We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good with a few minor shortcomings. Very comfortable beds! Great value, compared to other hotels in area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good with a few minor shortcomings. Very comfortable beds! Great value, compared to other hotels in area!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

A little run down, but NO BED BUGS, so I didn't care! This hotel was a great value compared to the price of other hotels in the area. Nice staff, including front desk, breakfast hostesses and cleaning personell! Breakfast buffett which is usually complementary at other hotels is a $10.00 charge here! I didn't like that and with similar selections to hotels with free breakfast, there was nothing special for this additional fee. The Internet kept requiring frequent re-sign-ins, a nusance and frustrating if you're answering emails, trying to buy and sell stocks, communicate with clients, etc. Walls and doors are thin. You can hear more than you want to hear, especially outside in the hallway (I know that lady across the hallway, for example, and 3 doors down from me was having a good time at 11:45PM !). The rugs were old and stained, but in all fairness I must mention that they were being changed-out while I was there, so this hopefully won't be an issue much longer. MOST IMPORTANTLY, HOWEVER, THE BEDS WERE VERY COMFORTABLE! I HAD A GREAT NIGHT'S SLEEP IN THEM, PILLOWS BLANKETS WERE VERY SOFT AND THE SHEET HAD THE ELASTIC ON THE OUTER EDGES TO PREVENT EXPOSING A BARE MATTRESS, HERE! I CAN'T TELL YOU HOW IMPORTANT THIS ASPECT OF A HOTEL STAY IS. IT CAN BE QUITE GROSS IF YOUR LEGS WIND-UP ON A BARE MATRESS IN THE MORNING AS I'M SURE EVERYONE READING THIS KNOWS! Also, the parking was good, always had spaces even when hotel was full!

Room Tip: Suggest to ask to be put into a room as far away from others as possible. The walls and doors are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaPartyPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    192
    128
    54
    36
See reviews for
198
90
49
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This Holiday Inn sits on busy US Route 1 at the south end of Coral Gables, 10 minutes' walk from the main entrance to the University of Miami. It's a reasonable choice if you have business at the University (I was attending a 3-day conference there). Also there's a MetroRail station close by which will take you to central MIami and other places, though for the airport a cab is much faster and more direct. My room overlooked the large pool area and was reasonable, though there were glitches -- most notably the phone didn't work and no guide to hotel services was to be found. Service was prompt, and the free wireless internet connection worked well.

Room Tip: Pool-facing rooms are pleasant and quiet when windows are closed; ask for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob4er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to write about us. We are very sorry your phone could not work. Normally however as you mentioned it yourself, we are all about service, so I do hope you were able to notify someone so we could have it fixed it in time before your departure. Otherwise I am glad that you enjoyed the wifi and your pool side room, please be sure to request it upon your next visit.

Once again thank you for your review.

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The room and sheets are clean, but the room is very tired looking. Our phone did not work, no information on what was available in the hotel. The location is very central and easy to get to the Grove, South Beach and the Gables. If you want updated room and hotel this is not it. If you want reasonable cost and clean, this is it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riva5522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay. Its very unfortunate that your phone was not working. I do hope we were able to fix that in time. We are currently in the process of updating our hotel directories, therefore some rooms might have been missing them. So i do apologize for that.

Once again thank you for your review

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were travelling during high season in Florida. Due to some events taking place during the weekend every hotel in this area was fully booked, unfortunately the Holiday Inn as well. But thanks to the desk clerk's initiative and several calls with colleagues we finally got a room in a great hotel nearby. Very good and professional service that saved our vacations!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffili123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
I am sorry you were unable to get a room with us, but I am also glad we were able to take care of you. These are very busy months in South Florida, so its very important to have a reservation in advance. Next time hopefully you can stay with us. Because we'd definitely love to have you!

Thank you for giving us your time.

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harmony, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We were so glad we found this Holiday Inn. The atmosphere and location were amazing. They had a fabulous bartender and it was an easy booking. The only downside with our room was that it was right next to the elevator. The bathroom was behind the elevator. It was a little noisy but the hotel was otherwise terriflc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1812HitchingPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HICoralGablesTeam, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Good morning!

Thank you so much for your review, I am glad you enjoyed hanging out with Ryan our bartender. He's definitiely a character. I do apologize for the noise you experienced due to your proximity to the elevator. Please feel free to contact us for your next reservation, and we will make sure to put you far from any noise.

Thank you once again for your review!

The Holiday Inn Coral Gables Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Gables
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
#2 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Miami Coral Gables
#4 of 11 in Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University

Property: Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University
Address: 1350 South Dixie Highway, Coral Gables, FL 33146-2904
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price range (per night): RM545 - RM1,112
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Coral Gables-University which is ideally situated in the upscale city of Coral Gables, on South Dixie Highway (US 1) across from the University of Miami and the Metrorail station. When priorities turn from work to play, guests are in the middle of great shopping, dining and entertainment at Dadeland Mall, Shops at Sunset Place, Village of Merrick Park, Coconut Grove and Bayside Market Place. Our Toucan's Restaurant and Lounge offers breakfast and dinner. The attractions that make South Florida a favorite tourist destination are just around the corner, putting guests within minutes of Jungle Island, Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Zoo Miami, the Museum of Science, Miami Children's Museum, the American Airlines Arena, the Port of Miami and South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Coral Gables - University Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing