We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, great location, beautiful!”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Gardens for his 40th birthday. We were welcomed by David upon arrival and were treated like valued guests from the get-go. The hotel grounds are amazing. Tons of foliage and welcome shade; and wildlife! It feels secluded yet all the great stuff in Key West is accessible. Our room was very comfortable and accommodating. The room had a door leading out to the porch and it was so nice having that access and relaxing on the porch. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. A great spread of fresh options. The self-serve wine gallery is a must!! Very cool! We enjoyed the pool and the live music of an evening. The only drawback preventing me from
giving 5 stars was the noise. We did hope to have one afternoon to completely relax and maybe cat-nap in the room but there was just too much noise in the building (it's a house so very limited noise-buffer between walls). We could hear conversations downstairs and cars going by; housekeeping was vacuuming and the fire station was basically next door so the sirens were disruptive to our leisure. But that was a very minor glitch. We would undoubtedly stay here again when visiting Key West! Excellent hotel/B&B!! Hoping everyone stays safe if/when the hurricane hits.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank goodaysnshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

I am sorry to see the four star review. When guests call to make arrangements with us, we ask many questions such as the purpose of the visit. Our least expensive rooms are in the upstairs main house and we would not have placed you there had we have known. Guests love the Historic rooms as they are the original hotel and very charming with the balconies to sit and read, etc. This is also a big reason to book with the Hotel direct so we can place you on the property to best suit your stay. We want you to have a five star experience with us. I'm glad to read the rest of your stay was a five star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

My wife and I are pleased to join the chorus of guests singing the praises of this lovely, inviting and classy inn with a gracious staff, impeccable service and delightful amenities.

Ticking off what we loved: complimentary Prosecco at check-in, charming rooms, self-serve wine gallery, live pianist and cellist (performing Thu-Sun), complimentary breakfast, pool-and-bar patio and, of course, the setting itself. It’s named “The Gardens” for a reason. A turtle pen, fish ponds, and tropical plants complement the island architecture of the authentic guest houses. When you sip your cocktail pool-side and take it all in, you feel like you’re Hemingway in the heyday.

Final kudos goes to the staff for treating us like gold. We’ll be back.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Mounta1n_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

What a treat! Great hosts Jim and David greeted us immediately. Settled us in and gave us great detail about the property, the amenities and our room. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The pool was awesome complete with floaties and doesn't close!
The grounds were beautiful and tropical with birds and turtles. Even the turtles were friendly. Jim told us to feed them hibiscus and they all ran over.
Duval st is just a block away. Park your car and forget about it!
The wine bar (self serve:) is open till 10. Pool bar is also open. Last night there was live piano music 5-7.
Our room was awesome! Our own balcony overlooking the pool, comfy robes, jacuzzi tub, memory foam bed loaded with pillows. Everything you need is in the bathroom even a loofah!

Breakfast is included and it was a nice spread of eggs, croissants, meats and cheeses, cereal, bread, bagels, juices, granola and yogurt.
We don't want to leave!! But we will be back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dyanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you so much! Lots of fun with you two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Serene, quiet, elegant but not pretentious, clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast buffet,energetic accommodating staff, pleasant, location location location, gardens, flowers, an adult property.
If any of the above appeals to you then this is the property of choice for your visit to Key West. A repeat guest I have found that this property maintains its level of excellence. Never drops to a level of mediocrity which many establishments tend to do over time...Not the Gardens Hotel...simply a beautiful restful property for couples both young and not so young as well as a single guest like myself. Quiet restful days conclude some evenings with music from the baby grand piano with voice and piano offering a variety of tunes to please any listener.
Guests are from all over the world and are friendly and unassuming. the small bar is equipped with libations to fit any palate and the bar tenders are first class.
The housekeeping staff are excellent and work very hard to maintain the variety of rooms in this venue. From the owner Kate to the office staff one couldn't ask for more in terms of friendliness and making feel right at home.
I would recommend this property to those who appreciate the above and can assure you that you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: A variety of room options are available including the newly added cabin suites which have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel was excellent; staff were friendly & welcoming, rooms were spotless & spacious & the pool & gardens were well maintained and peaceful. They let us check in early & let us use the pool once we had checked out, where we made use of the cabana restroom/shower by the pool to freshen up before the drive home. We had one of the best Daiquiri cocktails of the trip from Andy, & the breakfast included & was great. Would have liked more fresh fruit such as pineapple, melon & strawberries at breakfast but that is just being picky! I would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank diko7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M, General Manager at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your comments and yes Adam makes a great drink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 km away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.8 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
0.4 km away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
0.9 km away
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: RM1,263 - RM1,973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing