We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marquesa delivers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marquesa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marquesa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Waupaca, WI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Marquesa delivers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2007

This was my second trip to Marquesa--i gave it good reviews last year. This was my first time visiting during the peak season. The rate was 450 plus tax for a Jr. Suite. It was great room and amenities are good. They now have flat screen TVs. Internet service is free but spotty in rooms, excellent by the pool. There was a wine reception on Sat evening for the guests--a nice touch. Guests are different when its the high season. It's an older crowd and less diverse. It was spring break and quite a few teens were there with parents. I must say I was initially concerned, but they were all excellent guests and well behaved. A number of guests got complimentary upgrades to suites while I was there. While this is usual hotel practice, in a small property, I wish the staff was more discrete about it. I had fronted the money up front and received no special upgrade other than a check in bottle of Fiji water.

The only other thing that bothered me was the snootiness of the front office staff. This is key west, land of the casual--attitude belongs on the mainland. When we checked out, we stayed a few hours in the lobby of the hotel until our flight. The owner came out of the office and asked if we needed help. We told hime we just checked out and were waiting to go to the airport. He shrugged his shoulders and left irritated we were sitting there. Now mind you, we spend 6 nights there and 3000 dollars in his hotel. A thank you and "I hope you enjoyed your stay" would have been more appropriate, Not all staff slung attitude. Housekeeping and grounds personel were lovely and very helpful.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel and i'd stay here again. Most of my concerns were minor--but at 500 a night I left with a slight sour taste in my mouth.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank WaupacaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    103
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
78
690
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wine country California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2007

With so many already positive reviews, I just have to ad that they go out of the way for special requests! This is a great model for anyone in the hospitality business. I have worked for the Disney Co, and they do a top job, I have seen pretty bad places to great places, and this is one of the ones I rate other by. Even I , and I am tough to please enjoy this property!

  • Liked — class and service
  • Disliked — step to some of the rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hansutro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

My wife and I do not impress very easily but feel compelled to share our experience at the Marquesa Hotel in Key West, Fl. Upon arrival, we were shown to our beautiful room, which had no view and was somewhat noisy due to motorcycles passing on the street. We asked whether another room was available and we were pleasantly surprised to learn that a junior suite at poolside had just become available. We were more pleasantly surprised when told that we could have this much more expensive room for the same lower price as the first one. Our luggage was transferred by the hotel staff within minutes, without our having to go back to the original room on the upper floor, to supervise.
The junior suite was large, spacious and beautifully appointed. IThe bathroom was large with 2 sinks and a table, in addition to a tub and shower. The porch had 2 large comfortable chairs as well as a table and chairs for breakfast. We chose what we wanted for beakfast and indicated the time at 8:15 a.m. The following morning the breakfast arrived exactly as ordered at precisely 8:15 a.m. on beautiful dishes,cloth napkins,etc.
The hotel does not permit cellphones in the common areas, including poolside. The hotel does not permit children under the age of fourteen. What a pleasure!
Key West is a lively, noisy place with one main street. The Marquesa Hotel is situated a few hundred yards from the main drag, but you would never know it because of the lush gardens, two pools, luxurious towels neatly rolled and the tranquility everywhere on the property.
The pleasant, courteous staff effortlessly do everything to make sure that the guests thoroughly enjoy their stay. The Marquesa Hotel advertises that it is a leading small hotel. The advertisement is far too modest. We would rate the hotel, its amenities and staff at 10 out of 10.
Gordon and Anne

  • Liked — quality of room,service, amenities,surroundings---sophisticated and luxurious
  • Disliked — we liked everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

Four of us moms stayed at the Marquesa for a long over-due girl's weekend getaway. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is beautiful with two pools to choose from - and ice tea and water by the pool. It is in a great location within walking distance to Duval and other Old Town attractions. The hotel was quite and relaxing. Our room overlooked Simonton Street with a wonderful private balcony. The beds were also very comfortable.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank One-of-the-gals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 km away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
0.7 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
1.0 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
3.0 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.2 km away
Santa Maria Suites
Santa Maria Suites
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquesa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquesa Hotel

Property: Marquesa Hotel
Address: 600 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price range (per night): RM1,347 - RM2,620
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marquesa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small luxury hotel with friendly staff, two pools, great Cafe, and premiere location one block from Duval St. Free coffee, water and ice tea poolside. Turndown in the evenings. Complimentary wine at check-in. We welcome children age 14 and older only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquesa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquesa Key West
Marquesa Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing