We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't get enough to eat, its your own fault?”

Farlow's On The Water
Ranked #3 of 114 Restaurants in Englewood
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: After you experience a meal at Farlow's On The Water, you'll find this restaurant will quickly become a favorite place for you, your family and friends.All our food is made fresh daily. We use the freshest fish and seafood, meats and produce we can find. Come and enjoy items from a menu that features a variety of delicious appetizers, entrees, desserts, tropical drinks, and gluten-free options. Choose from some of our signature dishes, such as Seafood Pie, our fresh catch fish selections, and beautiful salads, like our Cranberry Chicken Salad or our Crab Salad.The herbs used in our delicious dishes are grown in our garden here at the restaurant. You are welcome to tour the garden and allow your taste buds to be teased by the scent of parsley, basil and rosemary.Farlow's offers live music Wednesday through Sunday nights. Join us for a great meal filled with delicious food, refreshing drinks from our full bar, a beautiful view from our inside or open air dining rooms and fun entertainment.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our Easter dinner tradition continues at Farlow's. We made reservations last month when we visited town so we wouldn't miss out. Promptly seated and wait staff was attentive to our needs.
Our appetizer: THE TOWER... Perfectly seasoned and fried hush puppies with the perfect sauce... Coconut shrimp lightly fried served with yummy coconut sauce...and fried green tomatoes...simply the best I've had, anywhere.
The chowder and pepper soups were delicious.
Both my daughter and wife had dinner salads and enjoyed them.
My entree was shrimp n grits...same thing every year for Easter dinner. It was a party in my mouth.
Farlow's is a lock for excellent meals. If you don't get enough to eat, its you own fault. See you next visit down here to Englewood

Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Holiday traditions are unique and special to each family, Marc, so we're thrilled you've included us in yours! We hope the party your taste buds had was just as lively as the party that was going on at our restaurant. It's wonderful everything from the fried green tomatoes to the shrimp and grits was perfect for the holiday celebration. We can't wait to see you and your family visit again soon.

Until then,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Family of 4 come here every year on Spring Break. It is usually very busy, however, the staff is very fast no matter what. Appetizers are very good no matter what you get. I recommend that you get the St. Croix Berry Crab Salad-it is very tasty! We will come back for many years to come. Thank you Farlow’s for very good experience.

Thank eggsjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for including us in your spring break traditions! We're delighted to hear you and your family always have a wonderful experience, and it's so nice to know that the St. Croix Berry Crab Salad is one of your favorite dishes. We can't wait to see you all again next year.

Wishing you well,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here - party of 5. Service was outstanding - food was not. Grouper - excellent. Macadamia encrusted chicken - thin and dry. Hawaiian chicken that was a special that day was so overdone it was thrown out. Seafood pasta - no flavor. Mahi-mahi was good. None of the sides were good which made for an expensive dinner that we left hungry from. Was disappointed as we had heard good things.

Thank Kazakboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're just as disappointed as you are to see that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. You should leave full and dreaming of all of the delicious dishes you had, and it's unfortunate that wasn't your experience. We wish you had alerted your server that a few of your dishes weren't prepared to your liking as we would have fixed it immediately. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to show you that we can live up to our reputation for being a fabulous restaurant to enjoy a meal with friends and family.

All the best,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The garden area is beautiful. When we were arrived they were packed. They were able to squeeze us in, but made sure to let us know that they had a reservation in an hour and a half, so they would need the table. It was fine, we were able to enjoy dinner and dessert and have plenty of time. A nice place. Chocolate cake was good too.

Thank Tyna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We wanted every part of our outdoor patio to be relaxing and inviting, Tyna, so it's fantastic to hear that you loved the garden area. Dessert is one of our favorite parts of any meal, and we're glad you got to indulge in one of our sweet treats. We hope you'll join us for dinner and chocolate cake again soon!

Warm wishes,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Peach quesadilla and salad were great. Steak au poivre was ordered medium rare and was totally overcooked. Pointed it out to the waitress who offered to take it back, but who wants to wait while rest of party eats - steak pretty tough anyway. Might have liked a comp for a drink or dessert - not offered. Coconut risotto not very good. Overall, disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MSW4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie F, Owner at Farlow's On The Water, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's nice to hear you enjoyed your quesadilla and salad, but we're disappointed your steak wasn't cooked to your liking. As you could see by our offer to take it back to prepare a new one, we care greatly about making sure everything is perfect for you. We feel that making something right is all about owning up to a mix-up and delivering the meal you asked for, not offering free items. It's unfortunate we have different views on this matter, but if you decide to give us another chance, we'd love to see you.

Regards,
Laurie and Keith, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farlow's On The Water also viewed

Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Farlow's On The Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing