach and its easy to get to the beach and back to the pool. On our second day there we were at the beach in the morning and saw several dolphins. We were thrilled! The rooms are so comfortable and the resort is decorated with the most inspiring artwork and decor. The service was superb. Their staff is clearly very well trained. Best hotel I have EVER been in. They made us feel special and it made our stay in Clearwater perfect. The hotel has a Starbucks right downstairs as well as two restaurants. Our rooms were cleaned twice a day. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Rates are better during the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllThatIAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear AllThatIAm,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay here at the Sandpearl Resort. We are pleased you found the resort to be beautifully decorated and the service superb. I am glad our staff was able to make your stay so memorable. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at week in a 1 bedroom suite over the last week of April (Easter weekend). Overall, we were impressed with the hotel's ambiance, amenities, location and grandeur! The room was spacious and suited well for our needs. However, things turned a bit sour towards the end of our trip. Two nights prior to our departure, we received a letter under our door indicating that aerial photos were to be taken of the property and that the pool would be closed from the peak hours of noon to 3 pm. This being a family holiday with two small children, we found this to be quite disturbing since no one had advised us of this at the time of booking, in addition, the only location that our kids could swim was the ocean, which supported a red flag on most days of our stay. It was also very hot that week and the beach was not sufficient to keep the kids cool. The hotel also charges 25$ for an umbrella, which is absurd considering you pay a daily heafty "resort" fee.The hotel's response was not adequate when we approached management and after a few conversations they did offer us (and only us) an alternate pool in another building. The pool was on a rooftop and it was very hot with no service, no other children and not ideal. We were not impressed with this considering we were paying well over 700$ a night for our stay and knowing this was to be happening on our last day, we would have left earlier or booked another time for our holiday. It ruined our last few days. We send letters of concern to the hotel management and owner and to no surprise, never got a response. Aside from this, the service at the hotel was excellent with thumbs up to the coffee shop staff and the restaurant who were outstanding. Alison in concierge was not very friendly and could not bother one bit to help any of the clients out. She clearly did not enjoy her job. The beach staff was also very acommodating and always smiling. We found for the price, there was missing some very important staff and service however to make it the prestigeous property they claim to be. We usually stay at similar properties and have never had issues such as this. We travel to Florida 3-4 times a year and this was our first experience in Clearwater. Although the beach is beautiful and the hotel had potential, we are definitely not staying here or recommending it after the way they weakly attempted to remedy a poor situation. We don't mind paying the cost of the hotel, as long as it reflects what you pay for and this hotel did not honor this.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BIGtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandpearl_GM, General Manager at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review of the Sandpearl Resort. While I appreciate the positive aspects of the resort that you mentioned I was disappointed to learn that you were not happy with our resolution to the issue you encountered during our aerial photo shoot. For that I am very sorry.

We scheduled the event during the slowest week of the year up to that date. We also tried to communicate to all of our guests what exactly was going to occur during the photo shoot by distrubuting letters under all guestroom doors on two different occasions leading up to the day of the shoot. To limit the impact of having our pool unavailable from 1:00 to 2:30 we offered a complimentary bbq buffet on the adjacent beach along with complimentary beer and wine. In the event that guests wanted a pool rather than joining us for the bbq we made accomodations with the Condo buidling next to us for our guests to use their pool. Only 1 or 2 families ended up using that pool.

As you can imagine it is very difficult to schedule an event like this without it having an effect on guests. It is however very necessary for our business to stay competitive and provide modern and up to date pictures of our property for marketing and internet needs. We will take your comments into consideration for future events should it be necessary.

If you would like to speak personally regarding this experience and feel it appropriate, please call me at the hotel. I look forward to speaking with you.

Eric Waltz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed here in October 2009! But only recently looking for our next holiday I noticed how helpful these posts are so here goes ... Our experience at the sand pear was amazing !
The hotel is beautiful we walked in it was like a breath of fresh air, our room wasn't ready so we sat out and relaxed a while in the lobby and outside taking in all the beauty this hotel has. It was very luxurious.. Once we got our room it was amazing the bed was huge !!! It had a docking station for your iPod or I phone which my man loved lol! The room was not facing the ocean but it still was fabulous .... I found out I was pregnant here and it was just the perfect place to come back to to relax and catch up on sleep. I have no faults with this hotel it was just a fantastic place and so relaxing ! The resort is very quiet ... I didn't find the food/ bar next door noisy we never heard anything ! And a few times we ate there and the food was fantastic pizzas great !

If I had anything negative to
Say I would say it was just the resort there was not much to do but for a relaxing beach holiday it was great

The fire pit on the beach at night is great to just pure relaxation!

As for people moaning about kids .... We never had a problem with children .... Kids are kids if you want a adult only hotel then go to one ! But it wasn't noisy when we went at all.

Weather was great end of October beginning of november!

Can't fault this place ! Relaxing yes luxurious yes rooms beautiful ... Sit back take a breathe and enjoy every moment here we certainly did!

Katie York uk

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktyorkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtneylb, Front Office Supervisor at Sandpearl Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Ktyorkuk,

Thank you for such an amazing review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the room and its' amenities. Watching the sunset from our fire pit is very relaxing. Congratulation on your new addition to the family! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Wyndham Grand Clearwater Beach Resort
0.8 km away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#10 of 98 in Clearwater
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Clearwater Beach
0.4 km away
Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 km away
Opal Sands Resort
Opal Sands Resort
#5 of 98 in Clearwater
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpearl Resort

Address: 500 Mandalay Avenue, Clearwater, FL 33767-1738
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Business Hotel in Clearwater
#3 Luxury Hotel in Clearwater
#5 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: RM973 - RM2,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandpearl Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning location along a 700-foot expanse on the sugary white sands of pristine Gulf of Mexico beach front, Sandpearl Resort's casually elegant surroundings provide guests with a vacation experience unmatched on the beach. Just 18 miles from Tampa International Airport, our guests will experience the old Florida tradition of hospitality at our brand new world-class property. Our friendly staff will help make your stay memorable through plush amenities and impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpearl Hotel Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing