We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manatee Heaven”
Review of Manatee Park

Manatee Park
Ranked #11 of 81 things to do in Fort Myers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Look for the West Indian manatee.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Go here in the winter, so many in a small place. The staff volunteers are great. Ask all the questions you want. Excellent experience.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank wayneinfortmyersflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"power plant"
in 260 reviews
"warm water"
in 177 reviews
"orange river"
in 60 reviews
"winter months"
in 80 reviews
"rent a kayak"
in 44 reviews
"these gentle giants"
in 25 reviews
"manatees congregate"
in 19 reviews
"cold weather"
in 31 reviews
"viewing area"
in 27 reviews
"gulf waters"
in 21 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 28 reviews
"butterfly garden"
in 40 reviews
"per hour"
in 47 reviews
"lee county"
in 24 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 21 reviews
"fish"
in 39 reviews
"ft myers"
in 20 reviews
Filter

63 - 67 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

I saw at least 30 manatees. Very happy with my trip. It's not the prettiest of river area, but I still had a good time.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Swilankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

If you can visit on a cool morning you are guaranteed to see lots of manatees. The manatee talk is very informative. When the weather is warm you may still see some but don't count on it. I have to almost drag my wife away on some visits. Next year we are going to rent kayaks.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank jimintomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We visit Manatee Park every December. If it is cool enough, we know that the manatees will be around. They enjoy the warm waters put off by the power plant and when the water temperatures are cool, there will be many manatees to see. This past December was a very cool day that we went, but the water was very dark and it was very hard to see them unless they came above water. It was difficult to take a picture before they went back down in the water. We could tell from the water movement that many were there, so we decided to rent a kayak. The lines were very long, and we were told that we needed to wait less than 45 minutes. We gave them our driver's licenses and waited by the observation area for a text. After 90 minutes, we went back to find out why they hadn't called us. The two ladies had never entered our information and claimed they didn't even have our license! After looking around, they did find our license, but we decided that we had waited long enough and just left. We were disappointed, but we will go back again next year to try to see these lovely creatures. I just don't think we will consider renting a kayak again.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank rbiddle2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

What a nice little park! We visited when the temperatures dipped below 50 degrees, many manatees were visible in the canal snacking on the grass at the water's edge. Good informational signs about the manatees were posted along the paths. The park is free and worth the visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manatee Park also viewed

Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Manatee Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing