We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Playa Resorts & Suites
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The hotel does not look anything like the pictures online. The room was very dated and worn, with the ceiling cracked above the curtain and rusty old stove and exhaust in kitchen area, the headboards had the veneer picked off, and the beds were made with only a sheet. My sisters room at least had a decorative piece of material at the base of the bed to give impression of a bed spread. Mine was a sheet, that's it.
The balcony is somewhat private with a low wall between you and your neighbor. I could reach over and touch their belongings if i had wanted to and it would be quite easy to hop over and go into their room through the balcony door. Basically two rooms shared one balcony with a low wall divider between them.
We had asked for adjoining rooms with another family member, but were given the 9th floor and our room was on the 2nd floor. Staying on the second floor was a terrible experience. I am a light sleeper and got very little sleep due to noise. I was awakened every night of my stay due to noise. The pool was supposed to close at 11pm, but every night had people swimming until the wee hours of the morning. Often very loud. One night at 2:30am someone directly in front of the steps leading to the beach sat off fireworks repeatedly. It was clearly a hotel guest given the close proximity to the hotel. I called the desk as the firework show continued and was told they had called the sheriff's office and were waiting on an officer. I never saw an officer. After about 15 minutes it stopped, but my three children and myself were wide awake at that point. There is apparently no security to take care of hotel problems.
The staff were very nice with the exception of one registration clerk. I have family in the area and on the first day I had a family member come to visit. I spoke with a gentleman at the registration desk and was told no parking pass was needed if she did not spend the night. The next day another family member came to the hotel and left crying because the front officer clerk was so rude. She was told she would have to park across the busy 4 lane road in a shopping center lot. She asked if she could just come to one of our rooms to let us know she wasn't staying because she couldn't walk that far and was told "no, not unless you park across the street." When I spoke to my family member and learned what had happened i went to the front desk and asked the clerk who denied being rude. She never apologized for the incident and told me there was no manager to talk to except her. Minutes later i saw an employee walk into a room with a locked door, i knocked and asked to speak to a manager and the manager came out to speak to me. The clerk apparently lied. I've never had such an experience. Very unprofessional to top off a poor quality hotel. I can honestly say that every year we visit Daytona to see family, I will never stay at the Laplaya again.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere for your hotel stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pssscarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Laplaya means "let's go... To the beach!" But not for us. We booked through Expedia. Expedia should not recommend nor even allow someone to book. It is said you are who you hang out with. So Expedia keep hanging out with Laplaya and I will stop hanging out with Expedia.

First impression, nothing like website pictures. Second impression, door lock "rotting out", stains on bed throw, and hairs on pillow, hairs on side of mattress, hairs in middle of bed, hairs on walls in shower... If clean is what you are looking for, look elsewhere. We checked out within 20 minutes of checking in and luckily found another place at last minute.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Willie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Everything was great except the continental breakfast, there was not a good variety and the toasters did not work well, rooms were clean and at a good price, the pool and access to the beach is convenient. Service at check in and check out with Yinnette was wonderful, she was professional as well as helpful.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank BeccaPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Well where do i start when we first arrived with food i might mention the refrigerator did not work! The guy they sent to fix it did not know anything about nothing so we got another refrigerator about 2 in the morning, The pool was filthy look like a urine station, The air conditioner was not cooling so the room was hot. This place was just a dump and it ruined our vacation. We checked out early and left and the motel never offered any compensation of our money we spent still waiting on the last night b be credited and i better get it or i will slap a lawsuit on this dump!! DO NOT STAY Here!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marqueztm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed at LaPlaya for 5 nights on the 3rd floor. It was clean and we got housekeeping service every day- plenty of towels, tp, etc. It's definitely a hotel, not a condo. Beds, tv, living area all in one room. Bathroom and small kitchen with very little utensils. The bed was comfortable, didn't see one bug in the room the whole time. Kids loved the pool, but it is open til 11 and can get very loud. The last night I was there people were in it til 2 being super loud and I had to call the front desk. They did take care of it quickly. Also has plenty of lounge chairs at pool and a tiki bar and deck.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank kellyd93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
6.6 km away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 74 in Daytona Beach
598 reviews
6.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
3.0 km away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
0.2 km away
Grand Seas Resort
Grand Seas Resort
#33 of 74 in Daytona Beach
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Resorts & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Resorts & Suites

Address: 2500 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3204
Region: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: RM532 - RM877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Resorts & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Resorts & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laplaya Resort Daytona Beach
Laplaya Hotel Daytona Beach
La Playa Resort Daytona Beach
La Playa Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing