We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of Gulf Motel

Gulf Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Motel
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Sanford, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The gulf motel was very welcoming. Was with my family, only going to spend one night, but felt like home immediately when I got settled in, so decided to spend the weekend. The place was clean, comfy, full kitchen so I could cook, and on the plus side Saturday they had a family style cook out, I guess it varies, but we had pork tenderloin witch was delicious and with other sides. I was blown away by the shower, we loved it. There was a pool with a bar and it was great!

Room Tip: Not on the beach but its just steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    5
    5
    12
See reviews for
11
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I have to first admit that I almost didn't stay here because the reviews were so terrible BUT it's just 2 doors down from my family's beach house so we went for it and I'm glad we did! This property is exactly the opposite of awful! The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the location couldn't be better! This place is by no means a luxury resort; it's a smallish motel situated right next to the beach! I was very happy with our stay and will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We were booked in for the nights of the 28th and 29th of October. We arrived at 4 PM on Friday the 28th. NO one was there. A sign said, ring the bell and we'll be with you momentarily. NO ONE came. Waited 15 minutes in the rain and then called. Heard the phone ringing inside and no one picked up. Left a msg saying please call me so we can check in. We went and had drinks and called again. Called an hour later and left another message. Then we drove back around 6 PM. STILL no one there. I finally left a nasty message saying that we weren't standing in the rain waiting for someone to open this place up and to cancel my reservation. We had to find another place to stay and guess what??? They charged us anyways! We are disputing the charges with the CC company. UNbelievable!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Allen & paula abandoned the place in the middle of the night, never to return. Leaving the place abandoned while we were staying there. The place is so disgusting they couldnt take it & the owner is too cheap to fix anything right. My 3 yr old got zapped by an exposed electrical wire sticking up on the walkway. Huge roaches running around & the worst paint & crafstmanship i have ever seen. The place looks like it was built & rigged by blind drunkards. I built a treehouse when i was 10 better than this dump. I called code enforcement & they are getting a firemarshall out. Outlets have burn marks on them & alot dont even work. The pool pump pipe was rigged(like everything in this dump) & they just turned it off. The slumlord, i mean owner refuses to put any money for quality work into this place because he's used to the beach being packed & drunks stumbling in that dont care where they sleep.Now even they pass & choose the woods. I dont blame them. The owner is scrooge reincarnated. All of his motels are gross

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dreamhomedecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Paula and Al are two great people. It was very accomodating. Good family place. We had 2 adults 4 children and a dog...... They put up with our group they get thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueRob58091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
242 reviews
0.2 km away
Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel
Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel
#5 of 7 in Fort Myers Beach
24 reviews
1.5 km away
The Surf and Us South Shore Resort
The Surf and Us South Shore Reso...
#18 of 27 in Fort Myers Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Sea Gypsy Inn
The Sea Gypsy Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Myers Beach
46 reviews
1.4 km away
Beacon Motel
Beacon Motel
#44 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
115 reviews
0.8 km away
Palm Terrace Resort
Palm Terrace Resort
#29 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Motel

Property: Gulf Motel
Address: 2700 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3503
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing