We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”

The Lighthouse Grill at Stump Pass
Ranked #36 of 115 Restaurants in Englewood
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Description: Welcome to the most unique dining experience in Englewood! Overlooking the intracoastal waterway, we offer an exceptional menu for every appetite. Enjoy a signature salad, dive into fresh grouper, or treat yourself to a handcrafted angus cheeseburger with house-made potato chips. Order a tropical cocktail or a cold beer while listening to one of our favorite local bands play live. When you’re finished with your meal, head over to our garden area and adirondack chairs to take in the beautiful sunset. You just might see a manatee or dolphins! With an on-site gift shop and an atmosphere made for your enjoyment, you’ll soon see why we’re known for having amazing views, delicious food, and great people.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to the most unique dining experience in Englewood! Overlooking the intracoastal waterway, we offer an exceptional menu for every appetite. Enjoy a signature salad, dive into fresh grouper, or treat yourself to a handcrafted angus cheeseburger with house-made potato chips. Order a tropical cocktail or a cold beer while listening to one of our favorite local bands play live. When you’re finished with your meal, head over to our garden area and adirondack chairs to take in the beautiful sunset. You just might see a manatee or dolphins! With an on-site gift shop and an atmosphere made for your enjoyment, you’ll soon see why we’re known for having amazing views, delicious food, and great people.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

There can't be anybody running this place who knows the restaurant business. Food and drinks are so overpriced. We waited for a table for half an hour when most of the place was empty. They try to push you over to the bar for awhile. Problem is it's so obvious why they won't seat you. Mahi ok at best but tiny piece of fish for $14.50. Waiter okay but has no idea what he's doing. Did not return to follow up but finally did and tries to push more drinks. One of us had the ahi tuna appetizer he says you should have ordered the entree. Why? Expected 16 oz. beer got a 22 ouncer for $9.50. The smallest Margarita on the face of the earth for $6.95. Two gamokes playing guitars and singing their heads off ok but they had to get these 2 obvious locals for bar credit. I imagine this place will not survive the off season because Englewood residents will not support it with so many better options. Go to the Sand Bar if you want to sit out. They know what they're doing, the food's better and it is MUCH cheaper. We will not return to Lighthouse Grill. They took us a good one.

2  Thank Loogan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe R, Owner at The Lighthouse Grill at Stump Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Loogan, I am not sure where to start with all the things you did not like. I can say that today we have corrected the price on the 24 oz Landshark. We shop our competitors and our prices are on par or less than others in Englewood. In appropriate to characterize our entertainment in that fashion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We are in town for Easter with our son and two of his military friends. We were told that this place had the best sunsets in Florida. Little did we know that the sunset would be just one part of an experience we will always remember. We were seated and then Marisa our server took our drink orders. Marisa was pleasant and engaging and knowledgeable about the local attractions. Our food was served hot and it was very good. The burger was especially good, served on a brioche bun, juicy and cooked perfectly. During dinner we were treated to music by a very good young musician who engaged with the customers and made us feel like we were at a dinner show in some fancy theater. The manager on duty checked on our table time to make sure all was good and on her second visit engaged my son and his friends in a napkin folding class. What a fun thing to watch someone do. All in all one of the best experiences we have had on this vacation as well as our past vacations. We will definitely be back. Thank you.

1  Thank Loretta800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe R, Owner at The Lighthouse Grill at Stump Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Loretta, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our place. Marissa is a really great server we agree!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We had a Bloody Mary in prep for lunch at this restaurant . The setting is unique with a line of Adirondack chairs viewing the bay . While we were not there for sunset it is spectacular! The drive into the grill is confusing because it’s a marina . But once there it’s a good beach type place . Also has live music .

Thank jhammer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe R, Owner at The Lighthouse Grill at Stump Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our place. We love Adirondacks too! Did you mean to rate us a 3? You comments were so 5 star like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Mom and brother recommend this place after a decent lunch experience. After reading reviews I expected some wait time. Our Family of 9 arrived at the restaurant at 5pm and was told a 1 and half hour wait. No problem, we found a table in the waiting area and ordered drinks. Drinks were undersized and overpriced. The waitress taking our drinks order at no personality at all and acted like she didn't want to be there. We finally were seated around 7 o'clock and put in drink and appetizers. I ordered the scallops wrapped in bacon. Got 4 tiny scallops on a paper plate almost immediately, before the drinks arrived actually, must have been made ahead of time. Not worth the 14 dollars. Never saw our waitress again. My brother wanted an angry orchard but was told they didn't carry it anymore, even though he just ordered it at the bar. I had the grouper sandwich, had better and cheaper at other restaurants. Side salad was a joke, tiny and restless and .95 cents extra. Burgers and chicken were so so. Waitress never checked on our food, some kid brought it out, no specials were offered, they ran out of chips but never told us until my wife noticed we got charged for sides we never received. They wouldn't adjust the bill, only offered a repl element. So after spending three hours there with small children, we had to wait further so my brother could get his baked beans that came from a can. Great views, mediocre to crappy food, bad service, high prices.

1  Thank Brianndowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe R, Owner at The Lighthouse Grill at Stump Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Brian, Glad your Mother and Brother had a good experience. Honestly, just a few facts, our plates are ECO friendly palm plates, prices of our food are competitively priced, not making an excuse but the very day you were here we moved our Angry Orchard from draft to bottled, We make our baked beans from scratch. Our food is delivered to the table by food runners during season. I apologize that you were dissatisfied with your food. We would have been happy to make an adjustment in your bill. It sounds like you may not have engaged a floor manager. Perhaps you can give us another try sometime. You experience is really not typical.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

My husband and I went to the Lighthouse with great expectations. The advertisements looked very appealing and indeed looking over the intra-coastal waterway from their elevated deck chairs is relaxing, but the food was so very disappointing. We arrived at 6:15 but was not seated until 7:00 even though there were empty tables. Another 45 minutes went by before we were served and It was a full two hours by the time we received our bill to pay. The gin and tonic was fairly priced at $4.75 for a rail drink. We ordered a full rack of the babyback ribs which taunted their home cut fries and a side of small garden salad. The cut fries were nothing special and the rib portion was small. I ordered the grilled shrimp and scallops with saffron rice. The saffron rice tasted out of a box and the accompanying coleslaw was warm from being under the heating element. There were only three shrimp and three scallops. Both entrees were $21.95 each. Overall we decided that we might go back for drinks but never again for dinner.

1  Thank LordFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe R, Owner at The Lighthouse Grill at Stump Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Although your wait time was a bit longer than normal, I am sorry that you feel a 45 minute wait to table and 45 minute ticket time is unacceptable at a Gulf Coast waterfront restaurant during peak Spring Break season. We offer cocktail service at our Adirondack chairs, garden seating and bar service with great views of Lemon Bay and our Marina. We also have a gift shop folks can enjoy waiting for their table with a beeper in hand in our casual relaxed environment. Sorry your meal did not meet your expectations on the food you ordered. I will share your comments with our kitchen staff. We shop our prices with other Englewood waterside restaurants and score very competitive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lighthouse Grill at Stump Pass also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Lighthouse Grill at Stump Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing