We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed here earlier in the week with two other business colleagues. This is a nice older hotel right on the crystal river.

Not sure it is like this all the time, but check-in was very slow.

We each had a king room, mine was on the second floor with a view of the water. The bed was great and the room very clean. But as others mentioned the hotel has a damp, musty smell about it. All three of our rooms also had that smell, while not bad enough to go somewhere else, if I stay here again I will bring an air fresher.

They have a tiki bar and a nice pool over looking the water.

Overall not a bad stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor and a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,189 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by by this hotel after reading some reviews which were somewhat negative about certain amenities here. Our room was clean and comfortableoverlooking an inlet of the river.
The tiki bar and pool area were great and the restaurant served good food. We also went swimming with the manatees from the dive shop on site. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and we managed to meet about a dozen manatees. Awesome experience!!

Room Tip: Ask for aroom overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beejay287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Yes it is older, but it is clean, comfortable (recently updated), tiki bar, and on the water. Manatees abound, and great food very close by, if you want to venture a bit. Boat rentals or pool to pass the day. Let's face it, a 5 rating will set you back 250$ a night, but this place has a fantastic feeling!! Get to the clear water, and it is fantastic wildlife..... but be aware, the feds will write you a ticket for breathing wrong around the manatees. :(

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank joelcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Let me start by pointing out that every employee we encountered at Plantation were extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way for us in every way.

Secondly, the hotel is beautiful and they've done a nice job of updating the rooms since our last visit.

But oh my gosh, my first floor room was the smelliest, dampest place I've ever slept. I ran the a/c constantly to try and minimize the moisture and odor but to my dismay, my clothes were damp as I packed them back into my suitcase.

There was a strong, musty odor that was so strong, it felt unhealthy to breathe. I didn't ask to move rooms as I spent very little time in it but I would imagine that the second floor rooms don't suffer from this problem. At least not to this degree.

I'd recommend some kind of room air freshener but that won't correct the excessive dampness throughout the room.

The problem was only made worse due to an inoperable bathroom fan. After a shower, the room was so damp, I felt like my own micro-climate would produce thunderstorms above the bed. Again, I could have called maintenance to have it fixed but didn't have the time since I was in and out of the room so quickly.

I was traveling on business and stayed in the room by myself but rest assured, if my wife had been with me, we would have changed rooms.

Don't let this issue prevent you from staying here, just be mindful of the issue and make sure you ask for an odor-free room that doesn't feel like you are sleeping in a tropical rain forest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nevis92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is my third stay in three years at this hotel which I would class as better than average, my main complaint is about the pool area. Particularly at the weekend, it seems that local residents are permitted free access to the pool facilities. My question is; why am I subsidising the locals. After all, I am paying for ALL the facilities here and they are paying nothing. The argument that they are buying food and drink at the bar is false since I saw several of them with their own supplies. The noise that their unruly children were making eventually drove me away from the facility, the hotel thus lost my custom at the bar, and I suspect that of several other hotel residents also.
On a slightly different note, the loud music played at the pool bar firstly seems to be the choice of the staff and the volume largely for their benefit.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
852 reviews
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
2.2 km away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
273 reviews
0.4 km away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
358 reviews
4.7 km away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 W Fort Island Trl, Crystal River, FL 34429-5376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range: RM443 - RM780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing