We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy Corridors and Guest Rooms and Horrible Front Desk Clerk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Roya Hotel & Suites
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We booked a room online and Beware - The photos online look nothing like what you get, They are filthy dirty and their policy will not let you cancel your reservation....they charge you full room rate if you don't like the rooms.....we looked at three and they were all filthy, there was no way we were staying in one of their rooms, We went just down the street to a Comfort Inn and it was only $20.00 dollars more and what a nice facility and super nice front desk manager. Please save your self some sever stress and shop else where.

Room Tip: Nasty, Nasty Nasty....Shame on you
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel_Police2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Roya Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed in this hotel for two nights with my husband. When I checked us in, the guy at the reception was not very communicative, or helpful. He wasn’t rude but he was quite short with me and I didn’t find that very professional.
We expected a nicer view from our room, but as we stayed all day at the beach it didn’t really matter. We were happy with the location – only a short Uber ride from the beach. I know there is a beach right in front of the hotel but it's not as nice as the one when you drive across the bridge - the hotels over there are very expensive though so to stay here for a fraction of the price and go to the beach by car was a very affordable option.
The room itself was fine, we didn’t have any issues with the cleanliness or smell. In fact, we really liked the room, it was refurbished, modern, clean. The only thing we weren’t impressed with, was the safe – anybody could just pick it up and walk away with it. Bed was comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was nice too.
When I was doing our laundry, I ran out of quarters and had to ask the receptionist to exchange some for a dollar. I was happy to see that this lady was helpful, nice and friendly, unlike the man from the previous day.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here – comfortable night, not far from a beautiful beach, good value for our money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iveta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Upon arrival we were disappointed that this was a very old hotel that had renovated rooms. The rooms had modern furniture and the bed was comfortable, but the service leaves a lot to be desired. The few towels that we had, were hard, dingy and you only get 1 set of towels per person per day. We had to request facial tissue and toilet tissue, in addition on one day we had to call several times to get our room cleaned. On one occasion we went to the lobby to use the computer, and discovered that the air conditioned had been turned off in the lobby on a 98 degrees day. I definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms to my knowlege.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Booked online for 5 nights, stayed 1 night because we were forced to stay! First of all the picture you see on the website is totally deceptive. When we arrived, the children immediately started complaining because the picture leads you to believe that you will be able to see the pier and the beach right from your room. We spent about 45 minutes trying to cancel the reservation and the Expedia representative called the hotel twice asking them to cancel the reservation also, however, the front desk clerk refused to cancel it. The first room she put us in, we could see absolutely nothing that looked like a pier or a beach and the beds were very small, and the room had a strange odor to it. So after about 45 minutes of stressing how disgusted we were she moved us to a 2nd room that overlooked a pool. We flushed the toilet and it didn't work, the bathroom was not clean, and the carpet in all the hallway areas was very nasty! We complained again and we were moved to a third room. It was nicer overlooking part of the outdoor pool, but we all thought based on the website picture that we would be able to see the pier and beach from our room. We were told we couldn't cancel our reservation, without paying for one night which was a fee of $144.00 plus taxes and fees. Since we were totally disgusted that we would have to find another hotel at the last minute, we went on and stayed one night. We got up that morning and spoke to the manager, Michelle Garcia who arrived to work late that morning about our concerns and even asked her to give us our money back or a partial refund, but she refused stating that the owner lived in Turkey and she had no authority to give us any credit! We packed our things and moved to the Best Western in Destin for the last four nights of our vacation.

Room Tip: Make sure that the picture you see online is a true representation of the hotel room you will be sta...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank demeharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

The nice pictures posted on line are not reflective of the hotel. This hotel was very old, dirty and had an odor. Upon arrival I asked to view my room and was very disappointed. After a 3.5 hour drive to Fort Walton I took my family and searched for another hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank PwpTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#12 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
204 reviews
3.7 km away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
328 reviews
1.3 km away
Seabreeze Inn
Seabreeze Inn
#19 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Marina Bay Resort
Marina Bay Resort
#13 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
219 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#14 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
82 reviews
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roya Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roya Hotel & Suites

Address: 322 Miracle Strip Pkwy SW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-5203
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: RM306 - RM541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roya Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roya Hotel & Suites is located directly on the Santa Rosa Sound in Ft. Walton Beach. We are proud to offer spacious rooms that overlook the bay and you can enjoy the many beautiful sunsets on the Emerald Coast. Our private beach area is perfect for weddings and families with small children. We also offer a private dock that has 6 boat slips for your convenience. The hotel is just minutes away from the sugar white beaches on Okaloosa Island and Destin and with in a 2 miles radius of fast food and fine dining restaurants to include Waffle House, Red Lobster and the Board Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roya Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bayside Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Quality Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing