We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a $109 hotel or room”

Gator Hotel and Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gator Hotel and Suites
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed 26 November 2016

The room was very clean and attractive for the most part, with nice towels and coffee maker, quiet AC -- a huge improvement over the Days Inn rooms. However, very old desk (with a broken piece lying on the floor), dresser, and mini fridge that didn't cool well. There was no phone book, no blanket, no chain lock on the door and the nearest ice machine was out of order. Neither I nor the desk clerk could figure out how to work the bathtub stopper, so they did give me a little discount. Breakfast was fair.

Room Tip: The back side was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coquina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is being renovated, and by the looks of the lobby, it should be much nicer. The staff was friendly enough, but sticklers about cutting off the continental breakfast at 9am sharp. This is not a good deal for the price, but was probably more than usual since it was a game weekend. I would stay again, if it was a game weekend and the options were limited.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Jupitereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Formerly a Days Inn ( evidenced by the DI sign simply being half-assed smudged over but you can still read it ), we drove by it 3 times trying to find it because their small pilon sign only has a temporary banner over the old DI sign and it was falling off. The lobby and breakfast area is extremely Spartan and sterile in appearance. The room we had was in Motel 6 motif so not very nice. Bed was just ok. If this is cheaper than everything else and your not picky...book it. Definitely a step up from the Motel 6 on Newberry Rd.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

In the hotel's defense, we stayed during Hurricane Matthew. But we paid full price and NEVER had any housekeeping. And I'm 90% sure we were given used sheets as they felt gritty and I found a toothpick in the bed! Altho we had a reservation, we had to wait until 5pm to get our room. While we waited 2 hours in the lobby where that morning's continental breakfast was located, no staff member even checked on the lobby area where cereal & bread etc was still on the tables & floor. We could tolerate the construction drills, but dirty sheets and zero housekeeping of our room for the entire 3 nights????? The problem is not the hotel...it was the staff training. I certainly DON'T require a friendly "bubbly" staff, but how about someone picking up the trash in the parking lot, on the stairs, in the lobby, and in my actual room?!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we value our guests opinions this gives us the opportunity to better serve our guests. I am truly sorry you were not please with your stay with us. Hurricane Matthew was a busy time for us, though this is no excuse for the experience you had and I will discuss the issues you mentioned above with my staff. We are currently renovating the hotel inside and out and hope that you consider us if you travel through Gainesville again. We would like the opportunity to make things right with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I just stayed 2 nights and this place isn't quite ready for business. They are in the middle of a massive renovation and was like staying at a construction site. They have completely replaced all beds, pillows, linens, tv's, Air conditioners and swimming pool. I had no wifi during the stay and had to use my cellular Hotspot and burned up some data big time as the TV set top box was not activated with COX. The lobby is completely stripped and is being painted so the breakfast was unpleasant. Unfortunately I used an nonrefundable rate so I feel burned. Once the dust clears this should be a pretty decent economy motel but for the time being stay away.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your input with us, we are working hard to make the hotel more pleasurable for our guests. We value our guests opinions and hope that if you ever come through Gainesville you come see all the improvements we are working on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
8.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 47 in Gainesville
51 reviews
0.9 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
8.8 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#24 of 47 in Gainesville
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
866 reviews
5.6 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
576 reviews
6.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gator Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gator Hotel and Suites

Address: 7516 W Newberry Rd, I-75 & SR 26 Exit 387, Gainesville, FL 32606-6728 (Formerly Days Inn Gainesville I-75)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: RM229 - RM711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gator Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gator Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing