We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Gainesville
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Well let's just say Tom did NOT leave the light on. There was no Motel 6 sign to indicate where the hotel was nor was the hotel even marked as motel 6. We just got lucky finding it. I felt like I was sleeping in an ashtray. The fitted sheets didn't cover the mattresses and the mattress edges were dirty and disgusting. I wouldn't have dared to walk with no shoes on the dirty tile floor it was just sad. We won't be staying again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mikayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi Mikayla. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The worst, most disgusting place I have ever been in. It looked NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES. THE PICTURES WERE BUT LIE. Weooked two nights, and left after one. It was DIRTY, GROSS, SMELLY! The strong smell of cat urine, large hair balls, gum and cigarette stains on the night stand. There were no bed skirts, no bed spreads, nothing about this place was clean.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Jason, Thank you for your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize for the inconveniences you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Old and needs much repair. Bare necessities. Had basics but no phone or breakfast. Was very disappointing. Didn't have time to see the area just needed a place to,sleep. Had very thin walls, could hear neighboring rooms discussion. Kept me up most of night.

Room Tip: Definitely not fancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Julpeters, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the comfort issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

I got into my room, it was what was expected based on the reviews and pictures I had seen. The bathroom on the other hand was bad. The toilet/floor/ and side of bathtub had either puke or poop splattered all over. Instead of changing rooms I decided I would go to the front desk tell them the situation and ask for a cleaner and a cloth to see what they would do. The front desk dude gave me a gross face when I told him about the poop or puke and proceeded to hand me cleaner and a rag and told me to have a great night............ hahahahahaha oh my god! So I went and cleaned the toilet seat so I would feel okay about using it and left first thing in the morning! Just warning you!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank AkBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear AkBelle, Thank you for sharing your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. The customer service issues you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced less than satisfying service during your visit. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights when we were apartment hunting in Gainesville. Neither of us could sleep, because the bed was so hard we ended up in extreme pain. Afterward, we both ended up having to go to the chiropractor. I've never said I had such a horrible bed in a hotel or motel before, and I travel at least 4 to 6 times per year for business.

The pool was decent, and it was nice to have a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. However, the television was extremely old and had lots of "snow" on the screen, and the bathtub gave me the heebie-jeebies because every time you stepped on the floor of the tub it would squish down like you were in a bounce house.

Spend the extra 10 or $20 a night for a nicer hotel and avoid having to go to the chiropractor afterwards.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Tina, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the bed comfort issues you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
8.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#28 of 47 in Gainesville
143 reviews
8.9 km away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#26 of 47 in Gainesville
45 reviews
5.2 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#24 of 47 in Gainesville
133 reviews
4.8 km away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
864 reviews
7.8 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 47 in Gainesville
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Gainesville

Address: 7413 W Newberry Rd, Gainesville, FL 32605-4322 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - I-75 Gainesville North)
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: RM230 - RM601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Gainesville 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing