We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Key West, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PennyS29
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed for a week at 508 Bahama St. We were 1 block behind Duval but you would never have known it. The backyard is so peaceful and where we basically lived all week. Beautiful gardens, hammock and pool were perfect. There is an awesome grill which we thought we were going to use a ton but never got the chance. Inside the little cottage is 2 bedrooms. the first bedroom faced the pool and has a washer and dryer with a queen bed our friends said it was very comfortable. The master bedroom is located at the front of the house and has a king size bed ,also comfortable and pull out couch. There is a bathroom located in the room. The other bath is located in the living area. The kitchen has everything you could need.If I had one negative it would be there is no direct sunlight until late afternoon. So if you were wanted to sunbath this isn't so good. Which was wanted I orginally wanted to do but didn't bother me at all. I really could go on and on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amblerb13
Greenwood, Indiana
2 reviews
“Location Perfection”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

If you want to be near the heart of Duval, but never hear it when you choose to take a break, then this is your place. The backyard garden is amazing with gorgeous landscaping and a perfectly placed hammock. The best part is the pool. It has steps that allow you to easily get in and out. I would estimate the water depth is about 5' throughout. It can be heated, but we didn't find it necessary. Another thing we liked was different areas of the yard offered plenty of sunbathing opportunity as well as an abundance of shady areas to cool off when the KW rays get to be a bit too much. Fausto's, a great island grocery store, is directly across the entrance of the home. Seriously, this place couldn't be closer to everything you want and all that makes Key West so famous. The A/C in the home is covered by two window units which are assisted by several ceiling fans throughout the home. You aren't going to be able to hang meat but we were comfortable. There are two beds, the master king is very firm and the guest bedroom offers a softer queen. The Internet is fast, we were getting anywhere from 10-15 Mbps download. Hulu and Netflix streamed without issue. This leads me to the only pseudo-negative I can come up with is that the only television available are the small ones in each of the bedrooms. Who cares though, you didn't come to Key West to watch TV. The interior of the home is nice, the kitchen serves its purpose and has all you need to prepare meals at home.....but with all the great restaurants nearby (Viriglio's also extremely close) you have options. I highly recommend Down Island Digs and the great folks at Vacation Homes of Key West.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was absolutely perfect
Liked least: Master bed was too firm for me, but that is a personal preference
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12Indiana
Greensburg, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“At Home in Key Weset”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Great little cottage for 2 couples; clean and comfy. Great pool, it was warm and felt wonderful (it was a bit cool during week we visited); great location. King bed mattress replaced while we were there (Feb. 2016) and it was very comfortable! Our friends in smaller room said that mattress was ok (but they prefer a bit firmer). This was our first time in a ground floor unit and I think that is why it seemed that there were more little bugs crawling around. No issues though, just kept food and drink put away in fridge. Fausto's food store across street; liquor store around corner, Willie T's nearby - what more could we want. Down Island Digs is perfect for 2 couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, nice size, warm water, and location made it easy to walk everywhere.
Liked least: The little bugs that seemed to crawl everywhere; our first stay in a ground-level place, and I think that made a difference. No area of sun hitting the deck around the pool for sunning. Shade would be great for a really hot time of year, though.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaitflowe...
Athens, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small. Nice back yard. Questionable rental company.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Down Island Digs is a smaller 2 bedroom house.

The kitchen and living room are really small and if you hard to hang out inside it would not be comfortable for 4 people. Luckily we didn't have much rain. The pool is a nice size for 4 people to hang out in and move around. The nicest part was the tropical garden with hammock in the back yard. The kitchen was small, but appointed ok. All the usual kitchen things and a small table that seats 2.

The back bedroom is very spacious with an attached bathroom and lots of room. The front bedroom is very small. The washer and dryer is in there as well. Hardly room to move around.

When we arrived the toilet was leaking in the back bedroom. We called maintenance and they sent the staff person. He checked the toilet and pronounced it was clogged and intimated that it was our fault! Even said we better be set to pay for a replacement. Once they sent the plumber it came to be that there was a palm tree growing in the toilet! We were relieved it wasn't our problem. UNTIL Vacation Homes of Key West contacted me and said it was our fault! I couldn't believe it. Luckily we had taken a card from the plumber but it took 2 weeks and many calls on our part to the plumber to get them to admit it wasn't anything we had done. It was very rude and frustrating.

Also, the second day there they called to say they needed to send a contractor to come look at the rotting deck. Really? Why do you have to do this while we are here? We had to take time out of the only time our whole family was ever going to all be together. Again, rude. I would not rent from them again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
We appreciate the feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience that might have been caused.
We value customer satisfaction and we always strive to resolve any issues that come up. We are also committed to protect the properties that we manage so we hope the customer understands that we had to research and find out what exactly the problem with the toilet was and what caused it. We apologize it took a little while, but we did determine it wasn’t the customer’s fault and they weren’t charged for any damage.
We had scheduled some repairs on the property later in the month as part of our regular maintenance on the property. We only needed the contractor to go in and take some additional measurements of the deck so he could order the material. We did contact the customer to ask if it was ok for him to stop by and they agreed to it.
We hope the customer enjoyed their overall stay in Key West.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrldTravl...
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a fabulous week in Key West and at our stay in Down Island Digs. The house is located in a super area 1/2 a block off Duval (Margaritaville area) and directly across Bahama St. from the grocery - Faustos Fine Foods. There is no need for a car when you stay here.

The house is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath (one on-suite and one just outside the second bedroom) with a decent sized kitchen and small indoor living room. The back yard of the house is amazing. Very secluded with high fences and lots of shade. Outdoor sitting area, dining area, grill and a small pool for cooling off. You would never know you are so close to Duval as there is no street noise.

The size of the house is suitable for 2 couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Back garden and location
Liked least: Small in-door sitting space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$475
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing