We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service makes a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Gainesville
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2017

I've reviewed this hotel before and stay here often. This is not the best hotel in Gainesville, but what they lack in some respects compared to other hotels, they make up in customer service. Unbeknownst to me, this visit turned out to be during the UF graduation weekend when all hotels were full and prices higher than normal. As an aside, all restaurants were also filled to capacity with long lines.

I called the hotel in advance to reserve our favorite room and my request was put in the reservation notes. I also called on the morning of my check-in to confirm the room and was assured it was reserved. Upon check-in at about 3:00 PM I was informed that the room was not vacated and, therefore, unavailable. That's when Destiny, the front desk clerk, sprung into action. She spoke with her manager and offered to show me two comparable rooms one of which was almost identical to our favorite. We accepted the room. Over the course of our stay I had occasion to make several special requests which were always granted. Even bottles of water were offered to "cool me off." The room was clean and everything was in working order.

Honestly, Destiny's attitude was always "how can I say yes and make this guest happy?" Her manager also went out of her way to accommodate us and other staff were equally friendly and helpful.

Some of my suggestions for improvement include:
Consider non-packaged breakfast items such as the egg omelets, e.g.
Bring back the popcorn which used to be available in rooms.

What could have been a disappointing stay was turned into a very positive one by the attitude and action of the staff who are dedicated to satisfied guests. That's why I stay here and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lobby floor are closest to the breakfast and cocktail areas. No rooms face a highway or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank choice9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017

We have stayed in Gainesville many times. This hotel was not only a great value for the dollar; the service was better than some 4 and 5 star properties on which I have stayed. Destiny at check-in, who accommodated our every need including getting us in our room early, apologizing for taking too long (it didn't) and offering us water while we waited. Kenny from facilities? Made sure he found a room even though the hotel was booked. Service with smiles!

Room was well appointed, bed comfortable. Everything looked very clean. Housekeeping could not have been nicer.

Pool was clean, would have liked some umbrellas, but I don't think too many people even use the pool.

Breakfast much more than expected. HH, and light dinner Monday through Thursday. Fine. Beer and wine.

Perfect location. Close to school, restaurants. Short drive to parks and hospital.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank BelAirTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaley Z, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be passing on all of your comments to our staff and look forward to welcoming you home again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Our family has been staying at homewood for 3 weeks now and every day we have had nothing but friendly service. Hotel offers a nice breakfast in the morning as well as some great dinner options at night. Lounge is well relaxing area with many different seating arrangements to accommodate groups of all sizes. Rooms are very spacious and well taken care of. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a 1 night or extended stay area. Aaron the counter sales agent and general manager Luisa have always been right away to help with any requests.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaley Z, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you do much for the wonderful feedback! We strive to make every guest feel at home during their stay with us. We will be passing your comments on to the rest of our staff and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

I stayed 6 nights in a ground floor suite by the basketball court. My stay was for business. I was comfortable and my room was great. This location offers breakfast and an evening "social". The food was good and varied daily. Close to highway and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaley Z, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Gainesville on your next business trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

the room was clean and spacous
The breakfast had a good variety,with eggs,meat,potatoes,waffles,yogurt,fresh fruit.cereals,danish, coffee,tea and hot chocolate.
The meals at night are just as good with a happy hour with beer and wine( mon-thurs),

Room Tip: We have stayed here multiple times and never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bsilverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaley Z, Manager at Homewood Suites Gainesville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay was everything you were looking for. We look forward to welcoming you home again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
611 reviews
2.0 km away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Gainesville

Address: 3333 SW 42nd St, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#11 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: RM503 - RM1,255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Gainesville 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel in Florida is an upscale, all-suite hotel situated off I-75 at Exit 384 not far from the University of Florida. We are conveniently located in Gainesville's popular restaurant row area, where guests will find excellent dining options and a variety of other local tourist attractions nearby. The Homewood Suites Gainesville hotel features 103 suites, including 11 two-room and 46 one-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas, along with 46 studios. Each of our spacious suites offers all the comforts of home and a great range of amenities that you deserve for a short or extended stay in Gainesville, including: * Fully-equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker * Two televisions * DVD player * Complimentary wireless and wired high-speed Internet access * Two phones with data ports * Iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Join us for excellent guest accommodations and quality temporary housing. Our professional and friendly staff is available 24-hours a day to make sure you have a splendid stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Gainesville hotel. Make Yourself at Home!® ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Homewood Gainesville
Gainesville Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing