We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel is old, full of character and charm. Location was perfect and literally didn't have to step out of the property to do all our activities or dinning. We played tennis right across the street, next to golf club house, kayak or boat rentals were located by the hotel too. Pool was beautiful, large and nicely located on the canal so you can enjoy the views, I must say the pool was open to public witch made it little too crowded on Sunday. I wish and hope hotel will consider changing launch chairs from wood to something more comfortable in the future. The restaurant in the hotel was located looking out on the pool and canal, so sunsets were breath taking. Patti our waitress made our dinner very memorable, plus compliments to the chef. We ate almost all our meals here. High quality food with lots of flavor, my fiancee and I were definitely impressed. Rooms are spacious and clean, bed is very comfy.
Only one negative about our stay here would be the lack of ice or working ice machines...as trivial it may be to some, it was extremely enoying to us, to search for ice when needed.

Room Tip: Prefer ground floor and facing canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AjaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,191 - 1,195 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Plantation for one night in May as we had gone to Crystal river to see the manatees. The staff were very courteous and and helpful in all areas of the hotel, our room was ok, the bathroom adequate but tired and no free wi-fi but in fairness we had booked one of the cheaper rooms. The restaurant food was good (would recommend the Grouper and Pasta), the bar snacks by the pool also.The pool area surprisingly is quite lively and has constant loud music, this was the only area outdoors to sit as we did not have a balcony.
The hotel has its own dive shop, Manatee trips and boat hire. We decided to hire a small boat at a very reasonable price instead which on hindsight was a good idea, we saw much more wildlife including Manatees ( you do not need to take an organised trip to be able to swim with them). The area is abundant with wildlife including the osprey nest by the dive shop. If you want to see manatees easily you can in the Homasassa springs national park however be aware that it is basically a zoo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJBLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We we we stayed at the Plantation before a swim with manatees trip. The hotel and grounds were beautiful and impecably maintai ned. The food was wonderful and I highly recommend the bisque! I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bacall2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We booked a 3-night Memorial Day weekend stay in a junior suite, being told it was a "very quiet" wing of the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by hillbillies with screaming children and country music blasting out of their rooms. The initial young female desk clerk quickly responded to our (and other couples') complaints but her supervisor followed up with a very nasty phone call, explaining that her hands "were tied". Despite my telling her that her young desk clerk handled the situation professionally and satisfactorily, this unpleasant woman was determined to repeat that it was Memorial Day weekend several times, as if we couldn't discern the calendar date for ourselves. Apparently if it is a holiday honoring fallen soldiers, some hotel guests are encouraged to infringe upon everyone else's peaceful time.

Although the food was average, the restaurant staff was inattentive and disappeared occasionally, with the exception of "Chris". Of all the staff besides Chris, "Dave" at the Dive Shop made our trip enjoyable and worth the money. If it weren't for Dave, we would have checked out the first night, as our A/C wasn't working and the best the night manager could do was give us a portable fan and $20 off the room rate. The A/C maintenance staff we encountered were either clueless or obnoxious (the supervisor). However, Dave loaned us tools, helped fix our boat and personally helped us park our trailer. Dave and Chris need to be paid an extra stipend to teach the rest of the hotel's staff basic customer service.

Calling this place a "resort" is a stretch. Only one tennis court had a net, the court drinking fountains were broken, the male bar staff refused to fill coolers with ice (even with a broken lobby ice machine) and the hotel did not provide daily towel service. Someone moved our boat during the night (so much for the nighttime security) and luggage carts were non-existent.

I would not recommend this as a place for couples seeking relaxation, people wanting a first class hotel in the Crystal River area or anyone with prior experience of high service levels. For the pick-up truck crowd with coolers full of all their meals, yelling children, barking dogs and no sense of manners, this is YOUR "plantation".

Room Tip: I would not recommend this place to anyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onholidayflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Most people will come here for Manatee tours. This hotel has one of the oldest/original shops offering Manatee tours, although they are a bit pricey. We used the company located at the Best Western hotel, which was way cheaper and excellent.

The hotel is OK. The location is nice at the waterfront, but not very central. The hotel entails multiple buildings which are in good shape. The rooms are spacy, general facilities are good. We did not use the bar or restaurant, but they looked very nice.

The pool area is excellent. Perhaps we enjoyed it so much because it was very quiet and we could spend some time reading a book in the hot jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MelangeHeythuysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
839 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
2.2 km away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
354 reviews
5.7 km away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
272 reviews
4.7 km away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 W Fort Island Trl, Crystal River, FL 34429-5376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range: RM470 - RM845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing