We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed due to hurricane damage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Captain Resort on the Bay
Ranked #39 of 98 Hotels in Clearwater
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Stayed at this property many times over the years and loved it. It is our understanding that this property is permanently closed due to hurricane damage. It was going to be torn down for new construction. For the past years reservations were made on short term basis contingent that the new construction was to be delayed. We will miss our stays here. Liked the property. More importantly enjoyed the company of other guests.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jim_Mary_Lou_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

The Sea Captain is a perfect get away. We come here once a year - Perfect, Quiet and I wouldnt change a thing. It is close to the beach and all of the business yet it feels like a quiet secret get away. The pool and hot tub were clean and it has a little pier where you can fish or just sit and relax. It is very close to the tourist boats that go in and out of the bay - It is very close to all of the entertainment yet the hotel itself is set off by itself so you can sit in quiet and relax also. It is the perfect little place. It is one of our favorites.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

This is a very well located hotel just by the sea ! Peaceful and quiet resort . Just one complain , the included continental breakfast .; you better go to another place to have breakfast . Everything else is fine, pretty close to all the boat tours and pretty close to the beach .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lezcano55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed for 2 nights and thank goodness it was no more. Door hanging off, bathroom door didn't shut, staff unhelpful with directions as he didn't know the area! Free breakfast on weekend and no milk as on order yet start of season!! Now checked as Credit Card machine not worked to find we have been charged twice!! We have called 3 times from the UK to speak to manager as website is closed down. I would not advise anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: None don't know which are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robandhazel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We typically look for a retro style mom-and-pop places to stay when traveling in Florida. The Frank Sinatra era two-story villas or efficiencies are always fun. See captain had a private pool right on the harbor and was across the street from the beach properties. Our pool always had plenty of room and not too many small children. I understand this place will be gone in a couple of years, so we are very happy we had the opportunity to stay here.

If you get a chance before it's gone, stay here. Very intimate and fun and the other people staying there seemed to be fun as well.

The price was fantastic as well.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
1.1 km away
Chart House Suites on Clearwater Bay
0.1 km away
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
Pier House 60 Marina Hotel
#11 of 98 in Clearwater
1,294 reviews
0.3 km away
Barefoot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Royal North Beach
Royal North Beach
#45 of 98 in Clearwater
246 reviews
0.6 km away
Magnuson Hotel Clearwater Beach
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Tampa Clearwater Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Captain Resort on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Captain Resort on the Bay

Address: 40 Devon Dr, Clearwater, FL 33767-2436
Region: United States > Florida > Clearwater
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Clearwater
#9 Family Hotel in Clearwater
#14 Romantic Hotel in Clearwater
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Clearwater
Price Range: RM412 - RM674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Captain Resort on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to Hurricane Irma. Official Resort Partner of Clearwater Marine Aquarium and Winter the Dolphin! Small resort located on the bay overlooking the harbor and Clearwater Marina, the Sea Captain Resort is only 100 yards from the Gulf of Mexico public beaches, Pier 60, and in walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Resort features boat slips, fishing dock, grills, heated pool, hot tub, bicycles, shuffleboard, and free wi-fi. One-bedroom suites, efficiencies, and motel rooms available, with complimentary continental breakfast on the weekends; coffee and fresh Florida orange juice daily. One of Winter the Dolphin's favorite places to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Captain Resort on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Captain Resort On The Bay Hotel Clearwater
Sea Captain Clearwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing