We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked hotel. Still good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We knew going into the trip that we were going to be challenged because all of the hotels in Gainesville were going to be full for movein week. We received a call earlier in the day that the hotel was under renovation so I was mentally prepared for a few challenges. Upon arriving late that night, for a 3-night stay, we were put in a smoky hotel room. Not pleased, I spoke with Darnell, one of the best front desk agents I have met. We didn't have much of a choice because the hotel was 100% booked. I spoke with the agent the next morning (different person) and she acted surprised that there was a room that someone had smoked in. She was going to use a machine to try to clear the air, but instead using FEBREEZE! Anyone who has asthma and has problems with cigarette smoke is definitely going to have problems if you empty a can of Febreeze in the room. After my husband had a conversation, she was able to quickly find another room for us to stay in. After that, our stay was great! Darnell was amazing. It would be great if all of their agents were like him. He was the only one that smiled and made eye contact the entire three days we were there. I will definitely be willing to give them another try after the remodel is complete.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovemylifefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammieVaughn, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

I sincerely apologize about the room you were placed in, our housekeepers work hard to keep all of our rooms clean but unfortunately there are those guests who feel they can bend the rules. I'm glad to hear that Darnell's customer service was top notch and I will be sure to let him know! Thankfully we were able to switch you to a new room and I hope you were pleased with the quality that you should have gotten when you checked in! We would be more than happy to accommodate you the next time you are in the area! Please call me at 352-376-0004 or email me at 43rdstreetdos@gmail.com if you have any comments, questions, concerns or if you would like to make another reservation! We look forward to seeing you soon!

Patrick Duggan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

When I booked this hotel there was no disclosure that they are under renovation. I literally had to step over the tile crew to get checked in. They asked me to fill out a form for bonus points that included the name E mail and phone numbers of colleagues. This is a huge breach of etiquette and causes my loss of faith in this hotel. The internet is impossibly slow. The room feels and smells damp. Maybe it will be better once renovations are complete but I won't find out.

I won't be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank SkyView99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammieVaughn, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

We apologize for the lack of notice of our remodel, we posted notifications on all booking channels and called guests 1 day prior to their arrival to inform them as well. Unfortunately there is never a good time to undergo a renovation and we apologize about the inconvenience. As for the form the you were asked to fill out, this was an optional form to fill out so that we can get more information from our guests as to what brings them to Gainesville. This is not a breach of personal information since this form was given to us to use by the IHG corporate sales office. The section which asks for your colleagues information was optional and would only be used to inform them of the rates and amenities that they can receive by staying at our hotel and it makes it easier on businesses to receive invoices from 1 hotel rather than multiple. We are sorry that all of this made you feel that you do not wish to come back, but I encourage you to stay with us once our remodel is finished so that you can see what a great hotel we really are. If you have any comments, questions, or concerns please call me at 352-376-0004 or email me at gnvswgroups@aol.com.

Kind Regards,

Patrick Duggan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Stayed at the Holiday inn during University of Florida “Preview” orientation session at the end of June. The place is very nice and the staff is friendly. The hotel is located off the main road and set back behind a gas station and by a restaurant. The room was nice, clean, quiet with a flat screen TV. The breakfast area was large enough and a good variety of breakfast items. The location is great for anything associated with the University of Florida, which is only about 3.5 miles away. There are major department & grocery stores less than one mile - along with all types of restaurants. We will be back again in August for UF move-in

Room Tip: all non-first floor rooms tend to quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammieVaughn, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Gainesville Florida!We are happy that you enjoyed our location and we agree that were the perfect spot for all University of Florida events! Please call us at 352-376-0004 when you need to make your next reservations and we would be happy to accommodate you!

Patrick Duggan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Gainesville for several days. The room was great, the bed quite comfy, pillow choices terrific. They gave us a couple bottles of water daily, such a no e small extra. Also love the free cookies at 5:30. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby all day. Nice plus. The breakfast was ok. The omelet was crunchy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank leanne317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammieVaughn, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Gainesville Florida! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience some of our awesome amenities! We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Gainesville area, Please don't hesitate to call us if you need anything!

Patrick Duggan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel while having Dr visits at Shands. Great hotel. They give special rates for ppl seeing Dr at Shands Hospital which is so appreciated. Rooms were clean . Staff very friendly and free breakfast was very good. Nothing to complain about at all !

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.3 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#9 of 47 in Gainesville
663 reviews
0.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
610 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Gainesville I-75
Residence Inn Gainesville I-75
#12 of 47 in Gainesville
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Address: 3905 SW 43rd St, Gainesville, FL 32608-2217 (Formerly Baymont Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: RM553 - RM845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION, Holiday Inn Express I-75 Gainesville, FL Hotel's Staff Welcomes You. Just off I-75, the Holiday Inn Express, Gainesville / I-75 SW hotel puts you in the heart of Gator country, half-way between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks and 2 hours from Tampa's cruise ship hub. This pet friendly Gainesville, Florida hotel's location is extremely convenient for corporate and leisure travelers. The hotel is near the University of Florida, Shands Hospital at UF and the offices of Nationwide Insurance and Farm Bureau Insurance. For travelers with interests further away, Gainesville Regional Airport (GNV) is just 20 minutes away and for other major cities guests just hop onto the interstate via exit 384 which is right behind the hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/i-75 Sw Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing