We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi and friendly staff”

Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi
Ranked #16 of 315 Restaurants in Destin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi is a locally owned seafood and sushi restaurant overlooking the Historical Destin Harbor. Jackacuda's name resides from a famous fishing hole located 34 miles Southwest of the Destin Harbor at 30'04.250N and 87'02.125W. Jackacudas is a new full service restaurant and sushi bar that specializes in fresh, locally-sourced seafood and products to provide our guests with classic gulf coast seafood dishes with new south culinary preparation. The main focus is to create raving fans by providing high quality consistent food at a great value, while becoming an important part of the community. We focus on building professional relationships with vendors and empowering our employees to become professional hospitality ambassadors.
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed 2 sushi rolls, fried avocado, and the Caribbean Cooler cocktail. All of the items were recommend by our waitress, Aneatria, who was fantastic! Wonderful service. We came on a rainy night so didn't get to enjoy the view.

Thank ZJC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Happy to hear Aneatria's recommendations were a hit with you! Hopefully the next time you come by, the weather is nice and clear for you to enjoy the view. Looking forward to having you back!

Warm wishes,
Chris and Tyler, Co-owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

We took Aneatria's recommendation and had the OVO and Prime Lobster rolls. They were excellent. Fast and super friendly service with nice perks of a locals' discount and a Christmas "gift." We missed the view being here in the evening; I imagine the ambiance is even better in the day.

Thank elysium0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Sounds like Aneatria took great care of you on this visit! We're happy your lobster rolls were excellent, too. We hope you get a chance to make it by for lunch sometime soon!

Take care,
Chris and Tyler, Co-owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Skye was the most helpful and kind waitress I have had during my visit to Destin! Will definitely be coming back for the service alone!

Thank Carter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Carter, we're glad Skye took amazing care of you on your visit! Thanks for the kind words. We can't wait to have you back.

Warm wishes,
Chris and Tyler, Co-owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

The only reason this place gets 3 stars is the view. First we ordered the fried avocado which was tasty, but highly over priced for the amount of food you get and honestly it really didn't seem like much effort was put into the whole thing. Next we tried to order the lobster bisque, but we were told no it's clam chowder. We said okay we will try that and 15 minutes later we had to remind the waiter we had ordered it. Mind you we were there on a Tuesday and there were only three other tables with people at them around us. The staff was not busy by any means.

For our main meal we both ordered the fried fish and shrimp having read on the menu it was gulf shrimp and a mixture of grouper and snapper. What arrived at our table was popcorn shrimp and mystery fish. I think I tasted at least one piece of grouper in there, but that was all. I am not sure what the rest of it was. The manager was helpful and did discount our meals, but some notice from either the server or the manager would have been appreciated that our meal was not as it was going to be expected. The cocktail sauce was extremely chunky and almost like a relish instead of a sauce. The fires served with the meal were less than stellar also. I guess you can say I will not be returning. I am a local and I know what fresh fish tastes like and I also know there are other places in town where I can spend less money and get better service with a much nicer view.

To sum it up I would not choose this place over any of the other delightful local places.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Heather, we put a lot of care and expertise into our dishes, so it's disappointing that this visit missed the mark in your book. Transparency about what exactly our fish is, as well as when and where it was caught, is also very important to us and why we geotag the fish we serve. That said, we're sorry if our service wasn't as stellar as it could've been. We'd love another chance to show you the truly wonderful Jackacuda's experience you deserve.

Sincerely,
Chris and Tyler, Co-owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Jackacuda’s continues to climb the ranks of our favorite in Destin. The freshest ingredients across the board. Perfect combination menu for us ranging from fresh seafood perfectly cooked in a variety of ways to great sushi. Shrimp and grits awesome featuring Conecuh sausage.

Thank DeavBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler J, Owner at Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

It's great to hear we keep ranking higher and higher in your book. Thanks for coming in and enjoying what we do here. It's always a pleasure!

Warm wishes,
Chris and Tyler, Co-owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi also viewed

 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 
Destin, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Jackacuda's Seafood & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing